$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Annex at The Chelsea

3 stars
105 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
90 reviews
Getaway

Overall good experience hotel was nice low key I checked right in there were no issues at all See full review

  • Ottey
  • Oct 20, 2014
hotel survey

Room and customer service was awesome..food was great drinks were perfect dinner was fanstatic See full review

  • Liah3
  • Jul 19, 2014
Budget motel with a pass to high-class amenities

The Annex is the result of four-star hotel The Chelsea taking a Howard Johnson hotel under its wing. Though the luxurious touches of The Chelsea Tower rooms do not extend to its Annex, described by the property as "retro-motel style accommodations," the price point is markedly lower than the main hotel. And guests can partake of the same glamorous lounges, pools, restaurants, beach club and beach service as guests of its more elegant Atlantic City sister next door.

Highlights
  • Outdoor heated saltwater pool and weekday access to seasonal rooftop pool
  • Two restaurants and several nightlife venues
  • Boardwalk access to quickly reach restaurants, casinos and shopping
  • Spa offers massage and body treatments
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Cost-conscious rooms deliver TVs with On-Demand service and iPod docking stations at the bedside. Bathrooms at the Annex at The Chelsea stay true to the retro vibe with original tile and vintage fixtures. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the saltwater pool. Designed as the hotel's social wing, connecting rooms and suites at The Annex offer group-friendly configurations. Order door-to-door food delivery from Teplitzky's, the classic diner downstairs.

Features

Early birds at this surprising Atlantic City motel can rent a private cabana on the beach (available first-come, first serve). Beach service, also first-come first serve, includes towels, lounge chairs and sun umbrellas with private set-up. Weekday guests should check out The Cabana Club at The Annex Chelsea, a seasonal outdoor pool with bar, cabanas and an after-dark social scene. Or, venture out and reach the bustling, Old Havana-themed shops and restaurants of Atlantic City's The Quarter at Tropicana in minutes on foot. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool and cabana area available for private events
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Annex at The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Annex at The Chelsea Rooms

Annex Avenue King
This room has a king bed and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities. This room is Non-Smoking.
Annex Downtown
This room has 2 queen beds and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open on Friday and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for The Annex at The Chelsea

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.9

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NiiNii
Business
NY, NY
Nov 24, 2014

Convient and Safe

The location of the hotel was perfect, however, they only offer valet parking for 15 dollars a day. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly--however the furniture and amenities in the room were very outdated and there were no mirrors (except for the one over the kick) Overall a good expereience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Tropicana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bikejumpr
Business
Pa
Nov 17, 2014

Dirty....

U get what u pay for with the annex.. Upgraded to the hotel side

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KAKAM
Business
Castro valley, CA
Nov 17, 2014

Casino trip

The room is good and only problem I had is the bathroom. Bathtub drain stopper was missing and looks bad. The price was reasonable compare to other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wendonyc
Business
nyc
Nov 16, 2014

the annex was ok

We checked in the room was great but the hallways look like u just stepped into a project. The people next door were screaming at each other. I just upgraded to the Chelsea instead and had an absolute wonderful night just pay the extra 20 bucks people you'll thank me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rocket29
Business
Hawthorne, NJ
Nov 10, 2014

Not good

Nice lobby, but the Annex rooms leave a lot to be desired. I paid $150 which was a lot less than the casino hotels since it was a busy Saturday but I would never stay there again. Rooms had molding coming off, scuffed walls and doors. Not for me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss YVR
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Oct 22, 2014

First Time at the Annex

Easter long weekend, I had stayed at The Chelsea. Had I written a review, it would not have been positive. I decided to try this property again, but opted to stay at the Chelsea Annex for two nights. Upon arriving in Atlantic City, we stopped by the front desk of the hotel, to see if they would hold our bags until we could check in. We were VERY PLEASED to hear the front desk person say she would check to see if our room was available, and if so, we could have our room early. The room was ready so we were allowed to check in earlier. This was wonderful! The only improvement I would suggest, is to have a mini fridge in each room. Other than that, the staff was friendly & helpful, our experience at the spa was great & we enjoyed our breakfast at Teplitsky's both mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ottey
Business
Atlantic city
Oct 20, 2014

Getaway

Overall good experience hotel was nice low key I checked right in there were no issues at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HD82
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 24, 2014

Very nice hotel but watch out for extra addon charges

First up, the hotel is very neat and room was super clean. Their bathrooms are one of the best! - I just love their standup shower. The sheets and towels are super clean. Little gotchas: * The only parking (as much as I understand) they have is valet parking and they charge you $15 for that (plus gratuity for your valet driver) * They sometimes have complimentary bagels (on slow days), but normally they have a full blown break fast menu for 9.99 * Their mini-bar in the room is so well stocked but expensive (I love mini-bars in the room and like indulge myself - and this may get expensive) * Finally, this may just be an administrative thing that they double charged me for the things that I used in my mini-bar for which I had to call-in and reverse the second charge. Overall, despite their mess-up, I would still use stay at Chelsea the next time, and recommend it..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephone
Business
Staten Island, New York
Sep 21, 2014

Last minute gateway

The room was great for the price and the king size bed was wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Writeinbk
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 8, 2014

Not Bad

At the end of the day, if you don't plan on staying in your room 24/7, it's perfect. Right on the boardwalk, great beach location, quick walk to the casinos and the lobby is beautiful. However, the bathrooms could use a serious upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Country Kitchen is a great spot to have breakfast at, about 5 min walk from the hotel on the boardwalk. Totally worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top