$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

The Annex at The Chelsea

3 stars
105 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
76 reviews
hotel survey

Room and customer service was awesome..food was great drinks were perfect dinner was fanstatic See full review

  • Liah3
  • Jul 19, 2014
My stay at the Chelsea Annex Hotel

Overall I had a relaxing stay at the.hotel. Staff was friendly and did their best to make sure my... See full review

  • Danger J
  • Aug 31, 2013
Budget motel with a pass to high-class amenities

The Annex is the result of four-star hotel The Chelsea taking a Howard Johnson hotel under its wing. Though the luxurious touches of The Chelsea Tower rooms do not extend to its Annex, described by the property as "retro-motel style accommodations," the price point is markedly lower than the main hotel. And guests can partake of the same glamorous lounges, pools, restaurants, beach club and beach service as guests of its more elegant Atlantic City sister next door.

Highlights
  • Outdoor heated saltwater pool and weekday access to seasonal rooftop pool
  • Two restaurants and several nightlife venues
  • Boardwalk access to quickly reach restaurants, casinos and shopping
  • Spa offers massage and body treatments
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Cost-conscious rooms deliver TVs with On-Demand service and iPod docking stations at the bedside. Bathrooms at the Annex at The Chelsea stay true to the retro vibe with original tile and vintage fixtures. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the saltwater pool. Designed as the hotel's social wing, connecting rooms and suites at The Annex offer group-friendly configurations. Order door-to-door food delivery from Teplitzky's, the classic diner downstairs.

Features

Early birds at this surprising Atlantic City motel can rent a private cabana on the beach (available first-come, first serve). Beach service, also first-come first serve, includes towels, lounge chairs and sun umbrellas with private set-up. Weekday guests should check out The Cabana Club at The Annex Chelsea, a seasonal outdoor pool with bar, cabanas and an after-dark social scene. Or, venture out and reach the bustling, Old Havana-themed shops and restaurants of Atlantic City's The Quarter at Tropicana in minutes on foot. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool and cabana area available for private events
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Annex at The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Annex at The Chelsea Rooms

Annex Avenue King
This room has a king bed and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities. This room is Non-Smoking.
Annex Downtown
This room has 2 queen beds and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open on Friday and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for The Annex at The Chelsea

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
3

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
very unsatisfided
irvington, n.j.
Jan 17, 2014

nothing special

Plain borring worse than being at home noisey listened to sirens all night and had fire trucks pull up to the hotel which scared me would not go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RejectReef
Philadelphia
Jan 13, 2014

Good weekend getaway

It was a very nice hotel with a super helpful staff , everything went very smooth. The room was clean and the location was convenient for the type of night me and my friends were planning,being that it was next to the tropicana & around the corner from a liquor store. Enjoyed my time there and will stay there in the future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dpfjunior1
New York, NY
Dec 9, 2013

Guys weekend

The hotel was exactly what we were looking for: a cheap stay close to all of the expensive casinos. It is a little far from everything except the trop and it does not have it own casino which is a downside. But if you get a good deal this is a great hotel to choose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tara Marie
New York
Sep 17, 2013

Very Nice but Very Disappointed

When I looked up the photos online the hotel was all lit up & really cool looking. It reminded me of a real nice hotel in Manhattan. But when we got there for my boyfriends birthday, half of the lights were out and the "L" in Chelasea wasn't lit up either! I over looked it & when we got up to the room, the "balcony veiw" was not a balcony- Nor a veiw at all. Our veiw was of the apartment building across the street rather then the boardwalk view I payed alot extra for!!! I had also ordered a bottle of champagne that I was OVERCHARGED for. I was told over the phone it was one price and then it was MORE than Doubled at check out & the only explanation was "oh, ya that was the wrong price! Sorry!" & they STILL deducted it from the security deposit rather then charge the ORIGINAL price they admitted to giving over the phone ... Besides that, the hotel is nice & clean- has a beautiful patio with great pool (which closes at 7pm!) . That's really all I know because we stayed at the TROPICANA next door most of the whole trip because we were treated more like their customers then at own own hotel. There also is no casino in the Chelsea which I was not aware of either, along with a nightclub that is featured on the website. If you want a quiet getaway and don't care much about feeling like your away on vacation then I guess this is an okay place. But this was NOT what I wanted for my boyfriends birthday. I think paying more money is worth it to be satisfyed especially for a special occasion. Just make sure you do your homework when staying at the Chelsea is you do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

GO HAVE DRINKS AT WET WILLY'S NEXT DOOR AT THE TROPICANA!!!! GREAT EXPERIENCE, AMAZING DRINKS & SO WORTH THE PRICE (which is pretty cheap!)

