$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
198 reviews
Everything was great A ++

Everything about the hotel was great. The only thing I didn't like is that for Peking, the only... See full review

  • John 348
  • Dec 8, 2014
Great 21st

Awesome last minute hotel. Ugly pictures that people put up are not what the chelsea looks like. It... See full review

  • jaszie
  • Sep 21, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
davids mom
Business
east brunswick
Jul 6, 2012

july 4th 2012

worst customer service we have ever experienced. our luggage was lost my the valet, our room was hot, the annex hallways were dirt and smelled. the front desk employees were ruide- the manager never came to our room to hear about our issues- worst thing about our experience- when we were leaving this morning- every single customer that was waiting for their cars did not have one positive thing to say about the chelsea. no one had a good time- service was horrible. as if was walking toward our car the valet asked to take my bags for me- i told him no thanks- my husband opened my door and the valet turned to him for a tip- my husband waved his hands and the employee spit on the floor towards my husband- i rate this place a zero- they should fire every single employee starting with the management

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

run do not walk stay away from this place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rosie22
Business
philadelphia, pa
Apr 2, 2013

Horrible Horrible Horrible

This place is disgusting!!!! It was gross, smelled terrible like smoke and it seemed like just about everyone came to the lobby to complain about their rooms. We had to switch rooms twice because of mistakes made by the staff. We finally left and went elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J1S13
Business
Maryland
Nov 4, 2013

Fools Gold

It appears that the online photos of this hotel are deceiving. It's very run down from what I'm used to. What I did notice this is a Great spot for young Adults to meet up with their friends and stay. The bed was comfortable but I was seriously worried about bed bugs. I tried to cancel out, but did not wish to pay a cancel fee of 100%! Thumbs up stay for 18-25 any older, I doubt it....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Borgata!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Johnny by the sea
Business
Philladelphia
Nov 18, 2013

Chelsea Atlantic City

Skip this place. Started out terrible at checkin. Forgot to get something out of car. Had to have valet run up for car. My wife gave the valet the ticket while i finished checking in. I finished up at check in and went to wait for the car. When the valet came back, I asked for the ticket. He said he gave it to my wife. I asked her for the ticket later and she said the valet never gave it back. Ok, so nota big deal, right? Next up...Ocean view room. Ocean view is through a 2' x 2' piece of glass. The larger windows overlook the building next door. Awesome. Next morning...no hot water. This place is simply substandard for the morning. Do yourself a favor and skip it no matter what price you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Newlywed
Business
Mount Vernon, NY
Feb 5, 2010

One of the worst

Where do I start? Well it got off to the wrong foot where I prepaid for the room in full a month before my trip and when I get there they charged me $125 per night extra in something about security totaling $375 and they claim the funds would be back on my card when I leave. There was 1 small bar of soap. The room was supposed to be upgrade for my honeymoon and the lady had an attitude and gives us a room that was dirty. Then the guy that parks your car helps us up to the room drops my bags and breaks an expensive wedding gift, glass everywhere. No amenities what so ever, you had to pay for everything! Then when I checkout I ask about the $375 charge they claim would be credited and the guy tells me that if I dont see it in 48hrs I have to call my bank, it would be thier problem. I get home and not only did I go on my bank site to see that the charge of $375 is still there from the first day and they charge me ANOTHER $375 on the day I left also. Now there is $750 on my card. I will NEVER GO HERE AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to another hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NJ Ex-Pat
Business
California
May 1, 2011

Poor customer service, rooms need repair

2 years ago we stayed at this hotel (shortly after it opened), and had a lovely time. Sadly, the hotel has lost a lot of it's charm. From the poor customer service by the rude front desk associates to the general neglect/ lack of upkeep of the modern room decor, this place is not worth your time or money. Every question to [...] or [...] (front desk) was met with derision and attitude. Asked the possibility of getting another room and was rudely brushed aside. Just a terrible, frustrating experience. It's clear customer service is not the Chelsea's strong suit.As a frequent patron to other Cape Resorts hotels (even our wedding was at the beautiful Congress Hall!!), I did not expect this experience. Steer clear of this fallen beauty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Buddakan the Caesars was outstanding. Then dancing at the Borgata was the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ran Brother
Business
Connecticut
Aug 20, 2010

The Chelsea (Beware: read review)

It all looked nice online and when calling in. When we got there we waited 4.5 hours for our room. We had to change rooms next day. Bath was leaking. Poor pressure. Housekeeping make a lot of noise in the morning. Request won't be passed on always. Often had to request 4 or 5 times. Business center is just 2 kiosk computers where you pay huge fee's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you like nightlife and noise and don't care about service this is for you else STAY AWAY!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK, NY
May 3, 2009

very bad hotel...

THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THIS HOTEL WAS THAT ITS CLOSE TO THE BEACH AND THE ROOM WAS FINE. BUT THE SERVICE IS TERRIBLE. THE TV WAS NOT WORKING SO THEY HAD TO FIX IT, THERE WAS NO HOT WATER AND THE POOL WAS OUT OF SERVICE.SO I DECIDED TO STAY THERE FOR ONE NIGHT AND THEN MY HUSBAND AND I CHECKED OUT. WE CHECKED IN THE BORGATA HOTEL WHICH WAS EXELENT. I LOST SOME MONEY BUT I GAINED A GOOD EXPIERENCE FOR THE REST OF THE WEEK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newington CT
Feb 17, 2009

Terrible

my husand and i went for three nights over the weekend. Paid almost $600. 1. Faucet in bathroom leaked all night long - drip, drip, drip. Bathrooms had to be original - do not think they renovated those - old 50's pink tile. 2. Last night there housekeeping never cleaned the room. 3. no soda or water machines in the hotel had to go out and around corner to mini mart 4 Ice maker we had to go down two floors across the pool area through the lobby take another set of elevators to sixth floor to get ice. 5. On Saturday night all the people there staying were fighting with each other. Never got any sleep due to slamming doors, yelling people and the dripping of the faucet. Management never did a thing to quiet anyone down. Would never go there again !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newark, de
Oct 11, 2009

a few good and alot bad

there is no sound barrier from down the hall and around the corner you can hear the elevator, you can hear everything room to room there is a club on the 5th floor and on the 11th floor you can still hear the music and feel vibrations . the noise carries from outside and to get into your hotel room at night you get to wait inline for an elevator as they let clubgoers ahead of hotel patrons and the staff allows their friends to bypass the line ahead of you aswell. If you did venture to the club you get overcharged by extreme amounts for drinks and are charged with a luxury tax...this hotel is priced decent enough for the room but the noise food and drinks that you have to buy while there are ridiculous you might as well put out the money for the bigger hotels where you actually get what you pay for. I do NOT recommend this hotel and its privately owned so they don't really care about the inconvenience. the only good thing was the rooms were clean and the valet staff is great. it also takes forever and a day to check in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top