$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2015 Check-out: Mar 14, 2015

The Annex at The Chelsea

3 stars
View map of 105 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
105 reviews
awesome weekend getaway

great hotel for the price we paid. Me and my girlfriends went to celebrate our friend's birthday.... See full review

  • brunchlover
  • Jan 26, 2015
Great quick getaway at an awesome price

I had to book a room to atlantic city last minute and found this room at an incredible price it's... See full review

  • Ramon L.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Budget motel with a pass to high-class amenities

The Annex is the result of four-star hotel The Chelsea taking a Howard Johnson hotel under its wing. Though the luxurious touches of The Chelsea Tower rooms do not extend to its Annex, described by the property as "retro-motel style accommodations," the price point is markedly lower than the main hotel. And guests can partake of the same glamorous lounges, pools, restaurants, beach club and beach service as guests of its more elegant Atlantic City sister next door.

Highlights
  • Outdoor heated saltwater pool and weekday access to seasonal rooftop pool
  • Two restaurants and several nightlife venues
  • Boardwalk access to quickly reach restaurants, casinos and shopping
  • Spa offers massage and body treatments
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Cost-conscious rooms deliver TVs with On-Demand service and iPod docking stations at the bedside. Bathrooms at the Annex at The Chelsea stay true to the retro vibe with original tile and vintage fixtures. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the saltwater pool. Designed as the hotel's social wing, connecting rooms and suites at The Annex offer group-friendly configurations. Order door-to-door food delivery from Teplitzky's, the classic diner downstairs.

Features

Early birds at this surprising Atlantic City motel can rent a private cabana on the beach (available first-come, first serve). Beach service, also first-come first serve, includes towels, lounge chairs and sun umbrellas with private set-up. Weekday guests should check out The Cabana Club at The Annex Chelsea, a seasonal outdoor pool with bar, cabanas and an after-dark social scene. Or, venture out and reach the bustling, Old Havana-themed shops and restaurants of Atlantic City's The Quarter at Tropicana in minutes on foot. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool and cabana area available for private events
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Annex at The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

The Annex at The Chelsea Rooms

Annex Avenue King
This room has a king bed and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities. This room is Non-Smoking.
Annex Downtown
This room has 2 queen beds and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Dining on the 5th
An upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open on Friday and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for The Annex at The Chelsea

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 105
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.9

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brunchlover
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

awesome weekend getaway

great hotel for the price we paid. Me and my girlfriends went to celebrate our friend's birthday. We stayed only one night. Our friends stayed at Tropicana, right next door. It was raining, but it was such a short walk we didn't even get wet. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. I also like the fact that they have valet parking for $15 , awesome. We had breakfast downstairs before we left the hotel. I had cheese-steak omelette and my friend had stuffed french toast. Amazing, they both were out of this world. I highly recommend this hotel if you are not looking to spend $100 plus for the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Haven nightclub at Golden Nugget. Fancy club, we had bottle service, had a great time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clark Kent
Business
Manchester
Dec 30, 2014

Just needed a place to sleep

At 25 and ballin on a budget status this hotel served my needs, nothing special but good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ramon L.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Great quick getaway at an awesome price

I had to book a room to atlantic city last minute and found this room at an incredible price it's close to everything and the staff and service Is amazing I would def go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a good time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jemina r.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

a night in ac!

It wasn't clean at all!! Floors were stained room carpet needed cleaning! The location was great because the tropicana is across the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniel
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

One night stay

Room was clean. Check in was quick. Cheap alternative to stay in AC and be right next to the boardwalk and casinos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NiiNii
Business
NY, NY
Nov 24, 2014

Convient and Safe

The location of the hotel was perfect, however, they only offer valet parking for 15 dollars a day. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly--however the furniture and amenities in the room were very outdated and there were no mirrors (except for the one over the kick) Overall a good expereience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Tropicana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KAKAM
Business
Castro valley, CA
Nov 17, 2014

Casino trip

The room is good and only problem I had is the bathroom. Bathtub drain stopper was missing and looks bad. The price was reasonable compare to other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rocket29
Business
Hawthorne, NJ
Nov 10, 2014

Not good

Nice lobby, but the Annex rooms leave a lot to be desired. I paid $150 which was a lot less than the casino hotels since it was a busy Saturday but I would never stay there again. Rooms had molding coming off, scuffed walls and doors. Not for me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ottey
Business
Atlantic city
Oct 20, 2014

Getaway

Overall good experience hotel was nice low key I checked right in there were no issues at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandylee414
Business
Nyc
Aug 26, 2014

Perfect getaway

Had a great time, great area and room was clean. I would definitely come back and stay more days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top