$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

The Annex at The Chelsea

3 stars
View map of 105 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
112 reviews
Vacation day

I originally planed to come with a group but ended up just meeting a friend down there. I was very... See full review

  • Hazy
  • Aug 23, 2015
Awesome trip

It's always a pleasure to stay at The Chelsea Annex. We always enjoy the room and the nice balcony... See full review

  • paula m.
  • Jul 8, 2015

The Annex is the result of four-star hotel The Chelsea taking a Howard Johnson hotel under its wing. Though the luxurious touches of The Chelsea Tower rooms do not extend to its Annex, described by the property as "retro-motel style accommodations," the price point is markedly lower than the main hotel. And guests can partake of the same glamorous lounges, pools, restaurants, beach club and beach service as guests of its more elegant Atlantic City sister next door.

Rooms

Cost-conscious rooms deliver TVs with On-Demand service and iPod docking stations at the bedside. Bathrooms at the Annex at The Chelsea stay true to the retro vibe with original tile and vintage fixtures. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the saltwater pool. Designed as the hotel's social wing, connecting rooms and suites at The Annex offer group-friendly configurations. Order door-to-door food delivery from Teplitzky's, the classic diner downstairs.

Property features

Early birds at this surprising Atlantic City motel can rent a private cabana on the beach (available first-come, first serve). Beach service, also first-come first serve, includes towels, lounge chairs and sun umbrellas with private set-up. Weekday guests should check out The Cabana Club at The Annex Chelsea, a seasonal outdoor pool with bar, cabanas and an after-dark social scene. Or, venture out and reach the bustling, Old Havana-themed shops and restaurants of Atlantic City's The Quarter at Tropicana in minutes on foot. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Outdoor heated saltwater pool and weekday access to seasonal rooftop pool
  • Two restaurants and several nightlife venues
  • Boardwalk access to quickly reach restaurants, casinos and shopping
  • Spa offers massage and body treatments
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool and cabana area available for private events
Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Fees
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Annex at The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$129
3.8 / 5 205 reviews
★★★
$71
3.6 / 5 1,264 reviews
★★
$49
2.7 / 5 102 reviews
★★★★
$79
3.5 / 5 217 reviews
★★★★
$69
3.8 / 5 639 reviews
★★
$59
2.8 / 5 54 reviews
★★★
$69
3.6 / 5 122 reviews
★★★★
$68
3.7 / 5 238 reviews

The Annex at The Chelsea Rooms

Annex Avenue King
This room has a king bed and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities. This room is Non-Smoking.
Annex Downtown
This room has 2 queen beds and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Dining on the 5th
An upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open on Friday and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Annex at The Chelsea

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SLSL
Couples
N/A
Sep 2, 2015

Engagement stay

Not at all. 1.5 hour late check in. No special congrats or accommodations for newly engaged to feel special. No fridge in room which is normally standard in hotels. Broken shower railing. Dirty balcony chairs, dress or drawer that kept opening and wouldn't remain closed. Staff or getting to remove comped fridge off bill until reminded at check out. Didn't have a great stay and was unremarkable in my mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Man M.
Family
N/A
Aug 27, 2015

Was cool

Was ok hotel and rooms could use updating and much better finishing but for $79 a night not too bad and the location was great boardwalk a few steps from hotel entrance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hazy
Friends
N/A
Aug 23, 2015

Vacation day

I originally planed to come with a group but ended up just meeting a friend down there. I was very pleased with this part of town and the boardwalk. The hotel was well keep and I liked the amenities they provided even on the beach. I only wish they kept to pool open a little longer. Personnel was very professional, helpful and pleasant. I would come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nikia H.
Friends
N/A
Aug 17, 2015

Birthday Trip

Would not stay here again. Just not a warm atmosphere. Room was dingy and in need of updates. Overall this hotel is not the money and it's location is totally at the far end of the strip. Blah experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PH1LLY 1CE
Single
Gilbertsville
Aug 8, 2015

Low budget family vacation here we come!!

This is a nice location- close to the beach and the Tropicana casino. Room was okay... older decore- lamps right out of the 70's and a very worn chest of drawers where 2 drawers would not stay shut. The safety glass cover for the light in the closet was noticeably dislodged and the shower faucet handles were replacements that sometimes would simply spin with no water emerging from the spigot. It took some time to master that. The desk chair reminded me of what you might sit on at a firehouse wedding reception. :) Housekeeping entered my room without knocking shortly after check-in and startled me as I just got out of the shower. I placed a do not disturb sign soon after, but was awakened early the next morning by housekeeping- this time attempting to deliver a crib which I did not request. The walls are thin and I believe there were families with children on both sides- so early in the morning I was surrounded by the shrills of children jumping on the beds and occasionally bouncing into the walls. And the doors slammed so loudly it would definitely wake a light sleeper. If you wanna sleep-in at this place- forget it!! It's best for the gambler looking for a cheap place to sleep or the low budget family vacationers. Given all this.... I went for the casino and would go back. I chose this hotel because of the price and location and because I couldn't get a comp room at the casino for the date I wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristen T.
Friends
N/A
Jul 30, 2015

Girls Night Out

Manager on duty was very nice and attentive. Food runners were efficient. Pool and bar convenient to each other

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tee kemm
Couples
Hatfield
Jul 29, 2015

AC right off Boardwalk

This part of the hotel needs updating some paint and new carpets. Also a mini fridge and microwave would be nice. My phone didn't work in the room, lamp cord was ran under the mattress (extension cord) they can do much better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathleen D.
Single
N/A
Jul 25, 2015

good time

The only thing was that I reserved a room with a balcony but there was only a solid wall. Other than that, no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Meghan R.
Friends
N/A
Jul 22, 2015

Weekend Getaway

I stayed at The Annex at The Chelsea for one Sunday night during my weekend getaway. After checking in and taking a look around the room, I wish that I would have spent the additional money for a room at a nicer hotel. The walk to The Annex from The Chelsea was dark and creepy, like something that you would see in a horror movie. The retro theme that they advertise seems more like an excuse not to update or put money into the building. The smell in the room was musty, carpets dirty, and furniture very worn. The advantage of this hotel is definitely the location. You can't get any closer to the boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winnie L.
Family
N/A
Jul 22, 2015

ehh!

The woman that I dealt with at the front desk was very rude to me at check in and the next day at check out. I was charged for valet parking (which I did not use), but didn't have an issue having it taken off of the invoice. Just glad that I saw it before leaving. After getting in from the boardwalk at 1:30 am and pulling the blanket back on the bed...a BUG quickly crawled off the bed!! We tried to kill it, but didn't get to it in time so we slept in fear of having a bug creeping around in our sheets. Location was nice and the pools were also nice. I also can't forget that the ladies in housekeeping were very polite and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top