$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

The Chelsea

4 stars
View map of 111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NY,NY
Jan 2, 2011

Good atmosphere

Hotel was nice and accommodating. It was modern, posh, and quiet. We had a luxe king bed on the 18th fl in the 20 story hotel. Bed was comfy and the robes they provide during the stay made us feel pampered. Food in the Teplizsky was good. Hotel was conveniently located a block or two away from Tropicana and the boardwalk is right down the block. It was easy getting from the hotel to downtown with the Jitney buses. I don't think I would have walked the 15 mins distance in the cold and quiet neighborhood. Overall, relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Outlets and the Pier shops have different merchandise and are worth checking out if you have the time.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
north nj
Dec 31, 2010

more like nyc than ac

I greatly enjoyed staying here over at a casino. The staff was friendly and the room decor was fresh and sophisticated. It was a close walk to the tropicana and other casinos. I did not like that there was a pricey mini-bar with no room in the fridge. The ice bucket was tiny and it gave me the impression they wanted to force you to buy their items. I also found it to be quite noisy with such a small hallway on our floor. If it had not been for that I would have had an amazing nights sleep in the plush bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
West Chester, PA
Jan 1, 2011

Chelsea Review

second stay. VG hotel. Chic accomodations. Very Friendly staff in good part of town. Great value for rates charged. I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Quarter at the Trop is accross the street

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Msjlb
Friends
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Sep 26, 2011

quick getaway

This was my first trip to AC and I was very happy we did not stay in one of the casino hotels. The Chelsea was very well done in a great Hollywood regency type of style. Keplitsky's (the diner) had a fun Miami vibe (good art deco Miami not cheesy late 90's Miami) The food was ok- good fried mac & cheese, and tuna ceviche, the pizza however tasted like something you'd get on Amtrak. We had a drink at the 5th floor restaurant and returned late night to shake it on the dance floor, which was a blast. I think the bed was comfortable, but at 4am who knows! I would say my only complaints would be no one to greet you at the door, no bellhops to help you with your bags, which seemed strange for a high end hotel. My other complaint was that I forgot my toothbrush and was referred to the gift shop to purchase one for $3. Really? What hotel doesn't have a bin of $.25 toothbrushes under the desk??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Knife & Fork! Fantastic old school steakhouse with murky prohibition-era secrets!

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Labor Day travelers
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Retro Chic

Our experience at the Chelsea hotel was extremely positive: the room was great, the amenities perfect (iron, ironing board, safe, full mini bar) and the staff very friendly. While the Chelsea hotel is not a casino, it is located immediately across from the Tropicana, and walking distance (via the Boardwalk) from the Trump Plaza, Caesar's and Bally's. Trump Taj Mahal is much further away. The hotel is also walking distance (10-15 mn) from the Outlet stores. Overall, it was a great experience and we will definitely stay here again if we come back to AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Water Show at the Caesar's Shopping mall (outside Caesar's casino on the Boardwalk) plays every hour on the hour and is a very entertaining experience.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Birdsboro, Pa
May 2, 2009

Birthday getaway

I really enjoyed my stay. It is close to the tropicana so we spent some time there. We also walked on the beach and walked down the boardwalk. The whole hotel was really nice. The only down side to the hotel was the valet. It was hard to find someone to get our car and when you got a hold of someone it took forever for them to bring it down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shoreguy
Couples
Brick, NJ
Oct 11, 2009

"Rat Pack" cool and my new place in AC

Hotel was great. Proposed to my gf earlier in the day (she said yes!) then wisked her off to AC for an ocean front room at the Chelsea. Was all we could have asked for and we had a great time. I found the room and the whole hotel clean, funky, chic, but, definately not foo foo or gaudy. Bed was very comfortable and even on the 19th floor you can crack a window. Staff was nice and had a great time what else can I say. BTW...coffee shop down stairs was excellent. Try the bloody marys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Check out time is 12:00 and the vallet people work very hard but, you may be waiting or you car for awhile. May want to get your car out before check out and park out on the street for a quick getaway.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
brooklyn, ny
Apr 22, 2009

Very Nice Hotel

The location was great right on the strip of casinos. It is in between tropicana and the hilton. The room was pretty nice with two queen beds, white clean sheets. The bathroom was flawless. The customer service was great and I would go again. I booked to orbit and yes I saw pictures but it was nothing compared to being there in person. I made a very good choice-only stayed for one day-but it was still great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pageant Judge
Couples
North Plainfield, NJ
Oct 11, 2009

loved this place!

My husband and I loved our stay at the Chelsea. The staff was beyond friendly, the decor was fab and the attached really fancy diner had great food,decor and service. Right by the major casinos but.... more of a personal touch AND much easier check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

it was hoppin' and couldn't hear it in our room a few floors away

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jgreens
Friends
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 11, 2009

The Chelsea

While at The Chelsea, we enjoyed a fabulous dinner at Teplitsky's... very tasty. The rooms are a little noisy. The elevator service was horrible!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Teplitsky's was delicious.

Back to menu Return to top