$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

2 stars
1339 Pacific Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
68 reviews
Road trip!!!

The staff was great. I felt they gave the best customer service ever . I really enjoy my stay. And... See full review

  • Nicole 1010
  • Jul 13, 2014
birthday getaway

It was fantastic. I arrived early and they still let me check in. The staff are great. Its close to... See full review

  • kepopoz509
  • Jun 20, 2014
Near the Boardwalk casinos with free Wi-Fi and outdoor pool

One block from the beach and famous Atlantic City Boardwalk, the Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City makes it quick and easy for guests to reach the big-name casinos. Walk to Bally's, Resorts, Trump Taj Mahal and Showboat or catch the hotel jitney bus and hop off at any of the casino stops along the route. Unlike many hotels in town, this Hojo does not tack on extra fees for parking or in-room Internet access. Get some fresh Boardwalk air on your way to the beach, designer stores, dining spots or the carnival atmosphere of Central Pier.

Highlights
  • One block from the beach, with a jitney bus to all casinos for a small fee
  • Free parking and Free Wi-Fi
  • Seasonal outdoor pool
  • On-site restaurant delivers room service
Rooms

For budget accommodations, the basic rooms at Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City do well to make guests happy. Each includes complimentary Internet access, a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and free HBO on the TV. Some also offer a refrigerator and microwave.

Features

Perry's Cafe serves breakfast all day and delivers room service at this budget Ho-Jo. Many other restaurants, plus retail shops, outlets, and local attractions are within comfortable walking distance. In the vast Howard Johnson chain, this property is AAA approved and has earned the Howard Johnson Gold Medal Award for outstanding product quality and guest experience.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (12 mi/ 19 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
  • Jitney bus to all casinos (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Atlantic City Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Aquarium (1.8 mi/ 2.7 km)
Business
  • Business center

Hotel Map

39.3608 -74.4267
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Legends in Concert: 0.4 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 0.8 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 1.1 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tenn Jed
CT
Nov 15, 2011

Just what we needed.

Conveniently close to bars and restaurants and just minutes walk to the Boardwalk Hall Areana. The place was clean and staff courteous. No problems why not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Boardwalk Hall Areana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
only1
Business
hollywood florida
May 27, 2010

actripmay10

tourist sight seen security, one of the worst due to the neighborhood

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to resorts and beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mkemu
Business
WV
Mar 1, 2010

It'll do

If you are looking for a cheap hotel in Atlantic City, this one will do the trick. I came with a couple of friends to go gambling for the weekend, and this place worked for us. No it isn't the nicest place in the world, and it was a bit noisy...but for the few hours we crashed here, it did the trick. You are an easy walk to the Taj and Resorts casinos, and also there are plenty of cabs around and a bus to take you to any other place you want to go. If you are looking for a cheap place you can go to when you are done gambling at 4am, this will work for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Jan 31, 2010

Weekend getaway on a budget.

While staying, we visited casinos, dined at a variety of restaurants, and shopped at the outlets. Free parking and wifi internet were pluses, as well as access to transportation. Jitney stop is located just outside the cafe doors. Convenient when bad weather prevents walking to attractions. The experience was comparable to other hotels in the same price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the cafe next to the lobby. Great place for breakfast after a long night. Serves breakfast all day. Open from 7 am to 4 pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grandie
Business
East Yaphank,NY
Jan 13, 2010

You get what you pay for

We have stayed in many hotels in A.C. before, but this was the worst location yet.We felt very uncomfortable leaving our car for the night in this area and we were awake most of the night between the noise coming from the hallway and being fearfull of the clientelle staying there and visitors walking around the hotel.Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Howard J
Business
Atlantic City
Jan 2, 2010

Howard Johnson in AC, NJ

The Howard Johnson is located near most of the major casinos in Atlantic City. It was easy to get trasportation. Location was a major Plus. As for the hotel itself, the bedroom was clean and of descent size for 4 people. The bathrooms were clean but very small. It was difficult for the four of us to get ready in such a small space. Also, the toliet stopped working which was a defiante inconvience to us although it was eventually fixed with he help from the hotel staff. Another inconvience for us was that there was no refriderator in the room. We had no place to put our drinks. Overall, I would give this hotel 2 Stars. It wasn't the worst hotel I've stayed at, but far from the best. Mediocre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Nov 28, 2009

1 nite in AC and the world's your oyster

First of all i paid $75 per night. It is very close to casinos, i was walking everywhere. It is a good price for that location. Stuff was friendly but not super extra friendly. Just ok and nice. I can't complain. My room was clean, had a cool electronic safe, TV, iron, iron desk, bathroom and inside whole bunch of towels, shampoo, soaps... But in tv remote battery didnt work. I was lazy and i didnt ask stuff for new battery. Bathroom had in few spots small fungus, but its hard to notice them. Except this, bathroom was very nice. Only stupid invention was that to place toilet paper hanger under the sink. So inconvenient. And windows were on the hallway so everybody can see whats going on in your room, till you close the curtains. Anyway for that money its really worth!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Most of the casinos are on the walking distance. Food places are all over Atlantic Ave (1 block) but most of them open in the afternoon. Looks like everybody in AC gambling till the early morning, go to sleep and wake up in the afternoon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mechantville,NJ
Nov 8, 2009

Great location for the price.

Very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

NONE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Bedford, MA
Oct 6, 2009

My short Stay in Atlantic City

Very spacious room, clean and very good location. Nice staff too. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Jersey
Aug 16, 2009

Bad and Ugly and then it got worse!

Desk personal talked down Orbitz and charged us an extra $15 per day for double occupancy, even tho we had booked the room for double to start. Parking was inadequate. We had to leave our keys at the desk if we parked in street level garage. Empl. moved our car and never locked it. Room: Toilet handle had to be fixed when we first entered the room, mold in the bathroom, stains on linens, coffee pot was not cleaned out, and a roach in the bathroom. Extreme noise and door slamming until all hours of the morning, to the extreme that the bed shook. Guests beating on the walls and yelling all hours. Snack machine out of order and the elevator was down for a day. Not much fun at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jul 27, 2009

good

very relaxing and clean. Would love to stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top