$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

The Chelsea

4 stars
View map of 111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OWLB
Couples
New York
Sep 20, 2012

Romantic Getaway

Aside from the little issue I had with checking in the hotel was nice. I booked the hotel on the day before and when I arrived to the hotel they did not have a reservation for me. The staff was excellent and the room was very clean and comfy. The only thing missing in the room for the price I paid was the jacuzzi. I would stay their again! The bed was excellent one of the best by far!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller 3.1415
Couples
DC
Oct 1, 2012

Good Night

Slept well in the main hotel. Pillows were comfy. Valet was helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Perkins Restauran

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeremy and tiff
Family
NYC
Sep 30, 2012

GreAt room but ..

Hotel is awesome but the food is not good at all :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ortiz fam
Couples
Atlantic city New Jersey
Jan 22, 2013

The hotel was so comfertable

The bed and staff were Magnificant ..... The hotel was at perfect walking distance from all the other hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
46er
Couples
Pottersville, NJ
Feb 28, 2013

Great location

Very pleasant stay, just $10 to park overnight but give the valet plenty of time to retrieve your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Couple 3182012
Couples
NJ
Mar 18, 2013

First Anniversary T&A

A weekend getaway for our first anniversary. Nice and clean hotel. Location way great. We had a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lets go baby lets go
Couples
Atlantic City
May 7, 2013

great get away

the rooms are clean and the beds are so soft nice up to date rooms and furnished very well. location is the boardwalk .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MattyM
Friends
Fort Lauderdale Fl
May 28, 2013

Good hotel, good location

I traveled to Atlantic City for a bachelor party, and the group of friends i was meeting were staying at the hotel. I arrived at the hotel at about midnight, and as I pulled into valet for parking (only Valet is available, at $10.00/day), I was greeted with a party style atmosphere in the lobby. There was a TON of people hanging out in the lobby, drinking etc. They did just open up their night club (Which is not bad either). I got checked in and made my way to the elevator to head up to my 16th floor room, and waited for almost 25 minutes to get an elevator. There is 3 elevators and each time the door would open, people would run in and squeeze to get in. That was probably my only complaint, was trying to get an elevator for guests to their room while the club is open. When I finally got to my room, the room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. When I went to check out, I had to walk down 16 flights of steps because the elevators were just as packed at 11am, as they were at midnight. All in all, I was pretty happy with the hotel, and the staff was very friendly. If The Chelsea offers some awesome rates, it would be a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are directly next to the Tropicana, and minutes from the rest of the hotels directly on the boardwalk.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cyntia and Jeff
Couples
Ramsey NJ
Jul 8, 2013

Great Experience

Great Hotel! We had a great experience here. Smaller, much less crazy then the Huge casino hotels we normally stay in. Clean, up to date and well maintained room, great spa, friendly helpful staff. We will be staying here on future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
biggbrother
Couples
Providence, RI
Aug 6, 2013

Modern and Conveniently Located

NOTE: This is a review of The Chelsea Hotel, NOT the Annex at the Chelsea which is a different section and has poor reviews. My fiance and I stayed here over a recent weekend Friday-Sunday and we were impressed with the Chelsea. I had read plenty of reviews so I told her what to expect as negatives, (i.e. slow elevators, overwhelmed valet, sub-par AC in-room). Sure enough, we experienced all three of these negatives, so I will start with the negatives. The main problem is that like any hotel, it gets busy at the standard check-in/out times or 11am and 3pm. The problem is that since The Chelsea is a small boutique hotel, they don't seem to have the staff to handle it effectivley. At these peak times you will stand in line for the elevator for 10-20 minutes, and the front desk for 20-40 minutes. We took the stairs down from the 9th floor. You will wait in line for a bell hop to appear for about 20 minutes, and you will need to hunt down a valet for about 15-20 minutes. It really is chaos at these times with almost every guest I saw complaining very vocally. I can only imagine hopw the staff feels since they encounter this chaos dailly. Overall, the staff was friendly to us and we had no issues with them. The Chelsea should consider staggering room checkouts if they don't want to hire the staff to handle the rush. We avoided most of this because we did express checkout and only had to wait in line the 20 minutes to check our bag with the disappearing bell hop while we ate breakfast and used the pool. Plus the concierge was very helpful because he left his post since he wasn't busy and helped get us checked out and he took our bags because the bell hop was MIA. Later we were able to get our car fairly quickly from the valet around 2pm, after hunting for the bell hop a bit (again). I would suggest you checkout by 10am to avoid the peak time of 11am. Our room air-conditioner was also noisy and not very consistent,. Fortunately it was in the mid 70s low 80s outside so it didn't have to work too hard. But it still got fairly warm in the room at times and the AC couldn't cool lower than 70. The room was very nicely decorated and furnished in a modern decor. It was clean but could have been cleaner because I noticed the carpet was noticably dirty somewhat in the corners and around the edges. The bathroom was beautiful with very nice tile and Kohler overhead shower spout and faucets. The ceiling had an ugly discolored patch though from a repair. They should have just painted the entire ceiling after the patch, since the bathroom is pretty small. Since it's an industry-wide problem, It's worth mentioning that we didn't see any evidence of bed bugs and we looked carefully because they are hard to find evidence of usually. My fiance is extremely allergic and develops huge hives when bitten at all by bed bugs, and she hasn't developed any hives so it's safe to say our room was bed bug free. The lower pool is nice and warm but kind of akward since you have to prance around in your bathing suit right next to the hotel restaurant which has outdoor seating a mere dozen feet from the pool and a full view of the pool. The main pool accessible from the 5th floor is also nice but it is FREEZING, so not many people were in it. Obviously it's not heated. They also have some pretty large speakers set up near the pool and a DJ. The music is pretty loud, so if you're thinking of relaxing by the pool to recover from your hangover from last night, you might not find it helps your headache. Overall, we were impressed with The Chelsea. They could instruct their housekeeping staff to do a better job cleaning the carpeting, and improve the efficiency of the check-out/in process. Overall, we found it was located perfecty next to the bustling Tropicana and the boardwalk, both of which we visited often. We never felf unsafe, even while returning to our room at 4:15 a.m. from a nightclub in the Tropicana. We would stay at The Chelsea again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Checkout well before 11am to avoid the hung-over rush, or use express checkout (just sign the log next to the front desk) and check your bags wit the bell hop so you can enjoy the pook or have breakfast.

Back to menu Return to top