$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

The Chelsea

4 stars
View map of 111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperKel
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Oct 13, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Location

Initially I enjoyed a good laugh remembering the Howard Johnson that was formerly in this spot but after seeing the transformation I was blown away. The Chelsea was beautiful, down to every detail. We took advantage of having a wonderful restaurant on the premises and dined at Chelsea Prime. The food was very good and the service was spot on. The only gripe that we had was the confusion with valet upon our departure. There were no clear signs or instructions on how or where you were to pick up your car. It would have been helpful having someone guiding the guests and running the valet so guests do not leave feeling frustrated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Chelsea Prime offers a 3 course menu with limited selections which is cheaper then ordering off of their regular menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tterp
Business
brick, nj
Oct 12, 2009

relax and have fun

We were nervous after reading all of the reviews, but we had a great time. the decor was funky and fun. Our room was clean, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We loved the 4am diner on Saturday night. After dancing our butts off, the diner was great filled with friendly waiters and fun people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annapolis
Oct 12, 2009

Unbeatable location for the right price.

All the amenties at a great price. Hotel is in walking distance of all the hot spots and boast its on fine dining and night life experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

AC outlets and Tropiciana Hotel and Casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shoreguy
Business
Brick, NJ
Oct 11, 2009

"Rat Pack" cool and my new place in AC

Hotel was great. Proposed to my gf earlier in the day (she said yes!) then wisked her off to AC for an ocean front room at the Chelsea. Was all we could have asked for and we had a great time. I found the room and the whole hotel clean, funky, chic, but, definately not foo foo or gaudy. Bed was very comfortable and even on the 19th floor you can crack a window. Staff was nice and had a great time what else can I say. BTW...coffee shop down stairs was excellent. Try the bloody marys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Check out time is 12:00 and the vallet people work very hard but, you may be waiting or you car for awhile. May want to get your car out before check out and park out on the street for a quick getaway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pageant Judge
Business
North Plainfield, NJ
Oct 11, 2009

loved this place!

My husband and I loved our stay at the Chelsea. The staff was beyond friendly, the decor was fab and the attached really fancy diner had great food,decor and service. Right by the major casinos but.... more of a personal touch AND much easier check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

it was hoppin' and couldn't hear it in our room a few floors away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jgreens
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 11, 2009

The Chelsea

While at The Chelsea, we enjoyed a fabulous dinner at Teplitsky's... very tasty. The rooms are a little noisy. The elevator service was horrible!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Teplitsky's was delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newark, de
Oct 11, 2009

a few good and alot bad

there is no sound barrier from down the hall and around the corner you can hear the elevator, you can hear everything room to room there is a club on the 5th floor and on the 11th floor you can still hear the music and feel vibrations . the noise carries from outside and to get into your hotel room at night you get to wait inline for an elevator as they let clubgoers ahead of hotel patrons and the staff allows their friends to bypass the line ahead of you aswell. If you did venture to the club you get overcharged by extreme amounts for drinks and are charged with a luxury tax...this hotel is priced decent enough for the room but the noise food and drinks that you have to buy while there are ridiculous you might as well put out the money for the bigger hotels where you actually get what you pay for. I do NOT recommend this hotel and its privately owned so they don't really care about the inconvenience. the only good thing was the rooms were clean and the valet staff is great. it also takes forever and a day to check in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 29, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

I came down to AC for a friend's birthday party. Originally I was going to book The Tropicana since the party was in there but there were no rooms available for the dates I needed. I chose The Chelsea since it was close to The Tropicana and on the broadwalk. The Chelsea is a beautiful hotel and since it doesn't have a casino it made up for it with the new retro look to it. One thing I did not like was that there was mandatory valet parking but it wasn't too expensive. Also at check-in there was only one person working the front desk but yet he wanted to joke around with a co-worker while we waited on him and told myself and my guest that someone would be with us shortly and then come to find out he would be that person. To me that was bad customer service. Besides that everyone else were friendly and helpful. The 5th floor is beautiful; lounge area, restaurant, "game room", and I wished I went in the summer time so I could enjoy the outdoor pool and the cabanas. I stayed at The Trump Marina before and thought that it was great but The Chelsea surpassed it. I stayed in the Luxe Luxe room in the Chelsea: King size bed with comfortable sheets and comforter, flat screen tv, stock fridge with all sorts of beverages and snacks (of course the items are expensive so bring your own), beautiful bathroom but shower took to long to get hot, and overall great room. Would definitely stay at The Chelsea again not the Chelsea Annex but The Chelsea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go during the weekdays the restaurant in the hotel and on the broadwalk close early so you will need to drive to the main road and go somewhere to eat over there. I am from NY and is used to food places being open late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Future Jet
Business
Texas
Aug 12, 2009

Stay away from the Chelsea

The place is way over rated and not very accomodating. They advertise a great place to stay, pool, lounge,,,etc. But on a Saturday night they closed the entire bar, lounge, pool and game room for a private party!!! The to top it off, the very next day, Sunday, the closed to pool again for a wedding all day!!! This is ridiculous and the management should be told about not providing the advertised amenteties. Oh, and please don't forget that the room ket system is s flawed that I must have seen 20 to 30 guests have to wait and get new keys; I am sure there were a lot more that had the same problem. Expect to have a very, very long wait any time you need to check in, check out or need front dest help. I only saw the conceirge on weekends; otherwise the desk is unmanned. During my 6 days at this hotel I did not speak to even one guest that was happy with the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
INRI
Business
PHILLY PA
Aug 11, 2009

NIce Time

Great Weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top