$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
286 reviews
fantastic family getaway

the stuff is excellent and the food are good tge walk to the beach is nice over all is not bad See full review

  • just one
  • Jun 11, 2014
Excellent

I love every part of it from the moment we got there till we left suer clean smells good so... See full review

  • carmen lace
  • Jun 2, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Macon, GA
Jun 14, 2011

Retro-Chic On the Boardwalk

We wanted a hotel on the boardwalk, and we found the Chelsea to be very convenient. It is a clean, attractive hotel. The bed was very comfy. Our room service breakfast arrived right when we had requested it, 5 minutes early, in fact. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Macon, GA
Jun 14, 2011

Retro-Chic On the Boardwalk

We wanted a hotel on the boardwalk, and we found the Chelsea to be very convenient. It is a clean, attractive hotel. The bed was very comfy. Our room service breakfast arrived right when we had requested it, 5 minutes early, in fact. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmcg
Philadelphia, pa
May 16, 2011

the chelsea

Hotel was very nice, clean and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Fabulous diner on the first floor - cant remember the name of it but very good breakfast.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmcg
Philadelphia, pa
May 16, 2011

the chelsea

Hotel was very nice, clean and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Fabulous diner on the first floor - cant remember the name of it but very good breakfast.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NJ Ex-Pat
California
May 1, 2011

Poor customer service, rooms need repair

2 years ago we stayed at this hotel (shortly after it opened), and had a lovely time. Sadly, the hotel has lost a lot of it's charm. From the poor customer service by the rude front desk associates to the general neglect/ lack of upkeep of the modern room decor, this place is not worth your time or money. Every question to [...] or [...] (front desk) was met with derision and attitude. Asked the possibility of getting another room and was rudely brushed aside. Just a terrible, frustrating experience. It's clear customer service is not the Chelsea's strong suit.As a frequent patron to other Cape Resorts hotels (even our wedding was at the beautiful Congress Hall!!), I did not expect this experience. Steer clear of this fallen beauty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Buddakan the Caesars was outstanding. Then dancing at the Borgata was the best!

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NJ Ex-Pat
California
May 1, 2011

Poor customer service, rooms need repair

2 years ago we stayed at this hotel (shortly after it opened), and had a lovely time. Sadly, the hotel has lost a lot of it's charm. From the poor customer service by the rude front desk associates to the general neglect/ lack of upkeep of the modern room decor, this place is not worth your time or money. Every question to [...] or [...] (front desk) was met with derision and attitude. Asked the possibility of getting another room and was rudely brushed aside. Just a terrible, frustrating experience. It's clear customer service is not the Chelsea's strong suit.As a frequent patron to other Cape Resorts hotels (even our wedding was at the beautiful Congress Hall!!), I did not expect this experience. Steer clear of this fallen beauty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Buddakan the Caesars was outstanding. Then dancing at the Borgata was the best!

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
star and sky
Chicago IL
Apr 23, 2011

Nice Hotel

We stayed at a couple of different hotels during our trip (which was completely unplanned and spontaneous). This hotel was better than any place we have stayed so far in the US. The room was clean It was close to Tropicana Casino Resort but a little far from other casinos. This really didn't bother us since we took our car with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
star and sky
Chicago IL
Apr 23, 2011

Nice Hotel

We stayed at a couple of different hotels during our trip (which was completely unplanned and spontaneous). This hotel was better than any place we have stayed so far in the US. The room was clean It was close to Tropicana Casino Resort but a little far from other casinos. This really didn't bother us since we took our car with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Jersey, NJ
Mar 9, 2011

Excellent Place To Stay!

Extremely clean, modern, and trendy place. The king size bed was amazing! The view wasn't anything to be desired, but let's face facts....i was there to hit the casinos and clubs, not stare out my window. Check out was very slow due to everyone leaving at the same time, but that's to be expected. Overall I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Jersey, NJ
Mar 9, 2011

Excellent Place To Stay!

Extremely clean, modern, and trendy place. The king size bed was amazing! The view wasn't anything to be desired, but let's face facts....i was there to hit the casinos and clubs, not stare out my window. Check out was very slow due to everyone leaving at the same time, but that's to be expected. Overall I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top