$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Annex at The Chelsea

3 stars
105 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
92 reviews
Getaway

Overall good experience hotel was nice low key I checked right in there were no issues at all See full review

  • Ottey
  • Oct 20, 2014
hotel survey

Room and customer service was awesome..food was great drinks were perfect dinner was fanstatic See full review

  • Liah3
  • Jul 19, 2014
Budget motel with a pass to high-class amenities

The Annex is the result of four-star hotel The Chelsea taking a Howard Johnson hotel under its wing. Though the luxurious touches of The Chelsea Tower rooms do not extend to its Annex, described by the property as "retro-motel style accommodations," the price point is markedly lower than the main hotel. And guests can partake of the same glamorous lounges, pools, restaurants, beach club and beach service as guests of its more elegant Atlantic City sister next door.

Highlights
  • Outdoor heated saltwater pool and weekday access to seasonal rooftop pool
  • Two restaurants and several nightlife venues
  • Boardwalk access to quickly reach restaurants, casinos and shopping
  • Spa offers massage and body treatments
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Cost-conscious rooms deliver TVs with On-Demand service and iPod docking stations at the bedside. Bathrooms at the Annex at The Chelsea stay true to the retro vibe with original tile and vintage fixtures. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the saltwater pool. Designed as the hotel's social wing, connecting rooms and suites at The Annex offer group-friendly configurations. Order door-to-door food delivery from Teplitzky's, the classic diner downstairs.

Features

Early birds at this surprising Atlantic City motel can rent a private cabana on the beach (available first-come, first serve). Beach service, also first-come first serve, includes towels, lounge chairs and sun umbrellas with private set-up. Weekday guests should check out The Cabana Club at The Annex Chelsea, a seasonal outdoor pool with bar, cabanas and an after-dark social scene. Or, venture out and reach the bustling, Old Havana-themed shops and restaurants of Atlantic City's The Quarter at Tropicana in minutes on foot. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool and cabana area available for private events
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Annex at The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Annex at The Chelsea Rooms

Annex Avenue King
This room has a king bed and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities. This room is Non-Smoking.
Annex Downtown
This room has 2 queen beds and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open on Friday and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for The Annex at The Chelsea

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.9

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tdawg
Wash DC
Aug 16, 2011

awesome hotel

I love the chelsea hotel. Ive stayed there a couple of times and have been pleased each stay. The rooms are comfortable, afforable and the staff is excellent. Only issues I have is that the elevator in the annex barley works.. the staff uses it, so there is a long wait. and there is no coffee maker or microwave in the rooms. Also could use a indoor pool. Other than that, I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Trop is one of the best hangouts in the city. woth shops, places to eat and clubs for different tastes. its just a block away from the chelsea, so its just a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Oct 17, 2010

the gopd, bad and ugly

the valet parking and check in was pleasant with friendly people and fast service. From then it was all downhill. The room was in the annex, 50.00 less expensive than the tower. The rooms and accomodations are like night and day. The bathroom is pink cracked tile from the 1950's, the ceiling cracked from leaks, the toilet ran constantly, the sink dripped constantly, the water in the shower was not hot enough, the air conditioner blew out warm air, the sliders to the deck could barely be pushed open, the neighborhood is scary, noisy all night long from traffic on the street. No coffee. The bed was not bad and there was an iron and hairdryer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petersburg, VA
Aug 11, 2011

The Chelsea Annex in Atlantic City

This hotel was shabby, they did not have coffee makers in the rooms, you had to pay $10.00 to use a refrigerator,you had to stand out on a balcony to smoke, no ash trays,there was no clock in the room to tell you what time it was, and the elevator was broken and I'm handicap. I was so unhappy that I wanted a refund, I tried to reach cheap tickets by phone and was put on hold so long that I just hung up to save my cell phone minutes.They charged to use the internet, so I just took a lost!!!!I would not recommend staying there to anybody!!!Staff does not respond when you call the front desk!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petersburg, VA, USA
Aug 19, 2011

NOTHING NICE ABOUT IT!

