The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
187 reviews
fantastic family getaway

the stuff is excellent and the food are good tge walk to the beach is nice over all is not bad See full review

  • just one
  • Jun 11, 2014
Excellent

I love every part of it from the moment we got there till we left suer clean smells good so... See full review

  • carmen lace
  • Jun 2, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City.

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Johnny by the sea
Philladelphia
Nov 18, 2013

Chelsea Atlantic City

Skip this place. Started out terrible at checkin. Forgot to get something out of car. Had to have valet run up for car. My wife gave the valet the ticket while i finished checking in. I finished up at check in and went to wait for the car. When the valet came back, I asked for the ticket. He said he gave it to my wife. I asked her for the ticket later and she said the valet never gave it back. Ok, so nota big deal, right? Next up...Ocean view room. Ocean view is through a 2' x 2' piece of glass. The larger windows overlook the building next door. Awesome. Next morning...no hot water. This place is simply substandard for the morning. Do yourself a favor and skip it no matter what price you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tap1011
Latrobe pa
Nov 18, 2013

Chelsea

This hotel is almost on the boardwalk that is a plus but our room was not so good. When the furnace turned on it sounded like a helicopter landing and did not stop Til it kicked off so we found our self turning it off manually because we were getting a headache. There is no refrigerator or coffee pot in the room, the shower pressure is awful I was in the shower for an hour trying to get the soap out of my hair! They charge you to park which was never disclosed to us until the bill at check out. The bar on the fifth floor was very mellow not for young people that want to have fun. The rooms lack and soundproofing we could hear everything that was going on in the room next to us. The room was suppose to be modern but it was just old and dirty with paint chipping from every peice of furniture! One good thing is they have flat screen tv in the room but what hotel doesn't?! We would never stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They charge for parking and place a hold on your credit card for a deposit

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MissoMary
South of DC
Nov 4, 2013

Fabulous Birthday Gift

My Fiance' and I had a fabulous weekend getaway for his Birthday weekend. The Hotel Valet employees were very professional and always cheerful. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful, even the housekeepers were awesome. Our room was very neat and clean and it did not have a funny smell like most hotel rooms do. And our view of the ocean which was the most important, was FREAKN FABULOUS!! The Chelsea ROCKS!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J1S13
Maryland
Nov 4, 2013

Fools Gold

It appears that the online photos of this hotel are deceiving. It's very run down from what I'm used to. What I did notice this is a Great spot for young Adults to meet up with their friends and stay. The bed was comfortable but I was seriously worried about bed bugs. I tried to cancel out, but did not wish to pay a cancel fee of 100%! Thumbs up stay for 18-25 any older, I doubt it....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Borgata!

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gorgeouscateyez
North Carolina
Oct 8, 2013

simply wonderful

I wanted a nice place to stay without the casino and the Chelsea was it... spectacular place staff was friendly ans helpful. ..the bed was so comfortable I felt like I was home in my bed...I will recommend this hotel to family and friends and most definitely will return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hfurudhdhddjdjjd
NJ
Sep 24, 2013

Nice size room

The room was big, clean, and comfortable! Perfect for the Pack-n-Play!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
a night away from baby
York, PA
Sep 15, 2013

Room was almost 80 and would not cool down!

We have a baby so were really looking forward to getting away and being able to sleep in for at least one morning but instead we woke up at 7 because our room was 78 , humid and would not cool down! I talked to the lady at the desk and she gave us free parking and late check out but sine I paid almost $200 for the room a was not really happy with this. Just trying to pack up and leave we were sooo hot. We also paid more to get an ocean king room and they gave us a corner room that only had a tiny window looking out onto the ocean. I was not happy! Other then all of that the hotel seemed to be nice and clean. Our room did have a musty smell but I think that was just because it was hot. The people that worked at the Chelsea were very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ness112
Washington, DC
Sep 14, 2013

