$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

The Annex at The Chelsea

3 stars
105 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
75 reviews
hotel survey

Room and customer service was awesome..food was great drinks were perfect dinner was fanstatic See full review

  • Liah3
  • Jul 19, 2014
My stay at the Chelsea Annex Hotel

Overall I had a relaxing stay at the.hotel. Staff was friendly and did their best to make sure my... See full review

  • Danger J
  • Aug 31, 2013
Budget motel with a pass to high-class amenities

The Annex is the result of four-star hotel The Chelsea taking a Howard Johnson hotel under its wing. Though the luxurious touches of The Chelsea Tower rooms do not extend to its Annex, described by the property as "retro-motel style accommodations," the price point is markedly lower than the main hotel. And guests can partake of the same glamorous lounges, pools, restaurants, beach club and beach service as guests of its more elegant Atlantic City sister next door.

Highlights
  • Outdoor heated saltwater pool and weekday access to seasonal rooftop pool
  • Two restaurants and several nightlife venues
  • Boardwalk access to quickly reach restaurants, casinos and shopping
  • Spa offers massage and body treatments
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Cost-conscious rooms deliver TVs with On-Demand service and iPod docking stations at the bedside. Bathrooms at the Annex at The Chelsea stay true to the retro vibe with original tile and vintage fixtures. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the saltwater pool. Designed as the hotel's social wing, connecting rooms and suites at The Annex offer group-friendly configurations. Order door-to-door food delivery from Teplitzky's, the classic diner downstairs.

Features

Early birds at this surprising Atlantic City motel can rent a private cabana on the beach (available first-come, first serve). Beach service, also first-come first serve, includes towels, lounge chairs and sun umbrellas with private set-up. Weekday guests should check out The Cabana Club at The Annex Chelsea, a seasonal outdoor pool with bar, cabanas and an after-dark social scene. Or, venture out and reach the bustling, Old Havana-themed shops and restaurants of Atlantic City's The Quarter at Tropicana in minutes on foot. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool and cabana area available for private events
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Annex at The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Annex at The Chelsea Rooms

Annex Avenue King
This room has a king bed and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities. This room is Non-Smoking.
Annex Downtown
This room has 2 queen beds and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open on Friday and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Annex at The Chelsea

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff orbitz987
Ho-Ho-Kus, NJ, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Great getaway

Very nice atmosphere and hotel. Conveniently located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 26, 2010

Great location for the price

Great location for the price, right on the boardwalk and only a short walk (less than 20 minutes or so) to either the Outlets or to any of the casinos). Nicely themed decorations and layout. Loved the rooftop pool, though the drinks at the poolbar were expensive. The restaurant in the lobby has tasty and affordable food for breakfast. The rooms were relatively clean. Service was sometimes lacking when we needed something for the room. I did not know that there was valet parking prior to booking, which wasn't a problem in itself (though I hate it when other people drive my car!), but we had to pay for parking in addition to our room fees!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Outlets are less than 20 minutes walk and there are several affordable restuarants there as well.

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sher007
Lancaster,PA
Apr 12, 2010

Great location and decor!

Went to AC for girls weekend and got 2 rooms. Front staff was able to get us adjoining rooms. They offer free valet parking and it's $10 to park which you pay at checkout. Rooms were nice but could have used more mirrors-we were all squished in front of the bathroom mirror trying to get ready. Shower looked out-dated. If you need a cab they are always out front so you dont need to call for one. They put a $125/per room hold on your creditcard for incidentals-if you use a debitcard it holds the $$ for 2wks so I suggest using a creditcard. We went to Harrah's Pool After Dark Club which was a blast! It was a short taxi ride away. Overall Great hotel for the price and location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is right on boardwalk next to Tropicanna Casino.

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 18, 2011

Very Unpleasant Check In Experience

I had very annoying experience checking into the Chelsea Hotel. The hotel did not have my reservation in their system when I arrived, and, though I showed them a printed confirmation [...], they would not check me in, and required me to call [...], and request that they re-send my reservation. I did so, returned to the desk, and was told that the hotel still had not received the reservation, but, after persuading them, they did finally check me in. The whole process took more than half an hour. I was very annoyed that both the Chelsea Hotel [...] put the problem that they created back on me, and wasted my time. Fortunately, after a rocky start, I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is lovely, and well located, and worth a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ValRAf
New York
Jun 15, 2014

Very affordable and friendly staff

Close to boardwalk and Casinos , I had a wonderful time and stay at the Chealsea the hotel looks very modern , and the decor are beautiful, but must appealing is the price very affordable ✌️

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
queenlady b
Atlantic city ,nj
Jun 24, 2014

overa pleased

The hotel was more than i expected when i walk in.the only thing i didnt sit well with is the carpet in the room they were smelly n felt wet it was a lil nasty but everything eles was great. Definitely come again there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Tropicana was right across the street great location.

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nana13
Union City, nj
Jul 8, 2014

Chelsea Annex

I wish there was a little refrigerator or something to keep our things in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rlcesq
Easton, pa
Jan 27, 2014

Chelsea in AC

Overall the experience was good. We had to stay on a Friday and Saturday night so that drove the price of the room up but I did get a good deal.. It is one of the last hotel south on the boardwalk so it is a good walk to the heart of the entertainment area except it is next to the one major casino that is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

use affordable public transportation as other valet locations will charge high fee just to leave car at another casino for a few hours.

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jackiegc
nj
Mar 2, 2014

just okay

The hotel definitely has a nice lobby but the rooms aren't anything special at all..the double rooms are crowded with barely any lighting..but you get what you pay for , at 35$ a night per person not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Howell, NJ
Oct 19, 2009

The Chelsea Annex is a great deal

The Chelsea Annex is not as nice as the regular Chelsea, but it's a great deal. The rooms are older and the view is bad, but who cares when you are in AC. The room was very clean (which is the most important thing to me) and had that swanky vibe that the Chelsea has. They didn't renovate the rooms completely, but there is new carpet, paint, and accessories which cleans it up and makes it cool.The ice machine is almost impossible to find, so bring your own bag. I would definitely recommend staying at the Annex if you are on a budget. One negative point is that they charge a $125 to your credit card when you check in for damages which will come off your card when you check out, BUT if you use a debit card, it can take up to 2 weeks to get back into your account. They didn't tell me not to use a debit card which was not cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chelsea charges a $10-$15 parking fee. If you park in the Tropicana and get a gambling card (which is free), you only pay $5 to park and walk across the street.

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snowflake76
jersey city nj
Jun 9, 2010

retro with some problems

when we checked in the upgraded us from the ANNEX to the other section. But when we checked in day 1, the fridge was HOTT did not work. complained once went off for a walk came back nothing done. complained again and they offered us another room smaller. Then mon night to tue morning the room was hot the AC was not set so we were waking up sweating half the night taking showers. complained and they said they were re setting the AC'S . But why were we not notifyed with a call or a update on the TV. The Decor in the room was nice . and EXCELLENT bedding like sleeping on a cloud . Except for unpacking and packing again,the hott fridge and the hot AC is wa just OK will i go back I really don't know

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

it is all the way at the opposite end of the boardwalk.. Near the TROPICANA tht is about it . the rest is a long walk. wear comfortable shoes.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search