$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The Chelsea

4 stars
View map of 111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brakitman
Couples
New Haven, CT
Aug 26, 2010

A refreshing surprise.

My wife and I had a great time. We had a very comfortable king bed and the room view was of the exterior pool and ocean. There were two weddings on Saturday and the general atmosphere was upbeat. I made a point of complimenting the manager of the retro restaurant "Teplitsky's" on her staff, we also felt like we were in a Q. T. movie set eating there. Hotel is next to Tropicana...you feel like it's connected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking is ten dollar all-day, unlimited in-out weekdays, fifteen on weekends.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York City
Aug 26, 2010

Coolest Hotel Ever

From the minute we arrived I was obsessed with how cool The Chelsea is. I absolutely love the style and decor which is a fun and stylish 1960s theme but not cheesy retro at all- everything is very classy. Overall we had a great time at the hotel and took advantage of what it has to offer- great food at Teplitsky's, the rooftop pool, the jacuzzi and sauna and room service. Every single staff member we interacted with was super nice, genuine, helpful and professional- the staff is really amazing and made us feel welcome and well taken care of. We loved our room which was spacious, spotless and had a great view of the ocean and the boardwalk. Everything was awesome. The only comment/suggestion I would make is that being there on a Sunday-Tuesday we found that a lot of the hotel services were not available to us because they were closed or closed early on those days (the spa closed early on Sunday and wasn't open on Tuesday; room service was not available in the evenings, one of the restaurants was closed, etc.) It would have been nice if these things has been open and available to us while we were there and it was a bit disappointing that they were not but despite that we had a great time at the Chelsea and definitely plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

You can definitely find everything you need right in this hotel. With two outdoor pools, an indoor jacuzzi and sauna, a pool table and a lounge that turns into a night club after hours you don't even need to venture outside if you don't want to. Teplitzsky's restaurant has great food and a fun diner atmosphere. And if you do feel like seeing what else AC has to offer you are right on the boardwalk once you step oustide so the location is perfect too.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Upstate New York
Aug 22, 2010

The Chelsea

Found this hotel online but called in the reservation. Told there was nothing extra--wrong, parking is 10.00 a day extra,and it's valet parking only--can you say TIPS.Don't forget anything in your car-they have to bring it to you-TIPS.Don't check in early,they keep your luggage in storage, then bring it to your room TIPS again.Not to mention when you leave-- TIPS to get your car.I have no problem tipping when it's expected [dining etc.]The hotel should add extra to the cost of the room and offer the parking as part of the package.One other thing-- management should train ALL employees to SMILE--it costs nothing and sets the tone for the rest of the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bally's buffet

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Rochester, NY
Aug 20, 2010

Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel. Close to the boardwalk and casino's. The only real negative is that they hold a $125 per day deposit on your credit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant attached to the hotel is very expensive for breakfast. Just down the boardwalk, towards the Tropicana, is the Country Kitchen which has good breakfasts for half the price.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ran Brother
Family
Connecticut
Aug 20, 2010

The Chelsea (Beware: read review)

It all looked nice online and when calling in. When we got there we waited 4.5 hours for our room. We had to change rooms next day. Bath was leaking. Poor pressure. Housekeeping make a lot of noise in the morning. Request won't be passed on always. Often had to request 4 or 5 times. Business center is just 2 kiosk computers where you pay huge fee's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you like nightlife and noise and don't care about service this is for you else STAY AWAY!!!

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Philadelphia, pa
Aug 20, 2010

loved it

It was a beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Nice deck/party area. Very trendy and luxurious. It was my 21st birthday, so I came for the party scene. I really enjoyed myself. The only thing I didn't like was that the iHome in my room was missing the cord and they didn't have any spare ones. Other than that, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The fifth floor at the Chelsea has an outdoor deck with a bar,pool, and dance floor.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Hagerstown, MD
Aug 4, 2010

We chose wisely!

Excellent hotel! There are actually two pools - both decent size. We only made it to the freshwater pool on the fifth floor. Beach service (towel, chaise lounge, and umbrella) could not be beat. Cool decor, incredible atmosphere, very quiet rooms. Only (minor) drawbacks: low water pressure in the shower due to water saving shower head and distance to major cluster of casinos. If you do not mind walking, this is not an issue. We were a little nervous after seeing some negative reviews, but honestly could not have been happier. For the price (we stayed on a Sunday through Wednesday, and the prices were excellent - averaging $113 a night), it would be hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the Trump Taj Mahal buffet - better than Bally's buffet.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Warminster, PA
Jul 24, 2010

Unexpected Expenses

For the price I would have expected to have responsive staff and not as many additional expenses. 1. The parking is an additional during the week and even more on the weekends. 2.The safe in the room was broken and the maintenance staff said that is a common problem. 3.There is no hand soap - after 2 hours of calling down to the front desk I was finally given some shower gel to wash my hands and told they is all they offer. 4. The fridge I was promised in my room (to hold my food for the week) was a mini wine fridge, full of the hotels food, much of which would perish if removed. (This caused me to pay for more expensive takeout food than expected). It was not a bad hotel, but for the price and the promises, one would expect more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The outlits are great!

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
FLUSHING NY
Jul 12, 2010

Amazing hotel :D

Even tho chelsea is in not such of a good location, I always come back here because its nice. Its kind of far from the main parts of the boardwalk but its worth staying here. I was drinking, gambling and enjoying my short vacation here and it never goes wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

fifth floor of this hotel is popping !

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Uniontown OH
Jun 29, 2010

SHock and awe

Once we got our luggage out of our vehicle we placed it on a cart brought to us by a valet...who then parked our car, we thought wow this is great. We go to check in and WHAT??? $150 room deposit in case I take something they'll have something to recompense themselves from.[...] NOW my account is in OVERDRAFT and is costing me MORE THAN MY ROOM DID! Never again, even though the room was superb, for another $10 a night I'll check in at the Borgata! even BETTER service Food that is beyond compare in the whole city and wow it even has a casino which The Chelsea lacks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top