$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
187 reviews
fantastic family getaway

the stuff is excellent and the food are good tge walk to the beach is nice over all is not bad See full review

  • just one
  • Jun 11, 2014
Excellent

I love every part of it from the moment we got there till we left suer clean smells good so... See full review

  • carmen lace
  • Jun 2, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charitee
Cherry Hill, NJ
Jun 9, 2014

Relaxing AC getaway right on the Boardwalk!

This hotel was perfect for our weekend getaway. We literally stepped out of the entrance, turned left and walked right onto the Boardwalk! The amenities, although we didn't use them, were plentiful; pool parties on both Saturday and Sunday (The DJ was awesome and I know because the pool was below our window...but when the window was closed you could barely hear anything), happy hour on the fifth floor, beach umbrella and lounger rentals...basically tons to do. We booked a oceanview king non-smoking room on the 9th floor. I do feel that the pictures are a bit decieving as far as the size of the windows for the ocean view. The pictures show one very large window facing the ocean when in reality that window is a fourth of that size and set in the corner of the wall and on the adjacent wall is where the large window is set. Luckily we were still able to see the ocean but most of our view was of the hotel next to us. The only other thing that I was dissapointed in was the water pressure in the shower. It really was kind of annoying because it took a few extra minutes to try to get soap rinsed off. Oher than that this room was great. That staff was also very helpful, polite, and professional. We spent most of our time on the Boardwalk, in the casinos, and on the beach. We would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for some easy eats and cheap drinks the Tropicana has tons of Happy Hour specials Monday-Friday and our favorite was the Wild West (I think thats the name...across the boardwalk from the Pier Shops and the Boardwalk Bar) has $1 hot dogs and $3 beers outside and $2 beers and $2 shots inside.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ travel
Northern New Jersey
Jul 31, 2009

Nice change from the casinos

It was nice to escape the noise and bustle of the casinos in our trip to Atlantic City. The Chelsea is right on the boardwalk with beach access and the give you use of their beach chairs, umbrellas and towels with full beach service which is a very nice alternative to carring it all with you. It was also nice to get a break from all the casino bustle while still being close to everything. I would recommend this hotel. Very nice, quiet and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss the Outlet stores at the Walk section. They are great stores, good prices and a nice area to walk around and shop.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 29, 2008

Very nice, no coffee maker in room.

The bar and game room area are very nice. Free vintage pool table was a great plus. We walked from the motel on the boardwalk to see a show at the Boardwalk Hall and returned to lounge at the bar. Drinks are very pricey. Breakfast, we had room service, no coffee maker in room and to have one brought to the room was $8.00 for a carafe, without tip. The coffee was great, but breakfast was very pricey, $66.00 without tip. Parking was not free, you have to use their valet service, and again you are forced into that tip. We paid extra for the ocean view, and all we had was a little window to look out at the ocean that did not open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of casinos around, Tropicana is directly behind it. Boardwalk Hall is a short walk, or take boardwalk taxi. Right on the boardwalk, so a lot to do, shopping, etc....

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. New Englander
Raynham, Mass.
Oct 18, 2010

Clean and Comfy

At ariving on a Sunday afternoon there was no check in line, thankfully! our 16th floor room was ready early, the room was clean, bed was very comfy, bathroom was imaculate! only draw back there was i think the hot water was in the basement we had to let it run for at least 5-8 min. oh well, did not take much time to get to the elevator down and out in 2 min we were on the board walk, things were starting to shut down being the 3rd wk in Sept. found a nice sports bar up in the Tropicana, with cheap price drinks a rareity! also when we return again we will hit Carmine's Rest. also in the Quarter, time flew by fast being that we were only there 3 nites, check out was a breeze, flight was late in the afternoon, they let us check our luggage in for a few hrs. we had a very quiet room and would definetly repeat our stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our best meal was at Carmine's a family style Itallian rest. located up in the Quarter in the Tropicana, served you enough for 2 meals! they had an anniversary sale for $20 w/ drinks we walked out with a $29 bill (wow)! will definately go back!

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great wife
Atlantic City, NJ
Nov 17, 2009

Great anniversary

Wonderful experience. Wasn't sure of what to expect after reading some of the reviews, but was really glad we stayed at the Chelsea. From the greeting of the valets, to the bellmen, and the front desk staff we were impressed. The room we had was very nice, with a good view of the beach. Was given very good suggestions from the bellmen as to what to do in the city. Great location for visiting other hotels, shopping, and restuarants. Would definitely stay at The Chelsea again. Don't understand how others gave this hotel a "1". Would have liked to of had the spa opened during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Tropicana had everything on site one would want to do on vacation. Only a block of two from The Chelsea, so easy to get to and from the hotel.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank & Jenn
WIlkes-Barre, PA
Jul 2, 2009

Hidden Jewel

The hotel was beautiful though it was a little different than what I am used to. The parking is valet only but is cheaper than most of the other hotels. I'm don't need may bags carried ot my car parked so it was a little weird for me. It was the first hotel I ever stayed in with a mini bar and I was a little shocked at the prices They also charged my credit card for incidentals that they credit back after checkout that i wan't aware of till I arrived. Because of the mini bar there wasn't really much usable refirgerator space. I would have liked to see longer pool hours. The pools closed at 7pm. The freshwater pool had great bar alongside it and I would have been nice to have toe pool open until 10 or 11 pm. The Beds were beautiful and very comfortable. The rooms were spacious and clean. There are some small things about the operations I would change about the operation of the hotel but I very muche enjoyed my stay and would STRONGLY consider staying again. All the staff I had contact with during my stay were very friendly down to the cleaning staff passing in the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
star and sky
Chicago IL
Apr 23, 2011

Nice Hotel

We stayed at a couple of different hotels during our trip (which was completely unplanned and spontaneous). This hotel was better than any place we have stayed so far in the US. The room was clean It was close to Tropicana Casino Resort but a little far from other casinos. This really didn't bother us since we took our car with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmcg
Philadelphia, pa
May 16, 2011

the chelsea

Hotel was very nice, clean and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Fabulous diner on the first floor - cant remember the name of it but very good breakfast.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jersey Twosome
New Jersey
Jun 16, 2009

Hip with a touch of the past

Arrived and were able to check in an hour early. We went to the beach where we were provided excellent beach service (lounge chairs, towels, umbrella).We took a jitney to the outlets, which are great! Had a restfull night in the comfortable bed. Ate in the restaurant which was good...but the most talked about item on the menu (blintzes) had been discontinued (dissapointing!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Walk Outlets

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
Jun 25, 2011

Great Time!

Loved the location of the hotel and their courtesy at all hours. It would have been good to have a little more information about their nightlife and hotel club beforehand but other than that a great stay! Plus, their steakhouse was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search