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Topcat1234
Edison, NJ
Sep 9, 2013

Not bad, not great

The hotel was about what I expected for the price. The room was older, there was no clock radio. some of the lights didn't work. The curtain open to a wall with small windows at the top. But the room was clean and it was quiet at night. If you are looking for a cheap place to sleep less than a block from the boardwalk, this will work for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationer33
New York
Sep 3, 2013

Price was perfect!

The beds were clean and comfortable. There is 2 sections old and new. We were in the old rooms. The bathrooms were being fixed on the ceiling, they had the old tiles, pink, the floor was old also. The dressers were worn on the top. In the middle of the night some woman was screaming to get into her room, which woke us up. When I booked I needed 2 beds they brought me to a room with one bed. I had to go back down and at first they said they don't guarantee 2 beds but I insisted that's what I agreed on and they found a 2 bed room. When I got to hotel there was a few kids in the lobby screening very loud but once in the room I didn't hear anything. All and all the hotel lobby was very nice looking and safe. I was happy with the price I paid and when I complained about the yelling woman they gave me late checkout and free parking which would have been $15 per day. I also asked for an iron but never received it. There was a refrigerator in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Stayed 3 nights we didn't spend a lot of time in room. Shopping was about 20 to shopping strip.

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danger J
Trenton, NJ
Aug 31, 2013

My stay at the Chelsea Annex Hotel

Overall I had a relaxing stay at the.hotel. Staff was friendly and did their best to make sure my stay was comfortable and stress free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
emfh
Berwyn, PA
Aug 24, 2013

Cheap hotel, top to bottom

The room we booked was barely large enough to fit the two queen beds, but had not been cleaned well. There was hair in the sink and damp washcloths in the tub. The carpet hasn't been properly vaccuumed. The entire hotel felt grimly, run down, and in a state of barely-maintained decay. We asked to switch rooms, and were given a more palatable suite, one which included a broken TV, leaky, running faucet, and a tub that didnt drain. Windowsills were dusty, and the walls were paper thin. And despite changing rooms because the first was dirty, we were charged for the upgrade. Would rather cancel a vacation than return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunshinebear
New York City
Aug 19, 2013

Worst experience ever! Never coming back!

Worst experience ever! Never coming back! Never ever coming back to this nastiness. Well first off...we checked in on time and when we went into our room, there's was people all ready in there and pretty much settled in! So we went back downstairs and they doubled booked the room. The lady in the front who was handling this had an attitude and was very unprofessional. Like you gave us a room to someone's room! That's a huge violation like we does this always happen? I felt so uncomfortable with the feeling that someone else can just get to our room! She's like go talk her boss and man was he cold and it was like he didn't care at ALL! He talked to us like we were a pest. He gave us a new room on the same floor..oh okay so we went in and it was the darkest room possible with 3 small windows and oh ONE BED for what three girls? I had chosen a 2 bed room like what is this! By this point we were just mad and frustrated. We went back downstairs to tell the guy that the room was wrong! DUH are you expecting three people to sleep in one bed? ridiculous. He was even more annoyed and was trying to find us a room, we had asked for a nicer room for this huge inconvenience, unprofessional ism and for wasting our time! But nope that wasn't an option but he gave us a $30 credit for food and drinks.... Whatever by this point we just didn't care because it was clear customer service was nonexistent in this hotel. When we got to our room it was disgusting..leaks and mold on the wall and ceiling. The paint was peeling off and OH THE FLOOR WAS DAMP...nasty. I felt like I was going to catch something just really grossed out. The room had one small mirror and old everything. It felt like a cheap cheap cheap super cheap hotel but this hotel for one night was a good hundred dollars... I felt like we were better off going to a cheap hotel like the econo lodge next door I bet you it was better quality! The room was just NASTY. The feel of the Chelsea annex was like stepping back into the 50's and 60's into a cheap cheap hotel. The pool was small and the beach club in the "nice" part of the hotel was just DEAD! This was my worst hotel experience ever and I will never come back here, and I advise everyone to please STAY AWAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
love to laugh
Long Island, NY
Jul 26, 2013

Friends out for fun

Wish I had read reviews first! Very old, and in desperate need of renovations!! Wasn't able to upgrade.We wanted a balcony, but found an inch of water from heavy rain day before. Called desk 3 times, and even went down there to speak to someone in person, but noone ever came , so we had to use all the towels in room, and then go get more!! Pools/bars closed very early, so there was nothing to do there late at night. Coffee shop was expensive. The Chelsea didn't seem like the big deal they advertise either. The only positives, is that they're one of the few hotels with any kind of balcony, but mainly street views, run down chairs, and in our case, a flood, but to my surprise the mattress was very comfortable, and no bugs!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had a superb dinner @ Fin restaurant @ The Tropicana!!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search