$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Annex at The Chelsea

3 stars
105 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
90 reviews
Getaway

Overall good experience hotel was nice low key I checked right in there were no issues at all See full review

  • Ottey
  • Oct 20, 2014
hotel survey

Room and customer service was awesome..food was great drinks were perfect dinner was fanstatic See full review

  • Liah3
  • Jul 19, 2014
Budget motel with a pass to high-class amenities

The Annex is the result of four-star hotel The Chelsea taking a Howard Johnson hotel under its wing. Though the luxurious touches of The Chelsea Tower rooms do not extend to its Annex, described by the property as "retro-motel style accommodations," the price point is markedly lower than the main hotel. And guests can partake of the same glamorous lounges, pools, restaurants, beach club and beach service as guests of its more elegant Atlantic City sister next door.

Highlights
  • Outdoor heated saltwater pool and weekday access to seasonal rooftop pool
  • Two restaurants and several nightlife venues
  • Boardwalk access to quickly reach restaurants, casinos and shopping
  • Spa offers massage and body treatments
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Cost-conscious rooms deliver TVs with On-Demand service and iPod docking stations at the bedside. Bathrooms at the Annex at The Chelsea stay true to the retro vibe with original tile and vintage fixtures. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the saltwater pool. Designed as the hotel's social wing, connecting rooms and suites at The Annex offer group-friendly configurations. Order door-to-door food delivery from Teplitzky's, the classic diner downstairs.

Features

Early birds at this surprising Atlantic City motel can rent a private cabana on the beach (available first-come, first serve). Beach service, also first-come first serve, includes towels, lounge chairs and sun umbrellas with private set-up. Weekday guests should check out The Cabana Club at The Annex Chelsea, a seasonal outdoor pool with bar, cabanas and an after-dark social scene. Or, venture out and reach the bustling, Old Havana-themed shops and restaurants of Atlantic City's The Quarter at Tropicana in minutes on foot. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool and cabana area available for private events
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Annex at The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Annex at The Chelsea Rooms

Annex Avenue King
This room has a king bed and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities. This room is Non-Smoking.
Annex Downtown
This room has 2 queen beds and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open on Friday and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for The Annex at The Chelsea

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.9

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff orbitz987
Ho-Ho-Kus, NJ, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Great getaway

Very nice atmosphere and hotel. Conveniently located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 26, 2010

Great location for the price

Great location for the price, right on the boardwalk and only a short walk (less than 20 minutes or so) to either the Outlets or to any of the casinos). Nicely themed decorations and layout. Loved the rooftop pool, though the drinks at the poolbar were expensive. The restaurant in the lobby has tasty and affordable food for breakfast. The rooms were relatively clean. Service was sometimes lacking when we needed something for the room. I did not know that there was valet parking prior to booking, which wasn't a problem in itself (though I hate it when other people drive my car!), but we had to pay for parking in addition to our room fees!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Outlets are less than 20 minutes walk and there are several affordable restuarants there as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sher007
Business
Lancaster,PA
Apr 12, 2010

Great location and decor!

Went to AC for girls weekend and got 2 rooms. Front staff was able to get us adjoining rooms. They offer free valet parking and it's $10 to park which you pay at checkout. Rooms were nice but could have used more mirrors-we were all squished in front of the bathroom mirror trying to get ready. Shower looked out-dated. If you need a cab they are always out front so you dont need to call for one. They put a $125/per room hold on your creditcard for incidentals-if you use a debitcard it holds the $$ for 2wks so I suggest using a creditcard. We went to Harrah's Pool After Dark Club which was a blast! It was a short taxi ride away. Overall Great hotel for the price and location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is right on boardwalk next to Tropicanna Casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 18, 2011

Very Unpleasant Check In Experience

I had very annoying experience checking into the Chelsea Hotel. The hotel did not have my reservation in their system when I arrived, and, though I showed them a printed confirmation [...], they would not check me in, and required me to call [...], and request that they re-send my reservation. I did so, returned to the desk, and was told that the hotel still had not received the reservation, but, after persuading them, they did finally check me in. The whole process took more than half an hour. I was very annoyed that both the Chelsea Hotel [...] put the problem that they created back on me, and wasted my time. Fortunately, after a rocky start, I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is lovely, and well located, and worth a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ValRAf
Business
New York
Jun 15, 2014

Very affordable and friendly staff

Close to boardwalk and Casinos , I had a wonderful time and stay at the Chealsea the hotel looks very modern , and the decor are beautiful, but must appealing is the price very affordable ✌️

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
queenlady b
Business
Atlantic city ,nj
Jun 24, 2014

overa pleased

The hotel was more than i expected when i walk in.the only thing i didnt sit well with is the carpet in the room they were smelly n felt wet it was a lil nasty but everything eles was great. Definitely come again there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Tropicana was right across the street great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nana13
Business
Union City, nj
Jul 8, 2014

Chelsea Annex

I wish there was a little refrigerator or something to keep our things in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandylee414
Business
Nyc
Aug 26, 2014

Perfect getaway

Had a great time, great area and room was clean. I would definitely come back and stay more days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephone
Business
Staten Island, New York
Sep 21, 2014

Last minute gateway

The room was great for the price and the king size bed was wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HD82
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 24, 2014

Very nice hotel but watch out for extra addon charges

First up, the hotel is very neat and room was super clean. Their bathrooms are one of the best! - I just love their standup shower. The sheets and towels are super clean. Little gotchas: * The only parking (as much as I understand) they have is valet parking and they charge you $15 for that (plus gratuity for your valet driver) * They sometimes have complimentary bagels (on slow days), but normally they have a full blown break fast menu for 9.99 * Their mini-bar in the room is so well stocked but expensive (I love mini-bars in the room and like indulge myself - and this may get expensive) * Finally, this may just be an administrative thing that they double charged me for the things that I used in my mini-bar for which I had to call-in and reverse the second charge. Overall, despite their mess-up, I would still use stay at Chelsea the next time, and recommend it..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss YVR
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Oct 22, 2014

First Time at the Annex

Easter long weekend, I had stayed at The Chelsea. Had I written a review, it would not have been positive. I decided to try this property again, but opted to stay at the Chelsea Annex for two nights. Upon arriving in Atlantic City, we stopped by the front desk of the hotel, to see if they would hold our bags until we could check in. We were VERY PLEASED to hear the front desk person say she would check to see if our room was available, and if so, we could have our room early. The room was ready so we were allowed to check in earlier. This was wonderful! The only improvement I would suggest, is to have a mini fridge in each room. Other than that, the staff was friendly & helpful, our experience at the spa was great & we enjoyed our breakfast at Teplitsky's both mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top