$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 15, 2015 Check-out: Mar 16, 2015

The Chelsea

4 stars
View map of 111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
206 reviews
Relaxing Hotel

At the Chelsea we stayed in the tower area. It was quiet and relaxing. During our stay the lounge... See full review

  • Faith V.
  • Feb 28, 2015
Me and wife's night out

Hotel met all criteria from cleanliness to location to amenities to price, we will definitely stay... See full review

  • Raymond D.
  • Jan 5, 2015
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
An upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (206)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pageant Judge
Business
North Plainfield, NJ
Oct 11, 2009

loved this place!

My husband and I loved our stay at the Chelsea. The staff was beyond friendly, the decor was fab and the attached really fancy diner had great food,decor and service. Right by the major casinos but.... more of a personal touch AND much easier check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

it was hoppin' and couldn't hear it in our room a few floors away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jgreens
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 11, 2009

The Chelsea

While at The Chelsea, we enjoyed a fabulous dinner at Teplitsky's... very tasty. The rooms are a little noisy. The elevator service was horrible!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Teplitsky's was delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newark, de
Oct 11, 2009

a few good and alot bad

there is no sound barrier from down the hall and around the corner you can hear the elevator, you can hear everything room to room there is a club on the 5th floor and on the 11th floor you can still hear the music and feel vibrations . the noise carries from outside and to get into your hotel room at night you get to wait inline for an elevator as they let clubgoers ahead of hotel patrons and the staff allows their friends to bypass the line ahead of you aswell. If you did venture to the club you get overcharged by extreme amounts for drinks and are charged with a luxury tax...this hotel is priced decent enough for the room but the noise food and drinks that you have to buy while there are ridiculous you might as well put out the money for the bigger hotels where you actually get what you pay for. I do NOT recommend this hotel and its privately owned so they don't really care about the inconvenience. the only good thing was the rooms were clean and the valet staff is great. it also takes forever and a day to check in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 29, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

I came down to AC for a friend's birthday party. Originally I was going to book The Tropicana since the party was in there but there were no rooms available for the dates I needed. I chose The Chelsea since it was close to The Tropicana and on the broadwalk. The Chelsea is a beautiful hotel and since it doesn't have a casino it made up for it with the new retro look to it. One thing I did not like was that there was mandatory valet parking but it wasn't too expensive. Also at check-in there was only one person working the front desk but yet he wanted to joke around with a co-worker while we waited on him and told myself and my guest that someone would be with us shortly and then come to find out he would be that person. To me that was bad customer service. Besides that everyone else were friendly and helpful. The 5th floor is beautiful; lounge area, restaurant, "game room", and I wished I went in the summer time so I could enjoy the outdoor pool and the cabanas. I stayed at The Trump Marina before and thought that it was great but The Chelsea surpassed it. I stayed in the Luxe Luxe room in the Chelsea: King size bed with comfortable sheets and comforter, flat screen tv, stock fridge with all sorts of beverages and snacks (of course the items are expensive so bring your own), beautiful bathroom but shower took to long to get hot, and overall great room. Would definitely stay at The Chelsea again not the Chelsea Annex but The Chelsea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go during the weekdays the restaurant in the hotel and on the broadwalk close early so you will need to drive to the main road and go somewhere to eat over there. I am from NY and is used to food places being open late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Future Jet
Business
Texas
Aug 12, 2009

Stay away from the Chelsea

The place is way over rated and not very accomodating. They advertise a great place to stay, pool, lounge,,,etc. But on a Saturday night they closed the entire bar, lounge, pool and game room for a private party!!! The to top it off, the very next day, Sunday, the closed to pool again for a wedding all day!!! This is ridiculous and the management should be told about not providing the advertised amenteties. Oh, and please don't forget that the room ket system is s flawed that I must have seen 20 to 30 guests have to wait and get new keys; I am sure there were a lot more that had the same problem. Expect to have a very, very long wait any time you need to check in, check out or need front dest help. I only saw the conceirge on weekends; otherwise the desk is unmanned. During my 6 days at this hotel I did not speak to even one guest that was happy with the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
INRI
Business
PHILLY PA
Aug 11, 2009

NIce Time

Great Weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Aug 10, 2009

great getaway and great price

We had a great time we shopped went to the casinos and party. we would have love to have eaten at the Chelsea Prime resturant, but you have to make reservations two weeks ahead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Alantic city Outlet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ travel
Business
Northern New Jersey
Jul 31, 2009

Nice change from the casinos

It was nice to escape the noise and bustle of the casinos in our trip to Atlantic City. The Chelsea is right on the boardwalk with beach access and the give you use of their beach chairs, umbrellas and towels with full beach service which is a very nice alternative to carring it all with you. It was also nice to get a break from all the casino bustle while still being close to everything. I would recommend this hotel. Very nice, quiet and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss the Outlet stores at the Walk section. They are great stores, good prices and a nice area to walk around and shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GA
Jul 28, 2009

Very Unfortunate Experience

A letter we wrote to the President of Conventions and Visitors bureau: My wife and I had a very unfortunate experience with the Chelsea hotel in Atlantic City. My wife booked the hotel on line after doing substantive research about the area on Orbitz. We were searching for a 4 star hotel with specific amenities. The site listed Chelsea as a 4 star. When we arrived at the hotel we were sent to a tower facing the street that at best was at a 2 star level. From very dirty carpets, to scuff marks on the walls and a dirty elevator, horrible lighting, etc. Clearly a lower level 2 star at best facility. We went back to the front desk and related the details with the front desk clerk who explained to us: "Have you ever seen a 4 star hotel at the price you reserved?" As a meeting planner planning dozens of meetings and 1000's of room nights per year, yes I have stayed in 4 star hotels for less than what I paid at Chelsea. And much nicer ones I would add. Then he went on to say " we state that only one section of the hotel is a 4 star." Which is factually untrue on the Orbitz site. Then the clerk asked "How much cash do you have on hand right now?" Obviously hoping we would pay him cash for an upgrade to the 4 star area of the hotel. Eventually, he provided us a 4 star room in the tower facing the ocean for no extra money. My wife is in process of communicating this experience with Orbitz. The only contact I had at the hotel was a sales contact and frankly I don't really care who at the hotel gets my complaint. I have also copied hotel ownership. But, more importantly I wanted to be on record with the Conventions and visitors bureau with my complaint. If hotels treat customers like that in Atlantic City, it won't be hard to figure out why people stay away from the destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey
Jul 26, 2009

Great!

I loved The Chelsea. The establishment is classy and has a great location. The room was spotless and the bathroom was beautiful. The large flat screen tv and incredibly comfortable bed are an added plus. My only complaint is the screaming employee who banged at my door because we slept through checkout. That was uncalled for. I would have gladly paid extra for some extra sleep. Orbit gave us this room for $150 less than how much the hotel charges for it, thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top