$86 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Showboat Casino and Hotel

3 stars
801 Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
811 reviews
Great weekend getaway

The room was spacious and the furniture looked new. We had a great view of the ocean & city from... See full review

  • Lepel
  • Jun 18, 2014
Great stay and convenient location for families

After staying at many of the other Atlantic City casinos, we finally stayed at Showboat, which had... See full review

  • Ken66
  • Jun 4, 2014
Where Bourbon Street and House of Blues meet the Boardwalk

An upbeat Mardi Gras theme sweeps through this Boardwalk classic, from the hotel and 24-7 casino decor to restaurants specializing in Cajun flavors and Louisiana cuisine. As a main attraction, the House of Blues boasts its own restaurant, gift shop, poker room, slots and table games, and two nightlife venues, Backstage and Club Worship. That means concert-goers are just minutes from sweet dreams after the show. A free fitness center, outdoor pool and spa-salon up the convenience and comfort for the value.

Highlights
  • Seasonal rooftop swimming pool
  • International music acts and live concerts at the world-famous House of Blues
  • 10 dining options include Chris Scarduzio's Steakhouse and Sushi Lounge, the Foundation Room, Johnny Rockets, Casa di Napoli and Starbucks
  • Complimentary modern fitness center
  • Close to Steel Pier amusement park rides
Rooms

At Showboat Casino and Hotel, bright rooms with plenty of seating welcome guests after a day of gaming or a night at a live show. Bump up to a premium room to enjoy a 42-inch plasma flat-screen TV. Those bringing a laptop can tap into the Wi-fi in all rooms (fees apply). True HOB fans taste the rock star lifestyle in a House of Blues Studio Suite, outfitted with a top-notch entertainment system, granite bathroom, glass enclosed shower with multi-jet spray and an eclectic Indian-Asian-Moroccan influenced scheme.

Features

Well-appointed and with sleek looks, the free fitness center at this Atlantic City hotel has state-of-the-art workout equipment. Groups of girl friends can arrange a special girls night out spa party at Vive Day Spa & Salon, and enjoy its Chakra Relaxation Room. A festive room service menu includes New Orleans-inspired dishes from the House of Blues restaurant. Venture out for a quick walk to Hard Rock Cafe or the amusement park rides on Steel Pier. Both free and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (12 mi/ 19 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (65 mi/ 105 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access in guest rooms (fees apply)
  • Dry cleaning/laundry services (fees apply)
  • Meeting planners can choose from the Club Harlem Ballroom, House of Blues Music Hall or Foundation Room Lounge
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking $10 USD, self parking $5 USD, subject to change.
  • Guests booking on or after 1 August 2013 need to pay $10 Assessment Fee per room per night, which will be collected along with room and tax.
  • Guests must provide valid credit card at check-in for incidental room charging privileges. Balances may be settled at check out with credit card, cash or debit card.
  • Minimum age to check into hotel is 21.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.3617 -74.4184
Area served
Atlantic City
Nearby airports
Atlantic City International Airport -12 miles from Bally's Atlantic City, Philadelphia International Airport -65 miles from Bally's Atlantic City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Showboat Casino and Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Showboat Casino and Hotel Rooms

Orleans Deluxe Room
Delight in Showboat's Big Easy atmosphere and the alluring spirit of Mardi Gras in your deluxe Orleans Tower guest room. It features everything you could desire for a captivating vacation-An oversize window providing Atlantic City views, A substantial floor plan which allows for a separate seating area of cozy couch or comfortable chairs, granite bathroom with separate sink and shower area for extra privacy and convenience, an elegant tiled foyer to welcome your every return, our exclusive Sleep Easy bed (one king or two queens) and table with chairs.
House of Blues Suite
Live as extravagantly as the world's most celebrated rock stars in our choice House of Blues Suites, where the top names in entertainment stay when they play Atlantic City! Each studio suite offers unparalleled privacy and security with a keycard entry system exclusive to the HOB studios area, a chic loft-style bedroom with king-size bed and sectional couch, premium-stocked cash bar, eclectic Indian/Asian/Buddhist influence on decor, including one-of-a-kind artwork and antique statues and chandeliers, complete state-of-the-art entertainment system including top branded DVD player, surround sound, plasma TVs and subwoofers for a true cinema experience, 1.5 granite-adorned bathrooms with the main bath boasting a separate lavatory area, twin bevel bowl sinks and a six-headed shower complete with built-in seat and TV. Choose either 1 King or 2 Queens.
PET STAY ROOM
The only property on the Boardwalk that allows pets! Please note you must book the "Pet Stay" room, and dogs must be present at check-in. Up to 2 dogs are allowed per room, and they must be 50 pounds or less.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Absecon Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.8 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.5 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 1.6 mi
  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 1.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (811)

Ratings and reviews for Showboat Casino and Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
811 out of 811
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Showboat Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, ny
Dec 9, 2010

Great off season value

Great value for the situation, room was nice the casino was smokey, and the buffet was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Showboat Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, ny
Dec 9, 2010

Great off season value

Great value for the situation, room was nice the casino was smokey, and the buffet was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Showboat Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 8, 2010

They compensate the rates with coffee

I can't remember when the last time was when I had to pay for internet access in a hotel. Oh yes, that was at my most recent stay at the Showboat! And when I called the front desk to confirm there's an actual charge ($10.95 per hour), no one picked up. it took me ...4,5,6 tries at punching various buttons on the telephone in my room before I could get a live human being to pick up. Good help is truly hard to find. Any help is hard to find. It must be the bad economy and I guess that's why it cost me $9 for a cup of coffee when I ordered breakfast. Now just because this review wouldn't be complete unless I commented about the amenities; There's a body pillow on the bed. It's shaped like a big Tootsie Roll. For god's sake put a cover on it so the guests don't have to see the nasty stains on it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

BYOB. Bring your own breakfast!

