$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Annex at The Chelsea

3 stars
View map of 105 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Annex at The Chelsea

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandylee414
Business
Nyc
Aug 26, 2014

Perfect getaway

Had a great time, great area and room was clean. I would definitely come back and stay more days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EvelynaM
Business
Queens, NY
Aug 22, 2014

Quick weekend getaway

Nice Art Deco style hotel. Very convenient to boardwalk. Staff very courteous and helpful. Hotel needs some updating in the Annex.. Especially the carpeting. We are at. Other restaurants in the hotel and bother were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Both restaurants in the hotel had amazing food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marrryy
Business
Morris County New Jersey
Aug 18, 2014

Ehh

I would probably never stay on this side of the hotel again. When you first enter the lobby, the ambiance is very nice, however was you walk down the hall towards the annex section of the hotel things begin to take a turn for the worst. I would best compare it to a dingy hotel in Seaside. The room was not at all worth the price. The bathroom needs major updating, the towels had stains. The furniture in the room looked beat up. It was just a complete disappointment, based of the pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

near the boardwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HoneyB915
Business
Nyc
Aug 10, 2014

Horrible Getaway

This Hotel Is Disgusting . Its like the Bate Motel. The Rooms Are Horrible My Dresser In My Room Kept Opening The Bathroom Had Mold. The Elevator is Small And Creepy. I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND NO ONE TO THIS MOTEL BECAUSE THIS IS DEFINITELY NOT A HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jesmitty
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 5, 2014

Average Plus

First room was awful. Three rooms were shoved in a back corner, and we were the middle room. The room in the corner/corner had an adjoining door to our room so you could hear every single little thing that was happening... talking, music, people coming/going. Stuck around for about an hour, being woken up multiple times. Changed rooms without a problem. Next room was great. Only next to one other room and then the staircase which no one ever used. Staff were friendly. Hotel was busy. The lobby is packed with 20-something's going out late night, probably between 9pm until whenever they disperse. Pay for your parking. Self park is $10 about a block away, offered by an outside vendor. Unload first and then go park. We valet parked. $15 checkin to checkout, come and go as you please. We hardly ever left, we just walked everywhere. Hotel is about one block, not even, from the beach. Comfort/Restroom station located right there as you enter the boardwalk from hotel to beach. This was nice even though it rained most of our stay. Last day was sunny so it was nice to get there and get some sunshine and beach time before departing. Elevator broke the day before our last stay. It happened probably around 10pm (ish). Every 40 seconds three dings. We called the front desk and they were waiting on the vendor to arrive to fix it. Stopped shortly thereafter, or we stopped paying attention. But worth the note regardless. Has other amenities that we did not use (diner on site, spa/gym on site, limo/bus service, etc.) Diner didn't smell that great when we exited the elevator but we were hung up on Country Kitchen and went there every morning for breakfast/brunch. Good stuff. I recommend that spot. Went to the boardwalk for the cheaper massages, and I forgot my gym shoes so couldn't do that. Boardwalk is less than a block away so we didn't utilize the transportation services. Also available is a small pool area. Again, rain almost our whole stay so we didn't use that. The spa has a jacuzzi and steam room package for $15 to use all day. Might have been worth it. All in all, a fairly average stay with some minor perks (hence the "average plus"). I would stay at this hotel again, IF I ever venture to AC again. AC isn't my type of place to want to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time Atlantic City
Business
Frederick MD
Jul 24, 2014

Wasn't bad

The location is great and the valet is awesome. The room was clean but smelled musty. (the annex side) the hallways were outdated and the elevator was creepy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 20, 2014

Not what we expected. You don't get what you pay for.

Spent a night here with some friends for my girlfriends birthday. I was intrigued by the beautiful rooms shown in the pictures. I was highly disappointed with the average room we spent the night in. All the pictures and even the google listing showed what we assume was The Chelsea, whereas we unknowingly booked a room at THE ANNEX at The Chelsea. Yes, they are connected by a narrow hallway and apparently are owned and operated as one in the same, however there was a noticeable difference in the quality of the two separate hotels. The wait service of both even wore different uniforms, ours resembled a holiday inn staff whereas the people who checked us in resembled something of the finest 5 star resorts. When we got to our room, there was no fridge, there was not even a coffee pot. Our phone did not work, and when I went to complain about those things they decided the best course of action was TO CALL OUR ROOM. Great plan when our phone does not work. Soon enough (after 4 fruitless efforts to call us) they sent another phone. Also the room description stated we would have iPod docks to use as chargers and for entertainment but there was none in our room. I called and had to haggle with them because they informed us that the iPod docks were restricted to the luxe towers, which apparently get the special treatment. When I demanded they sent one to our room, they obliged, however it was not functioning and it was lacking a power cord. There was not even an ice machine in our wing of the hotel. We brought food expecting a fridge and were disappointed to let it spoil. We had to attempt to keep our food good by placing it on our air conditioner. The air conditioner, which "on" and set to 50 degrees, didn't do much for our food or our own temperatures and we sweat throughout the night. To be fair and honest, the beds were comfortable and the room service was fast and brought us ice and food quickly (although they added an 18% gratuity to all room service orders, standard I suppose, and still expected a cash tip, also standard, I'd guess). And it honestly wasn't as expensive as other room service I'd had before. All in all, we expected to spend very little time in our room over this little trip, so these flaws were less glaring, but I would not recommend this to anyone unless as a very, dead last resort. Much better off staying at the quality inn across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Location was the only thing good about the hotel. Across the street from the tropical and located right on the boardwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cold World
Business
Atlantic city, nj
Jul 19, 2014

What else could go wrong

The room was equivalent to a motel 6. Nothing worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liah3
Business
new jersey
Jul 19, 2014

hotel survey

Room and customer service was awesome..food was great drinks were perfect dinner was fanstatic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zuki12
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 16, 2014

Weekend in A.C.

Room look like cheap and old motel but not $300 per night (including taxes and valet parking)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top