$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
187 reviews
fantastic family getaway

the stuff is excellent and the food are good tge walk to the beach is nice over all is not bad See full review

  • just one
  • Jun 11, 2014
Excellent

I love every part of it from the moment we got there till we left suer clean smells good so... See full review

  • carmen lace
  • Jun 2, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RachaelS
Baltimore
Oct 1, 2012

Great Hotel

Spent most of our time at the Borgata but this was worth the price. Bed was extremely comfortable, room was clean and check in/check out was quick!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DANNYJENNY
HILLSIDE NJ
Aug 12, 2014

BITHDAY GETAWAY WITH MY HUSBAND

WHEN YOU GET THERE IT DOESNT LOOK NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES. THE PEOPLE WHERE NICE, THE FOOD WAS GREAT AT THE RESTURANT AND AT THE BAR BY THE LOBBY. YOU MUST DO HAPPY HOUR ITS GOOD PRICE AND FOOD ONLY FRIDAY- SATURDAYS. 4-7 THE ROOMS WHERE SO HOT WE COILDNT SLEEP. IT WAS ALWAYS 78-80 IN THE ROOMS WE TRIED TO OPEN THE WINDOWS AND WE DIDNT HAVE ANY AIR COME IN .. EVERYONE HAD THERE WINDOWS OPEN HOW BAD IT WAS. THE ONLY PLACE THE AC WOULD WORK WAS IN THE LOBBY AND THE 5TH FLOOR. I WOULD NOT COME BCAK HERE EVEN IF IT WAS FOR FREEE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TROPS IS THE BEST BEAST TO GO FOR FOOD ..

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Summer sauna
Brooklyn ny
Aug 4, 2014

Concert chaos

We stayed here to go to a concert checked in and when we returned later our room was over 80 degrees and the hotel did not accommodate us in any way. We ended up checking out and going home less then 12 hrs from when we checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OT and DT
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 29, 2014

good deal

Reasonably priced hotel near Tropicana. Air conditioning in our room broke, but was fixed right away. Loved that the whole hotel was smoke free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Teplitsky's a great breakfast choice

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tifanyr
Newburgh new york
Jul 29, 2014

Okay get away

It was okay I didn't like the the fact that there's no parking you have to pay valet parking in order to be close to hotel . House keeping we're still cleaning 3/4 in the afternoon got off the elevator and saw good trays on floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice that it's on the broad walk

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
COuples retreat xoxo
Atlantic City, NJ
Jul 24, 2014

Terrible customer service

During our stay we had a great time. The staff was nice and we had a beautiful and clean room. However, when we checked in they charged us twice for the $125 deposit. No big deal we just figured we would call and get it all resolved. The staff bounced us around and around and no one could help. Finally, we talked to someone at the front desk and they said 'we cant help you someone screwed up' and with that they hung up. I called back to complain about this treatment and talk to a manager. I was immediately hung up on after asking for a manger. I called a third time finally reaching a manager and was told they made a mistake. I did not receive a single apology for the mistake. We will never return. Beautiful hotel, clean rooms, and great amentities do not make up for this terrible customer service...needless to say we will not be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Summer sauna
Brooklyn ny
Jul 15, 2014

Room discomfort

Checkin was supposed to be at 4pm however our room was not ready until 5 because they were still cleaning which wasn't bad but a little annoying. What really made the experience negative was the discomfort of the temp in the room. After checking in my sister and I showered and got ready to go to a concert. When we returned the room was 80 degrees so I called the front desk. A maintanence man came did something to the thermostat in the room and said he would be back in 10-15 mins. We waited over an hour then feel asleep waiting for him to return which he never did. About three hours later we awoke again because we were so hot. I called the front desk and they said I should have informed them sooner and they would have switched our room but now there was nothing they could do for us. My sister and I had planned to stay and go swimming at the pool and go to the boardwalk. However because we couldn't even bare to stay in our room any longer we decided to just go back home. I was disappointed that we couldn't stay and that the front desk offered nothing to us. We paid over 300 to spend 4 hours in a room that felt like a sauna. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob 46
Richmond, VA
Jul 9, 2014

THE CHELSEA

First off all the "Bayview Luxe Room" had no bay in view at all. Nice view of the giant hotel across from us. When I questioned that, they said that's what they call the "bay view". I guess they could have called it the Eiffel tower" view just as honestly. The room was OK and the bed was good. But save the extra dollars and take a regular "luce" room. Also the "cancellation policy" offered by O*z was an outright sham. A couple of hours later we decided to try to head home a day earlier and tried to cancel. The cancellation fee was greater than the room charge! It was $172 before noon and after, one full day's rental, which was $171.09! July 8, 2014

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelpets12
Teaneck, NJ
Jul 7, 2014

Ok hotel

The outside was horrific, looked old and ancient, but the inside was surprisingly nice and comfortable. Pool is small. Very nice lounge with library, great dining area with gorgeous view. No casino. Family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KDW1215
New York, New York
Jul 1, 2014

good place

For this price I cannot complain, however it is obvious this place has taken a dive over the last 3-4 years. The service was slow with everything from valet, to the elevators, to check in being a hassle. However, that being said, for the price we paid I could not be happier with our room size and view. I would stay here again for the price bc the value is too good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to casino so an easy way to save money on room rates in AC.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marix
New York
Jun 27, 2014

good location, does not look hotel

it's pretty good location, that's why I made reservation here. there is no casino at this "Motel", so no smoking rooms here. I travel vegas pretty often. at this price point this Motel value is way less than "Hotels" in vegas. would not recommend, but ok for one night staying for gambling at tropicana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

near by Tropicana

Back to menu Return to top

Change search