$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 9, 2015 Check-out: Apr 10, 2015

The Chelsea

4 stars
View map of 111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romantic Sightseers
Atlantic city New Jersey
Mar 25, 2013

Perfect hide out

Room was almost perfect except for the fact you spend $400 for a night & nothing is complimentary . But we loved our stay . Everything was clean & the decor was adorable ! Valet was only $5 & it was come & go as you please . Located literally 5 feet from the boardwalk !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
once in a lifetime
Business
New York, NY
May 30, 2009

Chelse

The room overall was not bad and very clean. However, the water in the shower was initially brown and it's taken for it quite a while to warm up. The heating thermostat was broken and thus it was pretty cold in the room (despite the early summer). Check in was very fast and the staff nice. It was right around the corner from the Tropicana, which was convenient. I would not come back to the Chelsea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utica, NY
Jul 19, 2009

"overpriced and overated"

pictures on orbitz were very misleading. Not sure if you are aware but I could have stayed at a casino (Tropicana, Ceasers)in what they consider a standard room which is equivalent to your tower room which I believe it was you advertise on Orbitz for half of the price of what you charged me. As I visit Atlantic City quite often, I am familiar with the different hotels and casinos. I gave your hotel the chance as it was advertised as new and from the pictures it looked great. As I said very misleading. The casinos offer a bigger room with more comfortable beds than your standard room. The tower room was nice. However, I would never consider staying in one of the standard rooms again for the price that you charge. To me, this was equivalent to a room that I would get at a Motel 6 or Super 8 which I believe should be priced at around $45.00 per night for your standard room. Also, the walkways leading from the boardwalk to your hotel was dark and creepy. The staff was helpful, polite and courteous but I was not at all satisfied with the price of the hotel for what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bordentown, nj
Jan 18, 2011

Should have listened

Despite the reviews i read, I decided to book the hotel. We stayed in room 1913, the view was nice oceanfront and the front desk representatives were super nice. Michael the conceriage did call our restaurant and eased our minds as we were running late for dinner. For the price it was good, but don't go in with huge expectations. It looks much longer in person than online. It was clean but you can see where they missed dusting with the dark furniture. The bed was comfortable. It didn't wow us, but it was convenient to the boardwalk and literally two steps away from the Trop. We were surprised that the restaurants were closed in the hotel so we had to go out, which was fine. Overall, it was good, but not spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chelsea Guest
Business
Phila, PA
Jul 7, 2009

4 Star Hotel? Really?

I arrived early and was told by the Front Desk they would call me cell when it was available. I was told there would be a $20 cover to use the 5th flr pool. My guest arrived shortly after me, was told me room was ready, I never received a call & they wouldn't call me while my guest was at the desk because "he wasn't me" despite having my contact info. He was also informed the 5th Floor pool was FREE, which it turns out it was free. I had to contact the hotel myself regarding my room, I had to remind them they had luggage checked for us. The room was dirty, someone had wiped their nose on the wall, and we were charged $50 to upgrade. The upgraded room was very nice. We forgot our toothpaste & contacted the front desk for a dental kit that was missing from the minibar ($8). They informed us housekeeping wld bring one up. 30 minutes and no show. We called again and were told the same info. No show again. I called a 3rd time (7:30am the next day since we fell asleep waiting) and were told if our room didn't have one they were out; but I could wait till 9am and their store MIGHT have one or I could walk a block to a store and buy one myself. The valet brought me the wrong vehicle to top off the stay, which then took 20 minutes to find my correct car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tifanyr
Business
Newburgh new york
Jul 29, 2014

Okay get away

It was okay I didn't like the the fact that there's no parking you have to pay valet parking in order to be close to hotel . House keeping we're still cleaning 3/4 in the afternoon got off the elevator and saw good trays on floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice that it's on the broad walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Summer sauna
Business
Brooklyn ny
Jul 15, 2014

Room discomfort

Checkin was supposed to be at 4pm however our room was not ready until 5 because they were still cleaning which wasn't bad but a little annoying. What really made the experience negative was the discomfort of the temp in the room. After checking in my sister and I showered and got ready to go to a concert. When we returned the room was 80 degrees so I called the front desk. A maintanence man came did something to the thermostat in the room and said he would be back in 10-15 mins. We waited over an hour then feel asleep waiting for him to return which he never did. About three hours later we awoke again because we were so hot. I called the front desk and they said I should have informed them sooner and they would have switched our room but now there was nothing they could do for us. My sister and I had planned to stay and go swimming at the pool and go to the boardwalk. However because we couldn't even bare to stay in our room any longer we decided to just go back home. I was disappointed that we couldn't stay and that the front desk offered nothing to us. We paid over 300 to spend 4 hours in a room that felt like a sauna. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phillyis4lovers
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

You get what you pay for

We stayed at the Chelsea for my husbands birthday. Ive wanted to stay there for a while and was excited about the boutique style hotel. The staff at the front desk acted like you were doing them a favor by checking in. We arrived at 11pm and there was a line at the desk. We had a room in the luxe tower, ha! Our room was directly above the nightclub, we could hear music all night long even after we got in after 2am. Also it's not a four star hotel. The heater is loud the room is small and everything is worn out. The staff was so busy when we checked out they were not friendly at all. Next time I go to AC I will stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tropicana is rome block away and is accessible from the boardwalk, go there and gamble, eat and hit the clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms.Carried Away
Business
Virginia
May 30, 2012

Kind & Cute, but HOT!!!

The lobby area is trendy and chic. The staff was professional and friendly. However, the rooms are just average (vintage Hollywood feel). I recently stayed there over the Memorial Day weekend and my room did NOT have air conditioning the entire time. :( Nonetheless, the hotel director compensated me for the inconvenience. All in all, I would give them ONE more try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
littlemango1
Business
ny ny
Dec 9, 2012

promises much, delivers little less

people very friendly. room fine, no tub, just shower. big problem is I booked it primiarly for spa, and it was not functional. The nightlcub was closed as well. Has potential, but didn't live up. The gym was small and the music blaring. I complained and spa attendant said she couldn't change the level of sound. So even though there was a tv for the treadmill, u couldn't hear it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dduy
Business
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2013

It's just okay

It's too far from where the happenings are like The Walk, casinos, bars, The Pier Shops. The hotel staff are not too friendly. Late check in time, 4pm then check out is at 11am. If you request for a late check out, they will tell you to call back on the day you're checking out which defeats the purpose if you want to sleep in after a late night of partying. But the room is spacious, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, direct view of the ocean but you should choose Ocean King view room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top