Review of Showboat Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 8, 2010

They compensate the rates with coffee

I can't remember when the last time was when I had to pay for internet access in a hotel. Oh yes, that was at my most recent stay at the Showboat! And when I called the front desk to confirm there's an actual charge ($10.95 per hour), no one picked up. it took me ...4,5,6 tries at punching various buttons on the telephone in my room before I could get a live human being to pick up. Good help is truly hard to find. Any help is hard to find. It must be the bad economy and I guess that's why it cost me $9 for a cup of coffee when I ordered breakfast. Now just because this review wouldn't be complete unless I commented about the amenities; There's a body pillow on the bed. It's shaped like a big Tootsie Roll. For god's sake put a cover on it so the guests don't have to see the nasty stains on it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

BYOB. Bring your own breakfast!

Review of Showboat Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Nov 4, 2010

Hot deals in the "City of the Atlantic"

We travel often to Atlantic City as a quick getaway from where we live. The room we had was slightly below par with other hotels. It could use a little sprucing up but ok . Since we are always looking for special deals such as room, show and or buffet or food alowance, we tend to go where we get the most for our money. Doesn't everyone especialy these days? It is a nice hotel with pleasant personell. Compared to the many other trips we have taken, this was not the best deal but we wanted to see what the hotel was like. On a scale of one to five----3

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

We ate at the Canal street restaurant and found it to be lacking in a full menue and the fare that they did have was minimal and not all that good. Good thing we weren't that hungary or else we would have gone elsewhere

Review of Showboat Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Nov 4, 2010

Hot deals in the "City of the Atlantic"

We travel often to Atlantic City as a quick getaway from where we live. The room we had was slightly below par with other hotels. It could use a little sprucing up but ok . Since we are always looking for special deals such as room, show and or buffet or food alowance, we tend to go where we get the most for our money. Doesn't everyone especialy these days? It is a nice hotel with pleasant personell. Compared to the many other trips we have taken, this was not the best deal but we wanted to see what the hotel was like. On a scale of one to five----3

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

We ate at the Canal street restaurant and found it to be lacking in a full menue and the fare that they did have was minimal and not all that good. Good thing we weren't that hungary or else we would have gone elsewhere

Review of Showboat Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WAM
New York City
Nov 3, 2010

Very friendly atmosphere

Gambled(blackjack), dined, walked the boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Delicious food.

Review of Showboat Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Nov 3, 2010

Great Hotel!

We stayed at the Showboat on Halloween. We were attending a concert at Boardwalk Hall and wanted to stay somewhere within walking distance. This hotel was both very well priced [...] and had fairly good reviews. We checked in quickly and easily (we checked in earlier than "check-in time" which was listed as a very late 4pm). There was a live band playing while we checked in, which was a nice touch for the few minutes that we spent in line. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I had read a lot of reports about bed bugs being an issue in Atlantic City right now, and this was not a problem at the Showboat (I checked the bed over before we even brought our bags into the room). The room had a partial ocean view, which was nice, and the bathroom was very clean and nice. Our only real complaint was that we had been placed in a non smoking room that smelled like someone had definitely been smoking in it recently. Someone with allergies to cigarette smoke would not have been able to stay in our room. Also, the night stands/chairs did look a bit worn out, but were totally fine and functional. We ate at both the Canal St. sandwich shop and at Johnny Rockets, and the food was great at both. It was also a plus to have a Starbucks in the hotel. My favorite thing about the hotel was it's location, right on the boardwalk. We were able to stroll down the boardwalk to get to our concert instead of having to drive and park or take a cab. The concierge told us that it would be a half hour walk to Boardwalk Hall, but it was really more like 15 minutes. The parking garage at the Showboat costs a one-time $10 fee, so we just left our car in the garage while we were in AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to attend a concert or event at Boardwalk Hall, and don't mind a short walk, this is a great place to stay!

Review of Showboat Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Nov 3, 2010

Great Hotel!

We stayed at the Showboat on Halloween. We were attending a concert at Boardwalk Hall and wanted to stay somewhere within walking distance. This hotel was both very well priced [...] and had fairly good reviews. We checked in quickly and easily (we checked in earlier than "check-in time" which was listed as a very late 4pm). There was a live band playing while we checked in, which was a nice touch for the few minutes that we spent in line. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I had read a lot of reports about bed bugs being an issue in Atlantic City right now, and this was not a problem at the Showboat (I checked the bed over before we even brought our bags into the room). The room had a partial ocean view, which was nice, and the bathroom was very clean and nice. Our only real complaint was that we had been placed in a non smoking room that smelled like someone had definitely been smoking in it recently. Someone with allergies to cigarette smoke would not have been able to stay in our room. Also, the night stands/chairs did look a bit worn out, but were totally fine and functional. We ate at both the Canal St. sandwich shop and at Johnny Rockets, and the food was great at both. It was also a plus to have a Starbucks in the hotel. My favorite thing about the hotel was it's location, right on the boardwalk. We were able to stroll down the boardwalk to get to our concert instead of having to drive and park or take a cab. The concierge told us that it would be a half hour walk to Boardwalk Hall, but it was really more like 15 minutes. The parking garage at the Showboat costs a one-time $10 fee, so we just left our car in the garage while we were in AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to attend a concert or event at Boardwalk Hall, and don't mind a short walk, this is a great place to stay!

Review of Showboat Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WAM
New York City
Nov 3, 2010

Very friendly atmosphere

Gambled(blackjack), dined, walked the boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Delicious food.

Back to menu Return to top