I WAS CELEBRATING MY SECOND WEDDING ANNIVERSARY AND THE NIGHT WAS A DISASTER, THE ROOMS WERE NON-SMOKING, WHILE I REQUESTED SMOKING, HERE WAS NO COFFEE MAKER IN THE ROOMS,THEY CHARGED $10.00 TO USE A REFRIGERATOR,AND WHEN WE REQUESTED ANYTHING FROM THE STAFF, THEY WERE HOURS RESPONDING!! THERE WAS NO CLOCKS OR ANY OTHER FORM OF TIME IN THE ROOMS. I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED!I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO MY FRIENDS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kimberlyp
Business
Princeton NJ
Oct 30, 2012

worst experience ever.

I didnt even end up staying at the hotel. I felt very unsafe, it was dirty and the service was not helpful nor understanding. The website is false advertisment and I would NEVER recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DontStay
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 29, 2013

NOT GOOD

Our room had obviously had someone vomit in it the night before or morning of. It reeked of vomit! The front desk staff was rude and not helpful about the situation. They should not have put guests in this room until the situation was resolved. The room in general was also not cleaned very well at all. I have stayed in supposedly lesser quality hotels in AC that were much cleaner! I would never stay here again and wold not recommend this hotel at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Triptobeach
Business
Philly,PA
Jun 27, 2013

Cancel if you booked already

Its Motel, Zero star hotel. Never ever stay if you get this hotel for cheap deal.Book 2 star hotel then booking the Chelsea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
love to laugh
Business
Long Island, NY
Jul 26, 2013

Friends out for fun

Wish I had read reviews first! Very old, and in desperate need of renovations!! Wasn't able to upgrade.We wanted a balcony, but found an inch of water from heavy rain day before. Called desk 3 times, and even went down there to speak to someone in person, but noone ever came , so we had to use all the towels in room, and then go get more!! Pools/bars closed very early, so there was nothing to do there late at night. Coffee shop was expensive. The Chelsea didn't seem like the big deal they advertise either. The only positives, is that they're one of the few hotels with any kind of balcony, but mainly street views, run down chairs, and in our case, a flood, but to my surprise the mattress was very comfortable, and no bugs!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had a superb dinner @ Fin restaurant @ The Tropicana!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunshinebear
Business
New York City
Aug 19, 2013

Worst experience ever! Never coming back!

Worst experience ever! Never coming back! Never ever coming back to this nastiness. Well first off...we checked in on time and when we went into our room, there's was people all ready in there and pretty much settled in! So we went back downstairs and they doubled booked the room. The lady in the front who was handling this had an attitude and was very unprofessional. Like you gave us a room to someone's room! That's a huge violation like we does this always happen? I felt so uncomfortable with the feeling that someone else can just get to our room! She's like go talk her boss and man was he cold and it was like he didn't care at ALL! He talked to us like we were a pest. He gave us a new room on the same floor..oh okay so we went in and it was the darkest room possible with 3 small windows and oh ONE BED for what three girls? I had chosen a 2 bed room like what is this! By this point we were just mad and frustrated. We went back downstairs to tell the guy that the room was wrong! DUH are you expecting three people to sleep in one bed? ridiculous. He was even more annoyed and was trying to find us a room, we had asked for a nicer room for this huge inconvenience, unprofessional ism and for wasting our time! But nope that wasn't an option but he gave us a $30 credit for food and drinks.... Whatever by this point we just didn't care because it was clear customer service was nonexistent in this hotel. When we got to our room it was disgusting..leaks and mold on the wall and ceiling. The paint was peeling off and OH THE FLOOR WAS DAMP...nasty. I felt like I was going to catch something just really grossed out. The room had one small mirror and old everything. It felt like a cheap cheap cheap super cheap hotel but this hotel for one night was a good hundred dollars... I felt like we were better off going to a cheap hotel like the econo lodge next door I bet you it was better quality! The room was just NASTY. The feel of the Chelsea annex was like stepping back into the 50's and 60's into a cheap cheap hotel. The pool was small and the beach club in the "nice" part of the hotel was just DEAD! This was my worst hotel experience ever and I will never come back here, and I advise everyone to please STAY AWAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mslala007
Business
Washington, D.C.
Feb 23, 2014

Disappointed

This room was completely different then what was expected and what was shown in the picture. The hotel looks like something out of hostel. I was very disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Keisha from bmore
Business
balrimore, md
Mar 24, 2014

misleading

The hotel the annex @ the chelsea is horrible they are over priced and and the rooms are disgusting nasty I did not even want ro use the the restroom. .. when I originally booked rhis room I was lead to believe that it was the Chelsea but there are to different places. . So when booking make sure its not the annex@ the chelsea..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top