$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

The Annex at The Chelsea

3 stars
View map of 105 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Annex at The Chelsea

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chelsea Who
Business
Pa
Dec 3, 2012

Chelsea

The overall stay wasn't bad but have stayed at better hotels in AC for a cheaper rate. Maintenance couldn't program or fix our tv but they did waive our valet fee. (Which by the way should be included in the stay.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Panda T
Business
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2013

Good value .

The room was very small and old. other than that everything's fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
emfh
Business
Berwyn, PA
Aug 24, 2013

Cheap hotel, top to bottom

The room we booked was barely large enough to fit the two queen beds, but had not been cleaned well. There was hair in the sink and damp washcloths in the tub. The carpet hasn't been properly vaccuumed. The entire hotel felt grimly, run down, and in a state of barely-maintained decay. We asked to switch rooms, and were given a more palatable suite, one which included a broken TV, leaky, running faucet, and a tub that didnt drain. Windowsills were dusty, and the walls were paper thin. And despite changing rooms because the first was dirty, we were charged for the upgrade. Would rather cancel a vacation than return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Howell NJ
Nov 10, 2010

Not what expected

Let me start by saying I have stayed at the Chelsea before but never in the Anex. When I booked I did not realize where I was put. The room cannot compare to the other side of the hotel. The hall way is dim. The room was small the bathroom was outdated and small. I would never stay on this side again. As I told the manager who tried his best to take care of me. (the other side was sold out). I could have paid $69.00 for a room like this instead of the $170.00 that I paid. The manager gave me free valet $15.00 and free breakfast $20.00. I would stay at this hotel again but never in the ANEX again. Be very careful when booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angelito y Maggita
Business
Maryland
Oct 14, 2009

Do not go with high expectations!

I had low expectations and even after that I was disappointed. The worse would have to have been the sheets with fresh blood on them and the bathroom smell of urine and mold. The area gets very loud at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lindy
Business
Nassau County, New York
Aug 24, 2011

Chelsea Annex

The Chelsea main motel/hotel is nice and give that special attention to your needs. However, the annex is old showing pipes in the ceiling with old elevators and rugs. However, both pools were very nice and they have a restaurant on the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zuki12
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 16, 2014

Weekend in A.C.

Room look like cheap and old motel but not $300 per night (including taxes and valet parking)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 20, 2014

Not what we expected. You don't get what you pay for.

Spent a night here with some friends for my girlfriends birthday. I was intrigued by the beautiful rooms shown in the pictures. I was highly disappointed with the average room we spent the night in. All the pictures and even the google listing showed what we assume was The Chelsea, whereas we unknowingly booked a room at THE ANNEX at The Chelsea. Yes, they are connected by a narrow hallway and apparently are owned and operated as one in the same, however there was a noticeable difference in the quality of the two separate hotels. The wait service of both even wore different uniforms, ours resembled a holiday inn staff whereas the people who checked us in resembled something of the finest 5 star resorts. When we got to our room, there was no fridge, there was not even a coffee pot. Our phone did not work, and when I went to complain about those things they decided the best course of action was TO CALL OUR ROOM. Great plan when our phone does not work. Soon enough (after 4 fruitless efforts to call us) they sent another phone. Also the room description stated we would have iPod docks to use as chargers and for entertainment but there was none in our room. I called and had to haggle with them because they informed us that the iPod docks were restricted to the luxe towers, which apparently get the special treatment. When I demanded they sent one to our room, they obliged, however it was not functioning and it was lacking a power cord. There was not even an ice machine in our wing of the hotel. We brought food expecting a fridge and were disappointed to let it spoil. We had to attempt to keep our food good by placing it on our air conditioner. The air conditioner, which "on" and set to 50 degrees, didn't do much for our food or our own temperatures and we sweat throughout the night. To be fair and honest, the beds were comfortable and the room service was fast and brought us ice and food quickly (although they added an 18% gratuity to all room service orders, standard I suppose, and still expected a cash tip, also standard, I'd guess). And it honestly wasn't as expensive as other room service I'd had before. All in all, we expected to spend very little time in our room over this little trip, so these flaws were less glaring, but I would not recommend this to anyone unless as a very, dead last resort. Much better off staying at the quality inn across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Location was the only thing good about the hotel. Across the street from the tropical and located right on the boardwalk.

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marrryy
Business
Morris County New Jersey
Aug 18, 2014

Ehh

I would probably never stay on this side of the hotel again. When you first enter the lobby, the ambiance is very nice, however was you walk down the hall towards the annex section of the hotel things begin to take a turn for the worst. I would best compare it to a dingy hotel in Seaside. The room was not at all worth the price. The bathroom needs major updating, the towels had stains. The furniture in the room looked beat up. It was just a complete disappointment, based of the pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

near the boardwalk

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marrryy
Business
Morris County New Jersey
Sep 4, 2014

SUCKS

The Annex is disgusting! Room looked nothing like the pictures. The towels and pillow cases had stains. The bathroom is a joke. The walk from the lobby to where the actually rooms are, looks like something out of a horror movie. I would never stay here again !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Complain and get a breakfast credit. Food at restaurant is surprisingly good.

Back to menu Return to top