$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 9, 2015 Check-out: Apr 10, 2015

The Chelsea

4 stars
View map of 111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
comfortzone
Business
Forest Hills, NY
Dec 30, 2011

comfortzone

One of the few places to stay on boardwalk w/o casino which was just what wife and I wanted for anniversary. Very nice ocean views. Front desk very helpful as well. Considering area, food was good for price in informal restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Girasole Restaurant very good, not cheep but surprisingly large portions and would eat there again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Msjlb
Business
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Sep 26, 2011

quick getaway

This was my first trip to AC and I was very happy we did not stay in one of the casino hotels. The Chelsea was very well done in a great Hollywood regency type of style. Keplitsky's (the diner) had a fun Miami vibe (good art deco Miami not cheesy late 90's Miami) The food was ok- good fried mac & cheese, and tuna ceviche, the pizza however tasted like something you'd get on Amtrak. We had a drink at the 5th floor restaurant and returned late night to shake it on the dance floor, which was a blast. I think the bed was comfortable, but at 4am who knows! I would say my only complaints would be no one to greet you at the door, no bellhops to help you with your bags, which seemed strange for a high end hotel. My other complaint was that I forgot my toothbrush and was referred to the gift shop to purchase one for $3. Really? What hotel doesn't have a bin of $.25 toothbrushes under the desk??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Knife & Fork! Fantastic old school steakhouse with murky prohibition-era secrets!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Labor Day travelers
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Retro Chic

Our experience at the Chelsea hotel was extremely positive: the room was great, the amenities perfect (iron, ironing board, safe, full mini bar) and the staff very friendly. While the Chelsea hotel is not a casino, it is located immediately across from the Tropicana, and walking distance (via the Boardwalk) from the Trump Plaza, Caesar's and Bally's. Trump Taj Mahal is much further away. The hotel is also walking distance (10-15 mn) from the Outlet stores. Overall, it was a great experience and we will definitely stay here again if we come back to AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Water Show at the Caesar's Shopping mall (outside Caesar's casino on the Boardwalk) plays every hour on the hour and is a very entertaining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jzimmerling
Business
Livermore, CA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Could have been great

Excellent hotel and location right on the boardwalk and large room with great view, but there were several small things; bad lighting in bathroom, A/C had to be repaired upon arrival, sink was stopped up and no coffeemaker or frig; and one big thing a hotel sponsored DJ party at the pool 17 floors down which shook the windows until 2AM which turned what could have been a great experience into a bad impression..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Reading restaurant two blocks off the boardwalk and about a mile down, fantastic southern cooking, great prices and jazz at night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Aug 12, 2011

An Awesome Weekend in A.C.

I didn't want a Casion/Hotel room because they do not make you feel special for being the little person and not the big spender. The Chelsea is amazing from the moment you enter the lobby. It has such a unique look with amazing accents that take your breath away. I was upgraded and that made me feel so excited because this hotel choice was a surprise for my fiance. So basically the stay in such a beautiful and retro looking hotel only means that I will recommend it to friends and family, as well as ONLY return to stay at The Chelsea in any future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Dress to impress!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Aug 1, 2011

This Cool Hotel Has It All Together

The young and younger at heart will love this swank, very comfy full service hotel. With its great afternoon pool party, first-class steak house, beach chair food and service, and fairly luxurious rooms and customer service, it's almost like a Vegas hotel on the Atlantic-with not a single Walmart casino type in sight. Has one of the best clubs in the city -with lines out of the hotel's well secured front door til 4 a.m. A mechanical problem with the a/c resulted in the offer of the last open room just to sleep, but we opted to open the window and stay, which was still quite comfortable overnight. I got a nice free robe out of the deal, and there is a great diner on-premises for the 'morning after,' too. Thanks for taking such good care of us, Monique.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Check-in and out early, if you can. Weekends are hectic at standard times.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L. Boogie
Business
Philadelphia PA
Jul 12, 2011

"It was the best"

I was very suprised at the service that we received. It was impectable. Out of all of the hotels that I have stayed in I have never received such nice service as the staff showed at the Chelsea. Everything was right there for us, the pools, clubs and resturant. Even the security staff was so pleasant. The room was very very comfortable and we were 100% satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

I enjoyed all of the aminities the Chelsea offered.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Theodore AL
Jul 6, 2011

Great place to stay

Very friendly. Lovely room. Only problem no coffee maker in the room. Coffee not available until 7 a.m. But I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent bites at the bar. Reasonably priced. Excellent breakfast in the coffee shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia
Jul 2, 2011

Loved it!

this was a birthday present and was amazing. Vegas style pool with cabanas and STRONG drinks! Full beach service and great food. What more could u want?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Quarter at The Tropicana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Jun 25, 2011

Great Time!

Loved the location of the hotel and their courtesy at all hours. It would have been good to have a little more information about their nightlife and hotel club beforehand but other than that a great stay! Plus, their steakhouse was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top