$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
288 reviews
fantastic family getaway

the stuff is excellent and the food are good tge walk to the beach is nice over all is not bad See full review

  • just one
  • Jun 11, 2014
Excellent

I love every part of it from the moment we got there till we left suer clean smells good so... See full review

  • carmen lace
  • Jun 2, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City.

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (288)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ward8sfinest
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Nice weekend trip

The room was clean, comfortable and stylish. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phillyis4lovers
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

You get what you pay for

We stayed at the Chelsea for my husbands birthday. Ive wanted to stay there for a while and was excited about the boutique style hotel. The staff at the front desk acted like you were doing them a favor by checking in. We arrived at 11pm and there was a line at the desk. We had a room in the luxe tower, ha! Our room was directly above the nightclub, we could hear music all night long even after we got in after 2am. Also it's not a four star hotel. The heater is loud the room is small and everything is worn out. The staff was so busy when we checked out they were not friendly at all. Next time I go to AC I will stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tropicana is rome block away and is accessible from the boardwalk, go there and gamble, eat and hit the clubs.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Krishn
Jersey City, NJ, USA
Jan 1, 2012

located well close to

Wish they did not have a valet parking only option and a 5$-10$ surprise fee like Harrah's (ment). We parked the car right here for board walk, and tropicana (Nanking restaurant for the asians or the Rainforest junk) ending with a decent P F Changs are all at walkable distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

P F Chang or Tropicana

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
comfortzone
Forest Hills, NY
Dec 30, 2011

comfortzone

One of the few places to stay on boardwalk w/o casino which was just what wife and I wanted for anniversary. Very nice ocean views. Front desk very helpful as well. Considering area, food was good for price in informal restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Girasole Restaurant very good, not cheep but surprisingly large portions and would eat there again.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Msjlb
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Sep 26, 2011

quick getaway

This was my first trip to AC and I was very happy we did not stay in one of the casino hotels. The Chelsea was very well done in a great Hollywood regency type of style. Keplitsky's (the diner) had a fun Miami vibe (good art deco Miami not cheesy late 90's Miami) The food was ok- good fried mac & cheese, and tuna ceviche, the pizza however tasted like something you'd get on Amtrak. We had a drink at the 5th floor restaurant and returned late night to shake it on the dance floor, which was a blast. I think the bed was comfortable, but at 4am who knows! I would say my only complaints would be no one to greet you at the door, no bellhops to help you with your bags, which seemed strange for a high end hotel. My other complaint was that I forgot my toothbrush and was referred to the gift shop to purchase one for $3. Really? What hotel doesn't have a bin of $.25 toothbrushes under the desk??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Knife & Fork! Fantastic old school steakhouse with murky prohibition-era secrets!

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Msjlb
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Sep 26, 2011

quick getaway

This was my first trip to AC and I was very happy we did not stay in one of the casino hotels. The Chelsea was very well done in a great Hollywood regency type of style. Keplitsky's (the diner) had a fun Miami vibe (good art deco Miami not cheesy late 90's Miami) The food was ok- good fried mac & cheese, and tuna ceviche, the pizza however tasted like something you'd get on Amtrak. We had a drink at the 5th floor restaurant and returned late night to shake it on the dance floor, which was a blast. I think the bed was comfortable, but at 4am who knows! I would say my only complaints would be no one to greet you at the door, no bellhops to help you with your bags, which seemed strange for a high end hotel. My other complaint was that I forgot my toothbrush and was referred to the gift shop to purchase one for $3. Really? What hotel doesn't have a bin of $.25 toothbrushes under the desk??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Knife & Fork! Fantastic old school steakhouse with murky prohibition-era secrets!

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Labor Day travelers
New York, NY, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Retro Chic

Our experience at the Chelsea hotel was extremely positive: the room was great, the amenities perfect (iron, ironing board, safe, full mini bar) and the staff very friendly. While the Chelsea hotel is not a casino, it is located immediately across from the Tropicana, and walking distance (via the Boardwalk) from the Trump Plaza, Caesar's and Bally's. Trump Taj Mahal is much further away. The hotel is also walking distance (10-15 mn) from the Outlet stores. Overall, it was a great experience and we will definitely stay here again if we come back to AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Water Show at the Caesar's Shopping mall (outside Caesar's casino on the Boardwalk) plays every hour on the hour and is a very entertaining experience.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Labor Day travelers
New York, NY, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Retro Chic

Our experience at the Chelsea hotel was extremely positive: the room was great, the amenities perfect (iron, ironing board, safe, full mini bar) and the staff very friendly. While the Chelsea hotel is not a casino, it is located immediately across from the Tropicana, and walking distance (via the Boardwalk) from the Trump Plaza, Caesar's and Bally's. Trump Taj Mahal is much further away. The hotel is also walking distance (10-15 mn) from the Outlet stores. Overall, it was a great experience and we will definitely stay here again if we come back to AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Water Show at the Caesar's Shopping mall (outside Caesar's casino on the Boardwalk) plays every hour on the hour and is a very entertaining experience.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jzimmerling
Livermore, CA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Could have been great

Excellent hotel and location right on the boardwalk and large room with great view, but there were several small things; bad lighting in bathroom, A/C had to be repaired upon arrival, sink was stopped up and no coffeemaker or frig; and one big thing a hotel sponsored DJ party at the pool 17 floors down which shook the windows until 2AM which turned what could have been a great experience into a bad impression..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Reading restaurant two blocks off the boardwalk and about a mile down, fantastic southern cooking, great prices and jazz at night

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jzimmerling
Livermore, CA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Could have been great

Excellent hotel and location right on the boardwalk and large room with great view, but there were several small things; bad lighting in bathroom, A/C had to be repaired upon arrival, sink was stopped up and no coffeemaker or frig; and one big thing a hotel sponsored DJ party at the pool 17 floors down which shook the windows until 2AM which turned what could have been a great experience into a bad impression..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Reading restaurant two blocks off the boardwalk and about a mile down, fantastic southern cooking, great prices and jazz at night

Back to menu Return to top