$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
199 reviews
Everything was great A ++

Everything about the hotel was great. The only thing I didn't like is that for Peking, the only... See full review

  • John 348
  • Dec 8, 2014
Great 21st

Awesome last minute hotel. Ugly pictures that people put up are not what the chelsea looks like. It... See full review

  • jaszie
  • Sep 21, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Mar 21, 2010

Great Place To Stay

I went down to the five floor where there night club is. Honestly one of the best hotels iv ever been too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ed r.
Business
houston, tx
Aug 31, 2010

nice location

nice location. great beach access with free umbrella and chairs for guests. room was large in the Luxe tower. shower was a little fickle with water temperature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, Delaware
Dec 15, 2010

A Shore Getaway

This hotel was perfect for my surprise getaway. The hotel was beautiful and the service was impeccable. Hat's off to the concierge. The view in our room was great and the bed was awesome which is really saying a lot because I tend to be a little picky! The only 'cons' were no clearly marked location for the ice machine and no shower cap for my girlfriend. Minor details... Overall this hotel was great and I would come back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Treat yourself to a meal at the Fork and Knife (which are both fortunately included with your meal). The bill was a little pricey but absolutely well worth the experience. According to the concierge (who recommended it) this historic restaurant came under new ownership about 3 years ago by the owners of the equally historic Dock's Oyster House. Much like the hotel the service here blew my mind. This is a must attend! P.S. The service gets raised another notch if they think you were just engaged (a fortunate misunderstanding!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brakitman
Business
New Haven, CT
Aug 26, 2010

A refreshing surprise.

My wife and I had a great time. We had a very comfortable king bed and the room view was of the exterior pool and ocean. There were two weddings on Saturday and the general atmosphere was upbeat. I made a point of complimenting the manager of the retro restaurant "Teplitsky's" on her staff, we also felt like we were in a Q. T. movie set eating there. Hotel is next to Tropicana...you feel like it's connected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking is ten dollar all-day, unlimited in-out weekdays, fifteen on weekends.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoalieMan
Business
Groton, CT
Nov 27, 2010

Great Value and Really Nice

The hotel is right on the boardwalk near the tropicana. It provides a good place to go out from without paying the casino prices. It is down at one end of the strip, but if you do not mind some walk along the boardwalk, it is a great place to go out. There are also usually cabs available if you want to go out to the other casinos. This was my first trip to AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just_Jeff
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 21, 2010

Nice hotel. Love the purple and white

I liked the hotel. Stayed in the Luxe Tower which was recommended. We faced the pool and was there for the Thursday night party. It was loud and lasted until 4 AM but with the windows closed (we were on the 14th floor), you could barely hear the music. We were just enjoying the fresh air and ocean sounds the other nights. The 5th floor is great with the cozy game room, restaurant and pool. The beach was great with free towels, chairs and umbrellas available for guests. The beach location wasn't too crowded either like further down near the casinos. The only issues we had was with the carpeting in the hallways on our floor. It was stained in several locations. The other major problem was the shower. It was on super hot and we couldn't figure out hot to turn it to cooler temps. We mentioned it to the front desk and they suggested we figure out how to operate it. We were there for two nights and just tolerated the high temps by taking quick showers except for the last morning when sunburn and hot water made it a little painful. But that was the worse of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you like to party and hear about the pool parties, you better plan for a weekend stay. They do not have any until Thursday night/

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
May 11, 2009

couple overnight getaway

Hotel was nice. We payed the lower price on orbit so we stayed in the older part of the hotel but very convenient and well kept. Located right next to tropicana for half the price. Parking valet charge was $10 added on when you checked out. The out side pool and restaurant (we had breakfast at) were fantastic. Bed super comfortable. Bathroom was very dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Not much nightlife in hotel like they said there was going to be and we stayed on a Saturday. The Tropicana was great though for dining and nightlife and it was the next block over.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC, NY
Apr 23, 2009

Solid for the price

Solid for the price. Cheaper weekend. Good location near Tropicana. Staff was very friendly. Rooms were cleaned very quickly (during breakfast most days). Only drawback is that they have only valet parking and it was $25 to park for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine Cyndi
Business
Long Island, NY
May 11, 2009

Very chic!

This was located in a perfect place. Boardwalk was a few feet away. The Tropicana was extremely close. We drove so we were in minutes of every great location we could think of. Every one was polite and helpful. The place was very clean. And on the fith floor there was a great lounge/restuarant/pool area. Has this chic 70's vibe to the whole hotel. Pretty cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a convinience store right around the corner if you forgot any little essentials. Also in the room there is a snack bar area and this has little essencials and all kinds of snacks and beverages available right in your room, but you will have to pay a higher price than usual, of course.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ travel
Business
Northern New Jersey
Jul 31, 2009

Nice change from the casinos

It was nice to escape the noise and bustle of the casinos in our trip to Atlantic City. The Chelsea is right on the boardwalk with beach access and the give you use of their beach chairs, umbrellas and towels with full beach service which is a very nice alternative to carring it all with you. It was also nice to get a break from all the casino bustle while still being close to everything. I would recommend this hotel. Very nice, quiet and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss the Outlet stores at the Walk section. They are great stores, good prices and a nice area to walk around and shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top