$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Chelsea

4 stars
View map of 111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brakitman
Business
New Haven, CT
Aug 26, 2010

A refreshing surprise.

My wife and I had a great time. We had a very comfortable king bed and the room view was of the exterior pool and ocean. There were two weddings on Saturday and the general atmosphere was upbeat. I made a point of complimenting the manager of the retro restaurant "Teplitsky's" on her staff, we also felt like we were in a Q. T. movie set eating there. Hotel is next to Tropicana...you feel like it's connected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking is ten dollar all-day, unlimited in-out weekdays, fifteen on weekends.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoalieMan
Business
Groton, CT
Nov 27, 2010

Great Value and Really Nice

The hotel is right on the boardwalk near the tropicana. It provides a good place to go out from without paying the casino prices. It is down at one end of the strip, but if you do not mind some walk along the boardwalk, it is a great place to go out. There are also usually cabs available if you want to go out to the other casinos. This was my first trip to AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just_Jeff
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 21, 2010

Nice hotel. Love the purple and white

I liked the hotel. Stayed in the Luxe Tower which was recommended. We faced the pool and was there for the Thursday night party. It was loud and lasted until 4 AM but with the windows closed (we were on the 14th floor), you could barely hear the music. We were just enjoying the fresh air and ocean sounds the other nights. The 5th floor is great with the cozy game room, restaurant and pool. The beach was great with free towels, chairs and umbrellas available for guests. The beach location wasn't too crowded either like further down near the casinos. The only issues we had was with the carpeting in the hallways on our floor. It was stained in several locations. The other major problem was the shower. It was on super hot and we couldn't figure out hot to turn it to cooler temps. We mentioned it to the front desk and they suggested we figure out how to operate it. We were there for two nights and just tolerated the high temps by taking quick showers except for the last morning when sunburn and hot water made it a little painful. But that was the worse of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you like to party and hear about the pool parties, you better plan for a weekend stay. They do not have any until Thursday night/

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
May 11, 2009

couple overnight getaway

Hotel was nice. We payed the lower price on orbit so we stayed in the older part of the hotel but very convenient and well kept. Located right next to tropicana for half the price. Parking valet charge was $10 added on when you checked out. The out side pool and restaurant (we had breakfast at) were fantastic. Bed super comfortable. Bathroom was very dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Not much nightlife in hotel like they said there was going to be and we stayed on a Saturday. The Tropicana was great though for dining and nightlife and it was the next block over.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC, NY
Apr 23, 2009

Solid for the price

Solid for the price. Cheaper weekend. Good location near Tropicana. Staff was very friendly. Rooms were cleaned very quickly (during breakfast most days). Only drawback is that they have only valet parking and it was $25 to park for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine Cyndi
Business
Long Island, NY
May 11, 2009

Very chic!

This was located in a perfect place. Boardwalk was a few feet away. The Tropicana was extremely close. We drove so we were in minutes of every great location we could think of. Every one was polite and helpful. The place was very clean. And on the fith floor there was a great lounge/restuarant/pool area. Has this chic 70's vibe to the whole hotel. Pretty cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a convinience store right around the corner if you forgot any little essentials. Also in the room there is a snack bar area and this has little essencials and all kinds of snacks and beverages available right in your room, but you will have to pay a higher price than usual, of course.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Ireland Fans
Business
NY
Jun 12, 2014

Clean and Great Deal

This hotel was a great deal. We were right near the main strip and area of hotels. It was a clean room and quiet at night. I was satisfied with my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OT and DT
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 29, 2014

good deal

Reasonably priced hotel near Tropicana. Air conditioning in our room broke, but was fixed right away. Loved that the whole hotel was smoke free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Teplitsky's a great breakfast choice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fezzizle
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 26, 2014

Better than expected

Hotel was clean and nice and probably the best bathroom/shower/bed for that price point. Hotel pools were cool too and is included with your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler879
Business
Reading Pa
Sep 3, 2014

Was OK

Very adequate. Disappointed that there was not a coffee maker in the room. Parking was extra. Location was excellent. Staff was polite and helpful. WiFi was slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Tropicana casino is right next door. Right on the boardwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top