$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

The Annex at The Chelsea

3 stars
105 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
93 reviews
hotel survey

Room and customer service was awesome..food was great drinks were perfect dinner was fanstatic See full review

  • Liah3
  • Jul 19, 2014
My stay at the Chelsea Annex Hotel

Overall I had a relaxing stay at the.hotel. Staff was friendly and did their best to make sure my... See full review

  • Danger J
  • Aug 31, 2013
Budget motel with a pass to high-class amenities

The Annex is the result of four-star hotel The Chelsea taking a Howard Johnson hotel under its wing. Though the luxurious touches of The Chelsea Tower rooms do not extend to its Annex, described by the property as "retro-motel style accommodations," the price point is markedly lower than the main hotel. And guests can partake of the same glamorous lounges, pools, restaurants, beach club and beach service as guests of its more elegant Atlantic City sister next door.

Highlights
  • Outdoor heated saltwater pool and weekday access to seasonal rooftop pool
  • Two restaurants and several nightlife venues
  • Boardwalk access to quickly reach restaurants, casinos and shopping
  • Spa offers massage and body treatments
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Cost-conscious rooms deliver TVs with On-Demand service and iPod docking stations at the bedside. Bathrooms at the Annex at The Chelsea stay true to the retro vibe with original tile and vintage fixtures. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the saltwater pool. Designed as the hotel's social wing, connecting rooms and suites at The Annex offer group-friendly configurations. Order door-to-door food delivery from Teplitzky's, the classic diner downstairs.

Features

Early birds at this surprising Atlantic City motel can rent a private cabana on the beach (available first-come, first serve). Beach service, also first-come first serve, includes towels, lounge chairs and sun umbrellas with private set-up. Weekday guests should check out The Cabana Club at The Annex Chelsea, a seasonal outdoor pool with bar, cabanas and an after-dark social scene. Or, venture out and reach the bustling, Old Havana-themed shops and restaurants of Atlantic City's The Quarter at Tropicana in minutes on foot. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool and cabana area available for private events
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Annex at The Chelsea Rooms

Annex Avenue King
This room has a king bed and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities. This room is Non-Smoking.
Annex Downtown
This room has 2 queen beds and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Annex at The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open on Friday and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for The Annex at The Chelsea

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 93
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.2
Hotel staff:
2.6
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.6

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
queenlady b
Atlantic city ,nj
Jun 24, 2014

overa pleased

The hotel was more than i expected when i walk in.the only thing i didnt sit well with is the carpet in the room they were smelly n felt wet it was a lil nasty but everything eles was great. Definitely come again there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Tropicana was right across the street great location.

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Christina Ann
Long Island, NY
Apr 29, 2014

worst place ive ever stayed!

I felt like I was staying at a motel. there was a dirty straw on the floor and axe body spray from the previous guests and when we called to have someone come clean.. no one came! the tiles in the shower are broken and falling apart. the dresser drawers aren't even on the tracks. called down and complained 3 times and got nasty attitudes and the only way to switch rooms was to pay $70 plus tax. I would NOT recommend anyone to this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rock 28
atlantic city, NJ
Mar 23, 2014

not the best place

there was a gapping hole where a mini fridge used to be in my room. I called front desk they stated they would bring a mini fridge in. Once they got there, there weren't enough outlets to plug the mini fridge in. The attendant told me I had to pick between light in my room or a mini fridge at that time I had to talk to the manager who straightened that out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tropicana

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kayla1026
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Mar 10, 2014

It was alright. Stayed at the annex.

Pros: great location. Nice hotel lobby very retro! Nice staff. Comfy beds. Cons: Room was not as big as I remembered. Toilet would not flush every time and floor was wet in bathroom when we arrived. The AC in the room was blowing out hot air so we had to open the window. The hallways were smelly. Overall it was fine for a one night stay! Great location right next to the tropicana. We weren't in the room much but I would not stay here if it were for more than a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The shops down by caesers and ballys are great!

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jackiegc
nj
Mar 2, 2014

just okay

The hotel definitely has a nice lobby but the rooms aren't anything special at all..the double rooms are crowded with barely any lighting..but you get what you pay for , at 35$ a night per person not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mslala007
Washington, D.C.
Feb 23, 2014

Disappointed

This room was completely different then what was expected and what was shown in the picture. The hotel looks like something out of hostel. I was very disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RejectReef
Philadelphia
Jan 13, 2014

Good weekend getaway

It was a very nice hotel with a super helpful staff , everything went very smooth. The room was clean and the location was convenient for the type of night me and my friends were planning,being that it was next to the tropicana & around the corner from a liquor store. Enjoyed my time there and will stay there in the future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dpfjunior1
New York, NY
Dec 9, 2013

Guys weekend

The hotel was exactly what we were looking for: a cheap stay close to all of the expensive casinos. It is a little far from everything except the trop and it does not have it own casino which is a downside. But if you get a good deal this is a great hotel to choose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunshinebear
New York City
Aug 19, 2013

Worst experience ever! Never coming back!

Worst experience ever! Never coming back! Never ever coming back to this nastiness. Well first off...we checked in on time and when we went into our room, there's was people all ready in there and pretty much settled in! So we went back downstairs and they doubled booked the room. The lady in the front who was handling this had an attitude and was very unprofessional. Like you gave us a room to someone's room! That's a huge violation like we does this always happen? I felt so uncomfortable with the feeling that someone else can just get to our room! She's like go talk her boss and man was he cold and it was like he didn't care at ALL! He talked to us like we were a pest. He gave us a new room on the same floor..oh okay so we went in and it was the darkest room possible with 3 small windows and oh ONE BED for what three girls? I had chosen a 2 bed room like what is this! By this point we were just mad and frustrated. We went back downstairs to tell the guy that the room was wrong! DUH are you expecting three people to sleep in one bed? ridiculous. He was even more annoyed and was trying to find us a room, we had asked for a nicer room for this huge inconvenience, unprofessional ism and for wasting our time! But nope that wasn't an option but he gave us a $30 credit for food and drinks.... Whatever by this point we just didn't care because it was clear customer service was nonexistent in this hotel. When we got to our room it was disgusting..leaks and mold on the wall and ceiling. The paint was peeling off and OH THE FLOOR WAS DAMP...nasty. I felt like I was going to catch something just really grossed out. The room had one small mirror and old everything. It felt like a cheap cheap cheap super cheap hotel but this hotel for one night was a good hundred dollars... I felt like we were better off going to a cheap hotel like the econo lodge next door I bet you it was better quality! The room was just NASTY. The feel of the Chelsea annex was like stepping back into the 50's and 60's into a cheap cheap hotel. The pool was small and the beach club in the "nice" part of the hotel was just DEAD! This was my worst hotel experience ever and I will never come back here, and I advise everyone to please STAY AWAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
love to laugh
Long Island, NY
Jul 26, 2013

Friends out for fun

Wish I had read reviews first! Very old, and in desperate need of renovations!! Wasn't able to upgrade.We wanted a balcony, but found an inch of water from heavy rain day before. Called desk 3 times, and even went down there to speak to someone in person, but noone ever came , so we had to use all the towels in room, and then go get more!! Pools/bars closed very early, so there was nothing to do there late at night. Coffee shop was expensive. The Chelsea didn't seem like the big deal they advertise either. The only positives, is that they're one of the few hotels with any kind of balcony, but mainly street views, run down chairs, and in our case, a flood, but to my surprise the mattress was very comfortable, and no bugs!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had a superb dinner @ Fin restaurant @ The Tropicana!!

Back to menu Return to top