Vanessa

Great place to be at near the beach. Stay here I recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fuzz
Philadelphia
Aug 31, 2013

mini getaway

I was so pleased at the absolute cleanliness and decor of this room. so comfortable. everything you need right on premises. Pool, dining, nightlife. totally great. would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
biggbrother
Providence, RI
Aug 6, 2013

Modern and Conveniently Located

NOTE: This is a review of The Chelsea Hotel, NOT the Annex at the Chelsea which is a different section and has poor reviews. My fiance and I stayed here over a recent weekend Friday-Sunday and we were impressed with the Chelsea. I had read plenty of reviews so I told her what to expect as negatives, (i.e. slow elevators, overwhelmed valet, sub-par AC in-room). Sure enough, we experienced all three of these negatives, so I will start with the negatives. The main problem is that like any hotel, it gets busy at the standard check-in/out times or 11am and 3pm. The problem is that since The Chelsea is a small boutique hotel, they don't seem to have the staff to handle it effectivley. At these peak times you will stand in line for the elevator for 10-20 minutes, and the front desk for 20-40 minutes. We took the stairs down from the 9th floor. You will wait in line for a bell hop to appear for about 20 minutes, and you will need to hunt down a valet for about 15-20 minutes. It really is chaos at these times with almost every guest I saw complaining very vocally. I can only imagine hopw the staff feels since they encounter this chaos dailly. Overall, the staff was friendly to us and we had no issues with them. The Chelsea should consider staggering room checkouts if they don't want to hire the staff to handle the rush. We avoided most of this because we did express checkout and only had to wait in line the 20 minutes to check our bag with the disappearing bell hop while we ate breakfast and used the pool. Plus the concierge was very helpful because he left his post since he wasn't busy and helped get us checked out and he took our bags because the bell hop was MIA. Later we were able to get our car fairly quickly from the valet around 2pm, after hunting for the bell hop a bit (again). I would suggest you checkout by 10am to avoid the peak time of 11am. Our room air-conditioner was also noisy and not very consistent,. Fortunately it was in the mid 70s low 80s outside so it didn't have to work too hard. But it still got fairly warm in the room at times and the AC couldn't cool lower than 70. The room was very nicely decorated and furnished in a modern decor. It was clean but could have been cleaner because I noticed the carpet was noticably dirty somewhat in the corners and around the edges. The bathroom was beautiful with very nice tile and Kohler overhead shower spout and faucets. The ceiling had an ugly discolored patch though from a repair. They should have just painted the entire ceiling after the patch, since the bathroom is pretty small. Since it's an industry-wide problem, It's worth mentioning that we didn't see any evidence of bed bugs and we looked carefully because they are hard to find evidence of usually. My fiance is extremely allergic and develops huge hives when bitten at all by bed bugs, and she hasn't developed any hives so it's safe to say our room was bed bug free. The lower pool is nice and warm but kind of akward since you have to prance around in your bathing suit right next to the hotel restaurant which has outdoor seating a mere dozen feet from the pool and a full view of the pool. The main pool accessible from the 5th floor is also nice but it is FREEZING, so not many people were in it. Obviously it's not heated. They also have some pretty large speakers set up near the pool and a DJ. The music is pretty loud, so if you're thinking of relaxing by the pool to recover from your hangover from last night, you might not find it helps your headache. Overall, we were impressed with The Chelsea. They could instruct their housekeeping staff to do a better job cleaning the carpeting, and improve the efficiency of the check-out/in process. Overall, we found it was located perfecty next to the bustling Tropicana and the boardwalk, both of which we visited often. We never felf unsafe, even while returning to our room at 4:15 a.m. from a nightclub in the Tropicana. We would stay at The Chelsea again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Checkout well before 11am to avoid the hung-over rush, or use express checkout (just sign the log next to the front desk) and check your bags wit the bell hop so you can enjoy the pook or have breakfast.

Back to menu Return to top