$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
198 reviews
Everything was great A ++

Everything about the hotel was great. The only thing I didn't like is that for Peking, the only... See full review

  • John 348
  • Dec 8, 2014
Great 21st

Awesome last minute hotel. Ugly pictures that people put up are not what the chelsea looks like. It... See full review

  • jaszie
  • Sep 21, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate New York
Aug 22, 2010

The Chelsea

Found this hotel online but called in the reservation. Told there was nothing extra--wrong, parking is 10.00 a day extra,and it's valet parking only--can you say TIPS.Don't forget anything in your car-they have to bring it to you-TIPS.Don't check in early,they keep your luggage in storage, then bring it to your room TIPS again.Not to mention when you leave-- TIPS to get your car.I have no problem tipping when it's expected [dining etc.]The hotel should add extra to the cost of the room and offer the parking as part of the package.One other thing-- management should train ALL employees to SMILE--it costs nothing and sets the tone for the rest of the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bally's buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Aug 20, 2010

Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel. Close to the boardwalk and casino's. The only real negative is that they hold a $125 per day deposit on your credit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant attached to the hotel is very expensive for breakfast. Just down the boardwalk, towards the Tropicana, is the Country Kitchen which has good breakfasts for half the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ran Brother
Business
Connecticut
Aug 20, 2010

The Chelsea (Beware: read review)

It all looked nice online and when calling in. When we got there we waited 4.5 hours for our room. We had to change rooms next day. Bath was leaking. Poor pressure. Housekeeping make a lot of noise in the morning. Request won't be passed on always. Often had to request 4 or 5 times. Business center is just 2 kiosk computers where you pay huge fee's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you like nightlife and noise and don't care about service this is for you else STAY AWAY!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, pa
Aug 20, 2010

loved it

It was a beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Nice deck/party area. Very trendy and luxurious. It was my 21st birthday, so I came for the party scene. I really enjoyed myself. The only thing I didn't like was that the iHome in my room was missing the cord and they didn't have any spare ones. Other than that, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The fifth floor at the Chelsea has an outdoor deck with a bar,pool, and dance floor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hagerstown, MD
Aug 4, 2010

We chose wisely!

Excellent hotel! There are actually two pools - both decent size. We only made it to the freshwater pool on the fifth floor. Beach service (towel, chaise lounge, and umbrella) could not be beat. Cool decor, incredible atmosphere, very quiet rooms. Only (minor) drawbacks: low water pressure in the shower due to water saving shower head and distance to major cluster of casinos. If you do not mind walking, this is not an issue. We were a little nervous after seeing some negative reviews, but honestly could not have been happier. For the price (we stayed on a Sunday through Wednesday, and the prices were excellent - averaging $113 a night), it would be hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the Trump Taj Mahal buffet - better than Bally's buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
argmarcela
Business
New York
Jul 28, 2010

nice hotel!!

my husband and l stayed in these nice hotel x 3 nights. it was so great experience. the room at the 12 floor was big, nice and clean. the outdoor pool was excelent, very friendly the workers who help you at the pool as the securities. nice lounge party at night in the pool, on saturdays! However, the bartenders and some of the waitress who are in the outdoor bar were so rude and unfriendly with us and other customers, it seemed that they did not care about us as customers or they did not work for tips. same was with the waitress in the restaurant on first floor, but the food was great!!it is better to go to the liqueur store around the corner and make your own drinks because these bartenders make you waiting for more than 5 minutes until they can serve you not really good cocktels!when l asked for a margarita it was poor juice, not really good cocktels!! the hotels is in a nice area right ate the beach!! we will come back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

great restaurnat on the first floor, food was so great!! and outdoor pool lounge at night was excelent!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warminster, PA
Jul 24, 2010

Unexpected Expenses

For the price I would have expected to have responsive staff and not as many additional expenses. 1. The parking is an additional during the week and even more on the weekends. 2.The safe in the room was broken and the maintenance staff said that is a common problem. 3.There is no hand soap - after 2 hours of calling down to the front desk I was finally given some shower gel to wash my hands and told they is all they offer. 4. The fridge I was promised in my room (to hold my food for the week) was a mini wine fridge, full of the hotels food, much of which would perish if removed. (This caused me to pay for more expensive takeout food than expected). It was not a bad hotel, but for the price and the promises, one would expect more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The outlits are great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FLUSHING NY
Jul 12, 2010

Amazing hotel :D

Even tho chelsea is in not such of a good location, I always come back here because its nice. Its kind of far from the main parts of the boardwalk but its worth staying here. I was drinking, gambling and enjoying my short vacation here and it never goes wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

fifth floor of this hotel is popping !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Uniontown OH
Jun 29, 2010

SHock and awe

Once we got our luggage out of our vehicle we placed it on a cart brought to us by a valet...who then parked our car, we thought wow this is great. We go to check in and WHAT??? $150 room deposit in case I take something they'll have something to recompense themselves from.[...] NOW my account is in OVERDRAFT and is costing me MORE THAN MY ROOM DID! Never again, even though the room was superb, for another $10 a night I'll check in at the Borgata! even BETTER service Food that is beyond compare in the whole city and wow it even has a casino which The Chelsea lacks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old Indian
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 24, 2010

Best deal for the price

Great facility!! All important details are here. Beach front, great food, excellent room/bed, convenient location but not in a casino. Would return next week if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top