$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Annex at The Chelsea

3 stars
105 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
91 reviews
Getaway

Overall good experience hotel was nice low key I checked right in there were no issues at all See full review

  • Ottey
  • Oct 20, 2014
hotel survey

Room and customer service was awesome..food was great drinks were perfect dinner was fanstatic See full review

  • Liah3
  • Jul 19, 2014
Budget motel with a pass to high-class amenities

The Annex is the result of four-star hotel The Chelsea taking a Howard Johnson hotel under its wing. Though the luxurious touches of The Chelsea Tower rooms do not extend to its Annex, described by the property as "retro-motel style accommodations," the price point is markedly lower than the main hotel. And guests can partake of the same glamorous lounges, pools, restaurants, beach club and beach service as guests of its more elegant Atlantic City sister next door.

Highlights
  • Outdoor heated saltwater pool and weekday access to seasonal rooftop pool
  • Two restaurants and several nightlife venues
  • Boardwalk access to quickly reach restaurants, casinos and shopping
  • Spa offers massage and body treatments
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Cost-conscious rooms deliver TVs with On-Demand service and iPod docking stations at the bedside. Bathrooms at the Annex at The Chelsea stay true to the retro vibe with original tile and vintage fixtures. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the saltwater pool. Designed as the hotel's social wing, connecting rooms and suites at The Annex offer group-friendly configurations. Order door-to-door food delivery from Teplitzky's, the classic diner downstairs.

Features

Early birds at this surprising Atlantic City motel can rent a private cabana on the beach (available first-come, first serve). Beach service, also first-come first serve, includes towels, lounge chairs and sun umbrellas with private set-up. Weekday guests should check out The Cabana Club at The Annex Chelsea, a seasonal outdoor pool with bar, cabanas and an after-dark social scene. Or, venture out and reach the bustling, Old Havana-themed shops and restaurants of Atlantic City's The Quarter at Tropicana in minutes on foot. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool and cabana area available for private events
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Annex at The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Annex at The Chelsea Rooms

Annex Avenue King
This room has a king bed and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities. This room is Non-Smoking.
Annex Downtown
This room has 2 queen beds and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open on Friday and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for The Annex at The Chelsea

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.9

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allison J.
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 16, 2014

One night vacation

The location was great on the boardwalk and had the best price compared to the other casinos in the area. It was clean but did not include a fridge which was a bummer. I would recommend for a one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Howell, NJ
Oct 19, 2009

The Chelsea Annex is a great deal

The Chelsea Annex is not as nice as the regular Chelsea, but it's a great deal. The rooms are older and the view is bad, but who cares when you are in AC. The room was very clean (which is the most important thing to me) and had that swanky vibe that the Chelsea has. They didn't renovate the rooms completely, but there is new carpet, paint, and accessories which cleans it up and makes it cool.The ice machine is almost impossible to find, so bring your own bag. I would definitely recommend staying at the Annex if you are on a budget. One negative point is that they charge a $125 to your credit card when you check in for damages which will come off your card when you check out, BUT if you use a debit card, it can take up to 2 weeks to get back into your account. They didn't tell me not to use a debit card which was not cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chelsea charges a $10-$15 parking fee. If you park in the Tropicana and get a gambling card (which is free), you only pay $5 to park and walk across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snowflake76
Business
jersey city nj
Jun 9, 2010

retro with some problems

when we checked in the upgraded us from the ANNEX to the other section. But when we checked in day 1, the fridge was HOTT did not work. complained once went off for a walk came back nothing done. complained again and they offered us another room smaller. Then mon night to tue morning the room was hot the AC was not set so we were waking up sweating half the night taking showers. complained and they said they were re setting the AC'S . But why were we not notifyed with a call or a update on the TV. The Decor in the room was nice . and EXCELLENT bedding like sleeping on a cloud . Except for unpacking and packing again,the hott fridge and the hot AC is wa just OK will i go back I really don't know

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

it is all the way at the opposite end of the boardwalk.. Near the TROPICANA tht is about it . the rest is a long walk. wear comfortable shoes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tdo02
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Nov 10, 2011

good for one and for the price

You get what you pay for. There's nothing special for a balcony on the Annex side. The room was nicely decorated however could have been cleaner. For someone who has allergies- DUST is not our best friend! The bathroom was clean but could use a lot of updating. The room was very humid and the air conditioner could not work fast nor hard enough to get rid of the dampness in the room. Fortunately we were only staying for one night. Please put in a dehumidifier for each room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen jen 54
Business
Brooklyn
Mar 18, 2013

Atlantic city getaway

Great time and very nice . Food was great and very helpful close to hotels n casino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Long Island Kelli
Business
Long Island
Mar 25, 2013

Not Bad Overall

The hotel overall was not too bad. The only pool we could swim in without paying for spa access was an outdoor pool which was annoying. However unlike our friends who stayed at Harrahs we enjoyed being on the boardwalk. We wouldn't stay here again because I think it would be worth it to pay a little more to be at a casino or at least a place with an indoor pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maria's Luncheonette on Atlantic Ave is a short walk away and has good breakfast food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manny O
Business
Brooklyn
Apr 22, 2013

not the best experience

great location but hotel lacks. in house diner closed at 9 which was an extreme inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Topcat1234
Business
Edison, NJ
Sep 9, 2013

Not bad, not great

The hotel was about what I expected for the price. The room was older, there was no clock radio. some of the lights didn't work. The curtain open to a wall with small windows at the top. But the room was clean and it was quiet at night. If you are looking for a cheap place to sleep less than a block from the boardwalk, this will work for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tara Marie
Business
New York
Sep 17, 2013

Very Nice but Very Disappointed

When I looked up the photos online the hotel was all lit up & really cool looking. It reminded me of a real nice hotel in Manhattan. But when we got there for my boyfriends birthday, half of the lights were out and the "L" in Chelasea wasn't lit up either! I over looked it & when we got up to the room, the "balcony veiw" was not a balcony- Nor a veiw at all. Our veiw was of the apartment building across the street rather then the boardwalk view I payed alot extra for!!! I had also ordered a bottle of champagne that I was OVERCHARGED for. I was told over the phone it was one price and then it was MORE than Doubled at check out & the only explanation was "oh, ya that was the wrong price! Sorry!" & they STILL deducted it from the security deposit rather then charge the ORIGINAL price they admitted to giving over the phone ... Besides that, the hotel is nice & clean- has a beautiful patio with great pool (which closes at 7pm!) . That's really all I know because we stayed at the TROPICANA next door most of the whole trip because we were treated more like their customers then at own own hotel. There also is no casino in the Chelsea which I was not aware of either, along with a nightclub that is featured on the website. If you want a quiet getaway and don't care much about feeling like your away on vacation then I guess this is an okay place. But this was NOT what I wanted for my boyfriends birthday. I think paying more money is worth it to be satisfyed especially for a special occasion. Just make sure you do your homework when staying at the Chelsea is you do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

GO HAVE DRINKS AT WET WILLY'S NEXT DOOR AT THE TROPICANA!!!! GREAT EXPERIENCE, AMAZING DRINKS & SO WORTH THE PRICE (which is pretty cheap!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dpfjunior1
Business
New York, NY
Dec 9, 2013

Guys weekend

The hotel was exactly what we were looking for: a cheap stay close to all of the expensive casinos. It is a little far from everything except the trop and it does not have it own casino which is a downside. But if you get a good deal this is a great hotel to choose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top