$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
199 reviews
Everything was great A ++

Everything about the hotel was great. The only thing I didn't like is that for Peking, the only... See full review

  • John 348
  • Dec 8, 2014
Great 21st

Awesome last minute hotel. Ugly pictures that people put up are not what the chelsea looks like. It... See full review

  • jaszie
  • Sep 21, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sleepless dad
Business
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2010

Great Hotel very cool

Great hotel in Atlantic City. No casino noise made it very relaxing. Cool restaurant Teplitzkys staff was great. My wife and I have not had a night alone with each other since our 10 month old was born. We each had a massage and it was excellent. Good location I look forward to going back in the Summer for pool scene and beach. First time in AC not staying at a Casino I think it saved more money than the room rate with less temptation to hit the tables for longer periods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant had great food at very reasonable prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
west chester, pa
Dec 29, 2009

one of the best in AC

very nice rooms, upgraded for free to top floor, ocean view, staff very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great wife
Business
Atlantic City, NJ
Nov 17, 2009

Great anniversary

Wonderful experience. Wasn't sure of what to expect after reading some of the reviews, but was really glad we stayed at the Chelsea. From the greeting of the valets, to the bellmen, and the front desk staff we were impressed. The room we had was very nice, with a good view of the beach. Was given very good suggestions from the bellmen as to what to do in the city. Great location for visiting other hotels, shopping, and restuarants. Would definitely stay at The Chelsea again. Don't understand how others gave this hotel a "1". Would have liked to of had the spa opened during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Tropicana had everything on site one would want to do on vacation. Only a block of two from The Chelsea, so easy to get to and from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phyrre56
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 16, 2009

A very average stay

The hotel decor is overly modern, but the actual room feels just like any other hotel. It's a dressed up Holiday Inn, but they want to portray a more luxury experience with style over substance. Our toilet was broken when we arrived. Instead of moving us to another room, they insisted on letting maintenance try to fix it. The hotel was not very full. They could have easily moved us instead of making us wait and feeling unsure about where we were staying. (In the end, they fixed it.) The valet was very slow. For a place that only offers valet parking and charges for it, the service needs to be a little quicker. Otherwise, the stay was fine. Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is right near the Tropicana, if you're interested in gambling. An easy walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Nov 14, 2009

Guest

We had a nice time at the gym. The spa was not free. Nice bed and room view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, Whitestone
Nov 1, 2009

Fantastic Place for couples! =D

The hotel experience was Perfect, Cant explain it any better, The staff was very kind. Also the valet parkers were very professional! Rooms were very clean and the fifth floor is off the hook! No kitchen in the rooms =( one bad thing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinning at changs in tropicana was alright, If your going to drink beer at your room for cheap going to a deli dont make the same mistake I did NONE of the delis or 7/11 sells any ! I spent an hour looking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luxorious stay
Business
New Jersey
Oct 22, 2009

all i could say was WOW!

This trip was booked for my birthday at an amazing price of this website! Considering it listed as a 4star hotel i couldnt believe it! i would of thought of it as a 5star hotel no doubts about it! the decor and cleanliness of the hotel alone was fabolous! My shower could of fit 5 people the bed was huge and so comfortable me and my boyfriend didnt want to get up to check out in the morning! the view from our room was right in front of the ocean which we loved when we saw the sunrise at 6am! i would def. recomended and stay at the chelsea again anytime! Also it was located 1 block away from the tropicana but it was right on the boardwalk which made it perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New Yorker 01
Business
New York, NY
Oct 20, 2009

Amazing Ocean View

My husband and I stayed here a couple of times and the service is great. All the staff members were very helpful and the restaurant is a must! Their yellow eye tuna is the best. I love the Chelsea drink is great, very refreshing. We were very happy to find that they had given us a corner room with a great view of the Ocean and Boardwalk. We slept with the window ajar to the sound of the ocean, very relaxing. The location was very convenient since you are right off the board walk and near the tropicana and other major casinos. We will go back to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Their main restaurant on the 5th floor is a must

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Oct 13, 2009

Could have been better

Pros: -The hotel is about a 15 minute walk away from the Atlantic City Convention Cente which is good because that way you don't have to take a taxi that costs $10 or more everytime you want to go some where. - The room was nice and clean and the sheet were soft and warm (the bed had a down comforter on it). -There is a club and a cafe in the hotel. The food at the cafe is descent. The Egg your Way and the Omlets were both very good. CONs: -I stayed on the 7th floor and the club in the hotel is located on the 5th floor and even though I didn't mind, you could hear the music all the way upstairs. -The lady at the concierge desk was rude. Apparently the person who was suppose to relieve her for the night was running late so she was frustrated but you know what I say to that, when you come to work, you check your frustrations at the door. I thought she could have been more cordial. Overall, while the nightly cost to stay at the Chelsea isn't ridiculously expense, I think it could be a little cheaper. I would have preferred to pay $100 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are outlets (very similar to Woodbury Commons) near the Atlantic City Convention Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperKel
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Oct 13, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Location

Initially I enjoyed a good laugh remembering the Howard Johnson that was formerly in this spot but after seeing the transformation I was blown away. The Chelsea was beautiful, down to every detail. We took advantage of having a wonderful restaurant on the premises and dined at Chelsea Prime. The food was very good and the service was spot on. The only gripe that we had was the confusion with valet upon our departure. There were no clear signs or instructions on how or where you were to pick up your car. It would have been helpful having someone guiding the guests and running the valet so guests do not leave feeling frustrated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Chelsea Prime offers a 3 course menu with limited selections which is cheaper then ordering off of their regular menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top