$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

The Annex at The Chelsea

3 stars
105 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
75 reviews
hotel survey

Room and customer service was awesome..food was great drinks were perfect dinner was fanstatic See full review

  • Liah3
  • Jul 19, 2014
My stay at the Chelsea Annex Hotel

Overall I had a relaxing stay at the.hotel. Staff was friendly and did their best to make sure my... See full review

  • Danger J
  • Aug 31, 2013
Budget motel with a pass to high-class amenities

The Annex is the result of four-star hotel The Chelsea taking a Howard Johnson hotel under its wing. Though the luxurious touches of The Chelsea Tower rooms do not extend to its Annex, described by the property as "retro-motel style accommodations," the price point is markedly lower than the main hotel. And guests can partake of the same glamorous lounges, pools, restaurants, beach club and beach service as guests of its more elegant Atlantic City sister next door.

Highlights
  • Outdoor heated saltwater pool and weekday access to seasonal rooftop pool
  • Two restaurants and several nightlife venues
  • Boardwalk access to quickly reach restaurants, casinos and shopping
  • Spa offers massage and body treatments
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Cost-conscious rooms deliver TVs with On-Demand service and iPod docking stations at the bedside. Bathrooms at the Annex at The Chelsea stay true to the retro vibe with original tile and vintage fixtures. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the saltwater pool. Designed as the hotel's social wing, connecting rooms and suites at The Annex offer group-friendly configurations. Order door-to-door food delivery from Teplitzky's, the classic diner downstairs.

Features

Early birds at this surprising Atlantic City motel can rent a private cabana on the beach (available first-come, first serve). Beach service, also first-come first serve, includes towels, lounge chairs and sun umbrellas with private set-up. Weekday guests should check out The Cabana Club at The Annex Chelsea, a seasonal outdoor pool with bar, cabanas and an after-dark social scene. Or, venture out and reach the bustling, Old Havana-themed shops and restaurants of Atlantic City's The Quarter at Tropicana in minutes on foot. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool and cabana area available for private events
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Annex at The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Annex at The Chelsea Rooms

Annex Avenue King
This room has a king bed and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities. This room is Non-Smoking.
Annex Downtown
This room has 2 queen beds and features views of the city from the comfort of a balcony. Signature bedding, cotton linens, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as designer toiletries and a hair dryer. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels with free movies are offered for your entertainment. Climate control, a desk, and daily housekeeping are among the included amenities.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open on Friday and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Annex at The Chelsea

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff orbitz987
Ho-Ho-Kus, NJ, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Great getaway

Very nice atmosphere and hotel. Conveniently located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HoneyB915
Nyc
Aug 10, 2014

Horrible Getaway

This Hotel Is Disgusting . Its like the Bate Motel. The Rooms Are Horrible My Dresser In My Room Kept Opening The Bathroom Had Mold. The Elevator is Small And Creepy. I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND NO ONE TO THIS MOTEL BECAUSE THIS IS DEFINITELY NOT A HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jesmitty
Washington, DC
Aug 5, 2014

Average Plus

First room was awful. Three rooms were shoved in a back corner, and we were the middle room. The room in the corner/corner had an adjoining door to our room so you could hear every single little thing that was happening... talking, music, people coming/going. Stuck around for about an hour, being woken up multiple times. Changed rooms without a problem. Next room was great. Only next to one other room and then the staircase which no one ever used. Staff were friendly. Hotel was busy. The lobby is packed with 20-something's going out late night, probably between 9pm until whenever they disperse. Pay for your parking. Self park is $10 about a block away, offered by an outside vendor. Unload first and then go park. We valet parked. $15 checkin to checkout, come and go as you please. We hardly ever left, we just walked everywhere. Hotel is about one block, not even, from the beach. Comfort/Restroom station located right there as you enter the boardwalk from hotel to beach. This was nice even though it rained most of our stay. Last day was sunny so it was nice to get there and get some sunshine and beach time before departing. Elevator broke the day before our last stay. It happened probably around 10pm (ish). Every 40 seconds three dings. We called the front desk and they were waiting on the vendor to arrive to fix it. Stopped shortly thereafter, or we stopped paying attention. But worth the note regardless. Has other amenities that we did not use (diner on site, spa/gym on site, limo/bus service, etc.) Diner didn't smell that great when we exited the elevator but we were hung up on Country Kitchen and went there every morning for breakfast/brunch. Good stuff. I recommend that spot. Went to the boardwalk for the cheaper massages, and I forgot my gym shoes so couldn't do that. Boardwalk is less than a block away so we didn't utilize the transportation services. Also available is a small pool area. Again, rain almost our whole stay so we didn't use that. The spa has a jacuzzi and steam room package for $15 to use all day. Might have been worth it. All in all, a fairly average stay with some minor perks (hence the "average plus"). I would stay at this hotel again, IF I ever venture to AC again. AC isn't my type of place to want to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time Atlantic City
Frederick MD
Jul 24, 2014

