$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
191 reviews
Great rooms and amazing views

Staying at the Chelsea was a great experience , rooms were clean and stylish and waking up to the... See full review

  • Ralohy
  • Sep 14, 2014
fantastic family getaway

the stuff is excellent and the food are good tge walk to the beach is nice over all is not bad See full review

  • just one
  • Jun 11, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
davids mom
east brunswick
Jul 6, 2012

july 4th 2012

worst customer service we have ever experienced. our luggage was lost my the valet, our room was hot, the annex hallways were dirt and smelled. the front desk employees were ruide- the manager never came to our room to hear about our issues- worst thing about our experience- when we were leaving this morning- every single customer that was waiting for their cars did not have one positive thing to say about the chelsea. no one had a good time- service was horrible. as if was walking toward our car the valet asked to take my bags for me- i told him no thanks- my husband opened my door and the valet turned to him for a tip- my husband waved his hands and the employee spit on the floor towards my husband- i rate this place a zero- they should fire every single employee starting with the management

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

run do not walk stay away from this place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny ny
Jun 2, 2009

mr

in this hotel-nothing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J1S13
Maryland
Nov 4, 2013

Fools Gold

It appears that the online photos of this hotel are deceiving. It's very run down from what I'm used to. What I did notice this is a Great spot for young Adults to meet up with their friends and stay. The bed was comfortable but I was seriously worried about bed bugs. I tried to cancel out, but did not wish to pay a cancel fee of 100%! Thumbs up stay for 18-25 any older, I doubt it....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Borgata!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Summer sauna
Brooklyn ny
Aug 4, 2014

Concert chaos

We stayed here to go to a concert checked in and when we returned later our room was over 80 degrees and the hotel did not accommodate us in any way. We ended up checking out and going home less then 12 hrs from when we checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
GA
Jul 28, 2009

Very Unfortunate Experience

A letter we wrote to the President of Conventions and Visitors bureau: My wife and I had a very unfortunate experience with the Chelsea hotel in Atlantic City. My wife booked the hotel on line after doing substantive research about the area on Orbitz. We were searching for a 4 star hotel with specific amenities. The site listed Chelsea as a 4 star. When we arrived at the hotel we were sent to a tower facing the street that at best was at a 2 star level. From very dirty carpets, to scuff marks on the walls and a dirty elevator, horrible lighting, etc. Clearly a lower level 2 star at best facility. We went back to the front desk and related the details with the front desk clerk who explained to us: "Have you ever seen a 4 star hotel at the price you reserved?" As a meeting planner planning dozens of meetings and 1000's of room nights per year, yes I have stayed in 4 star hotels for less than what I paid at Chelsea. And much nicer ones I would add. Then he went on to say " we state that only one section of the hotel is a 4 star." Which is factually untrue on the Orbitz site. Then the clerk asked "How much cash do you have on hand right now?" Obviously hoping we would pay him cash for an upgrade to the 4 star area of the hotel. Eventually, he provided us a 4 star room in the tower facing the ocean for no extra money. My wife is in process of communicating this experience with Orbitz. The only contact I had at the hotel was a sales contact and frankly I don't really care who at the hotel gets my complaint. I have also copied hotel ownership. But, more importantly I wanted to be on record with the Conventions and visitors bureau with my complaint. If hotels treat customers like that in Atlantic City, it won't be hard to figure out why people stay away from the destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chucklman
Jackson, NJ
Sep 8, 2014

Not worth money!

This hotel claims 4-stars, but no thing special. Lobby, entrace, hall way and elavator is not clean. The carpets at the room are so old and not clean. The towels are not clean (a lot brown spots on it), and the shower is worse than Holiday Inn's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rosie22
philadelphia, pa
Apr 2, 2013

Horrible Horrible Horrible

This place is disgusting!!!! It was gross, smelled terrible like smoke and it seemed like just about everyone came to the lobby to complain about their rooms. We had to switch rooms twice because of mistakes made by the staff. We finally left and went elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bordentown, nj
Jan 18, 2011

Should have listened

Despite the reviews i read, I decided to book the hotel. We stayed in room 1913, the view was nice oceanfront and the front desk representatives were super nice. Michael the conceriage did call our restaurant and eased our minds as we were running late for dinner. For the price it was good, but don't go in with huge expectations. It looks much longer in person than online. It was clean but you can see where they missed dusting with the dark furniture. The bed was comfortable. It didn't wow us, but it was convenient to the boardwalk and literally two steps away from the Trop. We were surprised that the restaurants were closed in the hotel so we had to go out, which was fine. Overall, it was good, but not spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chelsea Guest
Phila, PA
Jul 7, 2009

4 Star Hotel? Really?

I arrived early and was told by the Front Desk they would call me cell when it was available. I was told there would be a $20 cover to use the 5th flr pool. My guest arrived shortly after me, was told me room was ready, I never received a call & they wouldn't call me while my guest was at the desk because "he wasn't me" despite having my contact info. He was also informed the 5th Floor pool was FREE, which it turns out it was free. I had to contact the hotel myself regarding my room, I had to remind them they had luggage checked for us. The room was dirty, someone had wiped their nose on the wall, and we were charged $50 to upgrade. The upgraded room was very nice. We forgot our toothpaste & contacted the front desk for a dental kit that was missing from the minibar ($8). They informed us housekeeping wld bring one up. 30 minutes and no show. We called again and were told the same info. No show again. I called a 3rd time (7:30am the next day since we fell asleep waiting) and were told if our room didn't have one they were out; but I could wait till 9am and their store MIGHT have one or I could walk a block to a store and buy one myself. The valet brought me the wrong vehicle to top off the stay, which then took 20 minutes to find my correct car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelingDrew
Short Hills
Jun 27, 2013

Great location

Overall it was a decent stay, but unlike the Trumph,Revel or Harrahs they were not acomadating at all. The hospitality was very poor after I requested a later check out. It seems as if once your stay was complete your no longer important to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Boardwalk has many great places to eat and enjoy the view of the ocean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search