$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

The Annex at The Chelsea

3 stars
105 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
91 reviews
hotel survey

Room and customer service was awesome..food was great drinks were perfect dinner was fanstatic See full review

  • Liah3
  • Jul 19, 2014
My stay at the Chelsea Annex Hotel

Overall I had a relaxing stay at the.hotel. Staff was friendly and did their best to make sure my... See full review

  • Danger J
  • Aug 31, 2013
Budget motel with a pass to high-class amenities

The Annex is the result of four-star hotel The Chelsea taking a Howard Johnson hotel under its wing. Though the luxurious touches of The Chelsea Tower rooms do not extend to its Annex, described by the property as "retro-motel style accommodations," the price point is markedly lower than the main hotel. And guests can partake of the same glamorous lounges, pools, restaurants, beach club and beach service as guests of its more elegant Atlantic City sister next door.

Highlights
  • Outdoor heated saltwater pool and weekday access to seasonal rooftop pool
  • Two restaurants and several nightlife venues
  • Boardwalk access to quickly reach restaurants, casinos and shopping
  • Spa offers massage and body treatments
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Cost-conscious rooms deliver TVs with On-Demand service and iPod docking stations at the bedside. Bathrooms at the Annex at The Chelsea stay true to the retro vibe with original tile and vintage fixtures. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the saltwater pool. Designed as the hotel's social wing, connecting rooms and suites at The Annex offer group-friendly configurations. Order door-to-door food delivery from Teplitzky's, the classic diner downstairs.

Features

Early birds at this surprising Atlantic City motel can rent a private cabana on the beach (available first-come, first serve). Beach service, also first-come first serve, includes towels, lounge chairs and sun umbrellas with private set-up. Weekday guests should check out The Cabana Club at The Annex Chelsea, a seasonal outdoor pool with bar, cabanas and an after-dark social scene. Or, venture out and reach the bustling, Old Havana-themed shops and restaurants of Atlantic City's The Quarter at Tropicana in minutes on foot. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool and cabana area available for private events
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Annex at The Chelsea Rooms

Annex Avenue King
This room has a king bed and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities. This room is Non-Smoking.
Annex Downtown
This room has 2 queen beds and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Annex at The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open on Friday and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for The Annex at The Chelsea

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.1

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tdawg
Wash DC
Aug 16, 2011

awesome hotel

I love the chelsea hotel. Ive stayed there a couple of times and have been pleased each stay. The rooms are comfortable, afforable and the staff is excellent. Only issues I have is that the elevator in the annex barley works.. the staff uses it, so there is a long wait. and there is no coffee maker or microwave in the rooms. Also could use a indoor pool. Other than that, I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Trop is one of the best hangouts in the city. woth shops, places to eat and clubs for different tastes. its just a block away from the chelsea, so its just a short walk.

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
secondhandnana
poconos
Jul 9, 2013

Never dissapointed stayed here 6 times both at the chelsea and the annex.

We have stayed at the Annex several times and for 50.00 a night, a king size comfortable bed with a balcony overlooking the small salt water pool works for us. I also appreciate the fact that this is a non smoking hotel, in fact, I saw the manager place a room cleaning fee of $250.00 that was smoked in on a persons charge card when the staff reported the room had been smoked in. They advertized a refrigerator in the special rate and I called to make sure it would be available. They offered to supply one for 10 a day and I reminded them their ad said one was in the room. We found 2 refrigerators in our room when we checked in. Now the rooms and hallways certainly could benefit from new carpet, lighting, paint and furniture that matches. But for the amenities of having lounge chairs, towels and umbrellas, set up for us on the beach along with reasonable prices of 50.00 works for us. All the staff we dealt with met us with a smile on their face and a willingness to assist us. My advise is if you are looking for high end accommodations, pay high end prices. We'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 26, 2010

Great location for the price

Great location for the price, right on the boardwalk and only a short walk (less than 20 minutes or so) to either the Outlets or to any of the casinos). Nicely themed decorations and layout. Loved the rooftop pool, though the drinks at the poolbar were expensive. The restaurant in the lobby has tasty and affordable food for breakfast. The rooms were relatively clean. Service was sometimes lacking when we needed something for the room. I did not know that there was valet parking prior to booking, which wasn't a problem in itself (though I hate it when other people drive my car!), but we had to pay for parking in addition to our room fees!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Outlets are less than 20 minutes walk and there are several affordable restuarants there as well.

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 18, 2011

Very Unpleasant Check In Experience

I had very annoying experience checking into the Chelsea Hotel. The hotel did not have my reservation in their system when I arrived, and, though I showed them a printed confirmation [...], they would not check me in, and required me to call [...], and request that they re-send my reservation. I did so, returned to the desk, and was told that the hotel still had not received the reservation, but, after persuading them, they did finally check me in. The whole process took more than half an hour. I was very annoyed that both the Chelsea Hotel [...] put the problem that they created back on me, and wasted my time. Fortunately, after a rocky start, I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is lovely, and well located, and worth a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BETHDPOGI
NY
May 12, 2013

Good stay

Stay in this hotel is quite good because the place is near the boardwalk. Room is good except that ther's no small ref where you can find it in any other hotel and also for the faulty cold shower handle which don't turn on the cold water. I called up and complain about this and after a few minutes the maintenance came and fix it. I wished that they have fix it before another will come in. Overall place is good if you are on a budget and its clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Waterfront Buffet for Dining and for Lunch...Borgata Buffet which is cheap about $20 pp

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore,MD
Oct 12, 2009

Nice for the price!

It was great!!!!!!!!.. the location of The Chealsea hotel is perfect!!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore,MD
Oct 12, 2009

Nice for the price!

It was great!!!!!!!!.. the location of The Chealsea hotel is perfect!!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 18, 2011

Very Unpleasant Check In Experience

I had very annoying experience checking into the Chelsea Hotel. The hotel did not have my reservation in their system when I arrived, and, though I showed them a printed confirmation [...], they would not check me in, and required me to call [...], and request that they re-send my reservation. I did so, returned to the desk, and was told that the hotel still had not received the reservation, but, after persuading them, they did finally check me in. The whole process took more than half an hour. I was very annoyed that both the Chelsea Hotel [...] put the problem that they created back on me, and wasted my time. Fortunately, after a rocky start, I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is lovely, and well located, and worth a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cinco
New york, NY
Apr 11, 2010

Amazing getaway

For my first time visiting A.C i was very pleased to have chosen The chelsea. We were amazed by the look of the room and must say that was one big comfy bed. We had our meals at the restuarants located in the hotel and the meals and service were great. Unfortunatly we had to return home but hope to return soon and def staying at the Chelsea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sher007
Lancaster,PA
Apr 12, 2010

Great location and decor!

Went to AC for girls weekend and got 2 rooms. Front staff was able to get us adjoining rooms. They offer free valet parking and it's $10 to park which you pay at checkout. Rooms were nice but could have used more mirrors-we were all squished in front of the bathroom mirror trying to get ready. Shower looked out-dated. If you need a cab they are always out front so you dont need to call for one. They put a $125/per room hold on your creditcard for incidentals-if you use a debitcard it holds the $$ for 2wks so I suggest using a creditcard. We went to Harrah's Pool After Dark Club which was a blast! It was a short taxi ride away. Overall Great hotel for the price and location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is right on boardwalk next to Tropicanna Casino.

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, Ma.
Apr 28, 2010

Great value for the money and a terrific

The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable and the room was large and well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have dinner at The Palm next door in the Tropicana.

Back to menu Return to top