$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

2 stars
View map of 1339 Pacific Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7204

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redditor
West Deptford, NJ, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Great for a cheap night in AC

I had tickets for me and my friends to see a concert at the house of blues. The show was late so rather than drive home at 2 in the morning, we looked for a hotel. I jokingly searched for one room for 6 people. And to my surprise, I found this place at about a fraction of the price than some of the other places. Because it was so cheap, I wasn't expecting to get anything fancy or that nice really. But upon walking into the room, I was greeted by 2 bedrooms, a full bathroom and a decent view of the casino lights. The beds are more comfortable than my own bed. And the location is within walking distance of Resorts, Taj Mahal, and The Showboat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk straight to the boardwalk first. AC has some shifty areas and it's best to go to a familiar populated area.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
only1
Business
hollywood florida
May 27, 2010

actripmay10

tourist sight seen security, one of the worst due to the neighborhood

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to resorts and beach

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mkemu
Business
WV
Mar 1, 2010

It'll do

If you are looking for a cheap hotel in Atlantic City, this one will do the trick. I came with a couple of friends to go gambling for the weekend, and this place worked for us. No it isn't the nicest place in the world, and it was a bit noisy...but for the few hours we crashed here, it did the trick. You are an easy walk to the Taj and Resorts casinos, and also there are plenty of cabs around and a bus to take you to any other place you want to go. If you are looking for a cheap place you can go to when you are done gambling at 4am, this will work for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Jan 31, 2010

Weekend getaway on a budget.

While staying, we visited casinos, dined at a variety of restaurants, and shopped at the outlets. Free parking and wifi internet were pluses, as well as access to transportation. Jitney stop is located just outside the cafe doors. Convenient when bad weather prevents walking to attractions. The experience was comparable to other hotels in the same price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the cafe next to the lobby. Great place for breakfast after a long night. Serves breakfast all day. Open from 7 am to 4 pm.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Howard J
Business
Atlantic City
Jan 2, 2010

Howard Johnson in AC, NJ

The Howard Johnson is located near most of the major casinos in Atlantic City. It was easy to get trasportation. Location was a major Plus. As for the hotel itself, the bedroom was clean and of descent size for 4 people. The bathrooms were clean but very small. It was difficult for the four of us to get ready in such a small space. Also, the toliet stopped working which was a defiante inconvience to us although it was eventually fixed with he help from the hotel staff. Another inconvience for us was that there was no refriderator in the room. We had no place to put our drinks. Overall, I would give this hotel 2 Stars. It wasn't the worst hotel I've stayed at, but far from the best. Mediocre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Nov 28, 2009

1 nite in AC and the world's your oyster

First of all i paid $75 per night. It is very close to casinos, i was walking everywhere. It is a good price for that location. Stuff was friendly but not super extra friendly. Just ok and nice. I can't complain. My room was clean, had a cool electronic safe, TV, iron, iron desk, bathroom and inside whole bunch of towels, shampoo, soaps... But in tv remote battery didnt work. I was lazy and i didnt ask stuff for new battery. Bathroom had in few spots small fungus, but its hard to notice them. Except this, bathroom was very nice. Only stupid invention was that to place toilet paper hanger under the sink. So inconvenient. And windows were on the hallway so everybody can see whats going on in your room, till you close the curtains. Anyway for that money its really worth!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Most of the casinos are on the walking distance. Food places are all over Atlantic Ave (1 block) but most of them open in the afternoon. Looks like everybody in AC gambling till the early morning, go to sleep and wake up in the afternoon.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mechantville,NJ
Nov 8, 2009

Great location for the price.

Very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

NONE

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Bedford, MA
Oct 6, 2009

My short Stay in Atlantic City

Very spacious room, clean and very good location. Nice staff too. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Jersey
Aug 16, 2009

Bad and Ugly and then it got worse!

Desk personal talked down Orbitz and charged us an extra $15 per day for double occupancy, even tho we had booked the room for double to start. Parking was inadequate. We had to leave our keys at the desk if we parked in street level garage. Empl. moved our car and never locked it. Room: Toilet handle had to be fixed when we first entered the room, mold in the bathroom, stains on linens, coffee pot was not cleaned out, and a roach in the bathroom. Extreme noise and door slamming until all hours of the morning, to the extreme that the bed shook. Guests beating on the walls and yelling all hours. Snack machine out of order and the elevator was down for a day. Not much fun at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jul 27, 2009

good

very relaxing and clean. Would love to stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waldorf, MD
Jun 30, 2009

Howard Johnson

Gambled, sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top