Wasn't bad

The location is great and the valet is awesome. The room was clean but smelled musty. (the annex side) the hallways were outdated and the elevator was creepy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia
Jul 20, 2014

Not what we expected. You don't get what you pay for.

Spent a night here with some friends for my girlfriends birthday. I was intrigued by the beautiful rooms shown in the pictures. I was highly disappointed with the average room we spent the night in. All the pictures and even the google listing showed what we assume was The Chelsea, whereas we unknowingly booked a room at THE ANNEX at The Chelsea. Yes, they are connected by a narrow hallway and apparently are owned and operated as one in the same, however there was a noticeable difference in the quality of the two separate hotels. The wait service of both even wore different uniforms, ours resembled a holiday inn staff whereas the people who checked us in resembled something of the finest 5 star resorts. When we got to our room, there was no fridge, there was not even a coffee pot. Our phone did not work, and when I went to complain about those things they decided the best course of action was TO CALL OUR ROOM. Great plan when our phone does not work. Soon enough (after 4 fruitless efforts to call us) they sent another phone. Also the room description stated we would have iPod docks to use as chargers and for entertainment but there was none in our room. I called and had to haggle with them because they informed us that the iPod docks were restricted to the luxe towers, which apparently get the special treatment. When I demanded they sent one to our room, they obliged, however it was not functioning and it was lacking a power cord. There was not even an ice machine in our wing of the hotel. We brought food expecting a fridge and were disappointed to let it spoil. We had to attempt to keep our food good by placing it on our air conditioner. The air conditioner, which "on" and set to 50 degrees, didn't do much for our food or our own temperatures and we sweat throughout the night. To be fair and honest, the beds were comfortable and the room service was fast and brought us ice and food quickly (although they added an 18% gratuity to all room service orders, standard I suppose, and still expected a cash tip, also standard, I'd guess). And it honestly wasn't as expensive as other room service I'd had before. All in all, we expected to spend very little time in our room over this little trip, so these flaws were less glaring, but I would not recommend this to anyone unless as a very, dead last resort. Much better off staying at the quality inn across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Location was the only thing good about the hotel. Across the street from the tropical and located right on the boardwalk.

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cold World
Atlantic city, nj
Jul 19, 2014

What else could go wrong

The room was equivalent to a motel 6. Nothing worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liah3
new jersey
Jul 19, 2014

hotel survey

Room and customer service was awesome..food was great drinks were perfect dinner was fanstatic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks away

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zuki12
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 16, 2014

Weekend in A.C.

Room look like cheap and old motel but not $300 per night (including taxes and valet parking)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nana13
Union City, nj
Jul 8, 2014

Chelsea Annex

I wish there was a little refrigerator or something to keep our things in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
queenlady b
Atlantic city ,nj
Jun 24, 2014

overa pleased

The hotel was more than i expected when i walk in.the only thing i didnt sit well with is the carpet in the room they were smelly n felt wet it was a lil nasty but everything eles was great. Definitely come again there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Tropicana was right across the street great location.

Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ValRAf
New York
Jun 15, 2014

Very affordable and friendly staff

Close to boardwalk and Casinos , I had a wonderful time and stay at the Chealsea the hotel looks very modern , and the decor are beautiful, but must appealing is the price very affordable ✌️

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search