$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Annex at The Chelsea

3 stars
105 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
90 reviews
Getaway

Overall good experience hotel was nice low key I checked right in there were no issues at all See full review

  • Ottey
  • Oct 20, 2014
hotel survey

Room and customer service was awesome..food was great drinks were perfect dinner was fanstatic See full review

  • Liah3
  • Jul 19, 2014
Budget motel with a pass to high-class amenities

The Annex is the result of four-star hotel The Chelsea taking a Howard Johnson hotel under its wing. Though the luxurious touches of The Chelsea Tower rooms do not extend to its Annex, described by the property as "retro-motel style accommodations," the price point is markedly lower than the main hotel. And guests can partake of the same glamorous lounges, pools, restaurants, beach club and beach service as guests of its more elegant Atlantic City sister next door.

Highlights
  • Outdoor heated saltwater pool and weekday access to seasonal rooftop pool
  • Two restaurants and several nightlife venues
  • Boardwalk access to quickly reach restaurants, casinos and shopping
  • Spa offers massage and body treatments
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Cost-conscious rooms deliver TVs with On-Demand service and iPod docking stations at the bedside. Bathrooms at the Annex at The Chelsea stay true to the retro vibe with original tile and vintage fixtures. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the saltwater pool. Designed as the hotel's social wing, connecting rooms and suites at The Annex offer group-friendly configurations. Order door-to-door food delivery from Teplitzky's, the classic diner downstairs.

Features

Early birds at this surprising Atlantic City motel can rent a private cabana on the beach (available first-come, first serve). Beach service, also first-come first serve, includes towels, lounge chairs and sun umbrellas with private set-up. Weekday guests should check out The Cabana Club at The Annex Chelsea, a seasonal outdoor pool with bar, cabanas and an after-dark social scene. Or, venture out and reach the bustling, Old Havana-themed shops and restaurants of Atlantic City's The Quarter at Tropicana in minutes on foot. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool and cabana area available for private events
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Annex at The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Annex at The Chelsea Rooms

Annex Avenue King
This room has a king bed and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities. This room is Non-Smoking.
Annex Downtown
This room has 2 queen beds and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open on Friday and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for The Annex at The Chelsea

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 90
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Oct 17, 2010

the gopd, bad and ugly

the valet parking and check in was pleasant with friendly people and fast service. From then it was all downhill. The room was in the annex, 50.00 less expensive than the tower. The rooms and accomodations are like night and day. The bathroom is pink cracked tile from the 1950's, the ceiling cracked from leaks, the toilet ran constantly, the sink dripped constantly, the water in the shower was not hot enough, the air conditioner blew out warm air, the sliders to the deck could barely be pushed open, the neighborhood is scary, noisy all night long from traffic on the street. No coffee. The bed was not bad and there was an iron and hairdryer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petersburg, VA
Aug 11, 2011

The Chelsea Annex in Atlantic City

This hotel was shabby, they did not have coffee makers in the rooms, you had to pay $10.00 to use a refrigerator,you had to stand out on a balcony to smoke, no ash trays,there was no clock in the room to tell you what time it was, and the elevator was broken and I'm handicap. I was so unhappy that I wanted a refund, I tried to reach cheap tickets by phone and was put on hold so long that I just hung up to save my cell phone minutes.They charged to use the internet, so I just took a lost!!!!I would not recommend staying there to anybody!!!Staff does not respond when you call the front desk!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petersburg, VA, USA
Aug 19, 2011

NOTHING NICE ABOUT IT!

I WAS CELEBRATING MY SECOND WEDDING ANNIVERSARY AND THE NIGHT WAS A DISASTER, THE ROOMS WERE NON-SMOKING, WHILE I REQUESTED SMOKING, HERE WAS NO COFFEE MAKER IN THE ROOMS,THEY CHARGED $10.00 TO USE A REFRIGERATOR,AND WHEN WE REQUESTED ANYTHING FROM THE STAFF, THEY WERE HOURS RESPONDING!! THERE WAS NO CLOCKS OR ANY OTHER FORM OF TIME IN THE ROOMS. I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED!I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO MY FRIENDS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Keisha from bmore
Business
balrimore, md
Mar 24, 2014

misleading

The hotel the annex @ the chelsea is horrible they are over priced and and the rooms are disgusting nasty I did not even want ro use the the restroom. .. when I originally booked rhis room I was lead to believe that it was the Chelsea but there are to different places. . So when booking make sure its not the annex@ the chelsea..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Apr 6, 2011

Don't do it

OK. So the Chelsea is a nice hotel, but only in the Luxe Part of it. The Annex part is undergoing renovation and the rooms are very small. They over price the rooms considering the size of the annex rooms and the fact that it is still undergoing renovation. the elevators are creepy and the hall ways need better lighting. i say, shame on them for renting the rooms at the price they did. plus u have to pay for parking per day. I was pretty disappointed with my Annex room that I upgraded for $50 per night to a luxe king on the luxe side of the hotel.check in and check out was pretty smooth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Tropicana is a block away. Great for night life and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 21, 2011

Stay here if you like wasting money

We stayed at the Annex at the Chelsea and by looking at the photos they provide you would think it was decent. WRONG! [...] After arriving to our room we noticed not only did we have dirty sheets, but there was no water pressure in the shower and no heat in the room! We were freezing!!! The next day we left the horror of the room to go shopping and upon our arrival, we discovered our room keys no longer worked, on top of that we were stuck inside of their old rustic elevator for almost 10 minutes with no assistance. [...]. I would avoid this hotel at all costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Always stay where you are comfortable and you will spend more time enjoying your trip instead of regretting it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just BG
Business
baltimore, Maryland
May 17, 2014

worst experience ever

The hotel had no Air conditioning in the building but they never told you before checking in. Once I got to my room on the third floor the room was hot and stuffy. No microwave or fridge. The dresser draw was broken. The rooms need to be renovated. Cigarette burns were all over dresser. To accommodate me for having no air in the building they offered me $10 off for valet parking. Needless to say I checked out immediately and received a full refund of $249.00. I don't recommend this place to anyway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HoneyB915
Business
Nyc
Aug 10, 2014

Horrible Getaway

This Hotel Is Disgusting . Its like the Bate Motel. The Rooms Are Horrible My Dresser In My Room Kept Opening The Bathroom Had Mold. The Elevator is Small And Creepy. I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND NO ONE TO THIS MOTEL BECAUSE THIS IS DEFINITELY NOT A HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gjz1
Business
Atlantic city nj
Sep 4, 2014

weekend getaway

Booked a king room pool side, got a king on street side, very noisy. So had to settle for a queen room on pool side. Staff was not too helpful or appologetic & moved all my own luggage down a flight of steps by myself. Queen room AC didnt work well first night, until they fixed it on 2nd day. Quilt on bed was stained & room was dilapidated & old, desk was falling apart. Very bad experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bikejumpr
Business
Pa
Nov 17, 2014

Dirty....

U get what u pay for with the annex.. Upgraded to the hotel side

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top