$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
203 reviews
Me and wife's night out

Hotel met all criteria from cleanliness to location to amenities to price, we will definitely stay... See full review

  • Raymond D.
  • Jan 5, 2015
4th of July Trip

My boyfriend and I wanted to try a different hotel in AC this summer so we decided to stay at The... See full review

  • Jaimie N.
  • Dec 24, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 29, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

I came down to AC for a friend's birthday party. Originally I was going to book The Tropicana since the party was in there but there were no rooms available for the dates I needed. I chose The Chelsea since it was close to The Tropicana and on the broadwalk. The Chelsea is a beautiful hotel and since it doesn't have a casino it made up for it with the new retro look to it. One thing I did not like was that there was mandatory valet parking but it wasn't too expensive. Also at check-in there was only one person working the front desk but yet he wanted to joke around with a co-worker while we waited on him and told myself and my guest that someone would be with us shortly and then come to find out he would be that person. To me that was bad customer service. Besides that everyone else were friendly and helpful. The 5th floor is beautiful; lounge area, restaurant, "game room", and I wished I went in the summer time so I could enjoy the outdoor pool and the cabanas. I stayed at The Trump Marina before and thought that it was great but The Chelsea surpassed it. I stayed in the Luxe Luxe room in the Chelsea: King size bed with comfortable sheets and comforter, flat screen tv, stock fridge with all sorts of beverages and snacks (of course the items are expensive so bring your own), beautiful bathroom but shower took to long to get hot, and overall great room. Would definitely stay at The Chelsea again not the Chelsea Annex but The Chelsea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go during the weekdays the restaurant in the hotel and on the broadwalk close early so you will need to drive to the main road and go somewhere to eat over there. I am from NY and is used to food places being open late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Future Jet
Business
Texas
Aug 12, 2009

Stay away from the Chelsea

The place is way over rated and not very accomodating. They advertise a great place to stay, pool, lounge,,,etc. But on a Saturday night they closed the entire bar, lounge, pool and game room for a private party!!! The to top it off, the very next day, Sunday, the closed to pool again for a wedding all day!!! This is ridiculous and the management should be told about not providing the advertised amenteties. Oh, and please don't forget that the room ket system is s flawed that I must have seen 20 to 30 guests have to wait and get new keys; I am sure there were a lot more that had the same problem. Expect to have a very, very long wait any time you need to check in, check out or need front dest help. I only saw the conceirge on weekends; otherwise the desk is unmanned. During my 6 days at this hotel I did not speak to even one guest that was happy with the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
INRI
Business
PHILLY PA
Aug 11, 2009

NIce Time

Great Weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Aug 10, 2009

great getaway and great price

We had a great time we shopped went to the casinos and party. we would have love to have eaten at the Chelsea Prime resturant, but you have to make reservations two weeks ahead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Alantic city Outlet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ travel
Business
Northern New Jersey
Jul 31, 2009

Nice change from the casinos

It was nice to escape the noise and bustle of the casinos in our trip to Atlantic City. The Chelsea is right on the boardwalk with beach access and the give you use of their beach chairs, umbrellas and towels with full beach service which is a very nice alternative to carring it all with you. It was also nice to get a break from all the casino bustle while still being close to everything. I would recommend this hotel. Very nice, quiet and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss the Outlet stores at the Walk section. They are great stores, good prices and a nice area to walk around and shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GA
Jul 28, 2009

Very Unfortunate Experience

A letter we wrote to the President of Conventions and Visitors bureau: My wife and I had a very unfortunate experience with the Chelsea hotel in Atlantic City. My wife booked the hotel on line after doing substantive research about the area on Orbitz. We were searching for a 4 star hotel with specific amenities. The site listed Chelsea as a 4 star. When we arrived at the hotel we were sent to a tower facing the street that at best was at a 2 star level. From very dirty carpets, to scuff marks on the walls and a dirty elevator, horrible lighting, etc. Clearly a lower level 2 star at best facility. We went back to the front desk and related the details with the front desk clerk who explained to us: "Have you ever seen a 4 star hotel at the price you reserved?" As a meeting planner planning dozens of meetings and 1000's of room nights per year, yes I have stayed in 4 star hotels for less than what I paid at Chelsea. And much nicer ones I would add. Then he went on to say " we state that only one section of the hotel is a 4 star." Which is factually untrue on the Orbitz site. Then the clerk asked "How much cash do you have on hand right now?" Obviously hoping we would pay him cash for an upgrade to the 4 star area of the hotel. Eventually, he provided us a 4 star room in the tower facing the ocean for no extra money. My wife is in process of communicating this experience with Orbitz. The only contact I had at the hotel was a sales contact and frankly I don't really care who at the hotel gets my complaint. I have also copied hotel ownership. But, more importantly I wanted to be on record with the Conventions and visitors bureau with my complaint. If hotels treat customers like that in Atlantic City, it won't be hard to figure out why people stay away from the destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey
Jul 26, 2009

Great!

I loved The Chelsea. The establishment is classy and has a great location. The room was spotless and the bathroom was beautiful. The large flat screen tv and incredibly comfortable bed are an added plus. My only complaint is the screaming employee who banged at my door because we slept through checkout. That was uncalled for. I would have gladly paid extra for some extra sleep. Orbit gave us this room for $150 less than how much the hotel charges for it, thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 21, 2009

The Chelsea

King size bed was very comfortable. Room was very clean. Staff was very friendly and eager to assist. Location was excellent as it is right on the boardwalk next to Tropicana Hotel and Casino. Excellent room and location for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utica, NY
Jul 19, 2009

"overpriced and overated"

pictures on orbitz were very misleading. Not sure if you are aware but I could have stayed at a casino (Tropicana, Ceasers)in what they consider a standard room which is equivalent to your tower room which I believe it was you advertise on Orbitz for half of the price of what you charged me. As I visit Atlantic City quite often, I am familiar with the different hotels and casinos. I gave your hotel the chance as it was advertised as new and from the pictures it looked great. As I said very misleading. The casinos offer a bigger room with more comfortable beds than your standard room. The tower room was nice. However, I would never consider staying in one of the standard rooms again for the price that you charge. To me, this was equivalent to a room that I would get at a Motel 6 or Super 8 which I believe should be priced at around $45.00 per night for your standard room. Also, the walkways leading from the boardwalk to your hotel was dark and creepy. The staff was helpful, polite and courteous but I was not at all satisfied with the price of the hotel for what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chelsea Guest
Business
Phila, PA
Jul 7, 2009

4 Star Hotel? Really?

I arrived early and was told by the Front Desk they would call me cell when it was available. I was told there would be a $20 cover to use the 5th flr pool. My guest arrived shortly after me, was told me room was ready, I never received a call & they wouldn't call me while my guest was at the desk because "he wasn't me" despite having my contact info. He was also informed the 5th Floor pool was FREE, which it turns out it was free. I had to contact the hotel myself regarding my room, I had to remind them they had luggage checked for us. The room was dirty, someone had wiped their nose on the wall, and we were charged $50 to upgrade. The upgraded room was very nice. We forgot our toothpaste & contacted the front desk for a dental kit that was missing from the minibar ($8). They informed us housekeeping wld bring one up. 30 minutes and no show. We called again and were told the same info. No show again. I called a 3rd time (7:30am the next day since we fell asleep waiting) and were told if our room didn't have one they were out; but I could wait till 9am and their store MIGHT have one or I could walk a block to a store and buy one myself. The valet brought me the wrong vehicle to top off the stay, which then took 20 minutes to find my correct car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top