$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 9, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

2 stars
1339 Pacific Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
68 reviews
Road trip!!!

The staff was great. I felt they gave the best customer service ever . I really enjoy my stay. And... See full review

  • Nicole 1010
  • Jul 13, 2014
birthday getaway

It was fantastic. I arrived early and they still let me check in. The staff are great. Its close to... See full review

  • kepopoz509
  • Jun 20, 2014
Near the Boardwalk casinos with free Wi-Fi and outdoor pool

One block from the beach and famous Atlantic City Boardwalk, the Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City makes it quick and easy for guests to reach the big-name casinos. Walk to Bally's, Resorts, Trump Taj Mahal and Showboat or catch the hotel jitney bus and hop off at any of the casino stops along the route. Unlike many hotels in town, this Hojo does not tack on extra fees for parking or in-room Internet access. Get some fresh Boardwalk air on your way to the beach, designer stores, dining spots or the carnival atmosphere of Central Pier.

Highlights
  • One block from the beach, with a jitney bus to all casinos for a small fee
  • Free parking and Free Wi-Fi
  • Seasonal outdoor pool
  • On-site restaurant delivers room service
Rooms

For budget accommodations, the basic rooms at Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City do well to make guests happy. Each includes complimentary Internet access, a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and free HBO on the TV. Some also offer a refrigerator and microwave.

Features

Perry's Cafe serves breakfast all day and delivers room service at this budget Ho-Jo. Many other restaurants, plus retail shops, outlets, and local attractions are within comfortable walking distance. In the vast Howard Johnson chain, this property is AAA approved and has earned the Howard Johnson Gold Medal Award for outstanding product quality and guest experience.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (12 mi/ 19 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
  • Jitney bus to all casinos (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Atlantic City Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Aquarium (1.8 mi/ 2.7 km)
Business
  • Business center

Hotel Map

39.3608 -74.4267
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Legends in Concert: 0.4 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 0.8 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 1.1 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redditor
West Deptford, NJ, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Great for a cheap night in AC

I had tickets for me and my friends to see a concert at the house of blues. The show was late so rather than drive home at 2 in the morning, we looked for a hotel. I jokingly searched for one room for 6 people. And to my surprise, I found this place at about a fraction of the price than some of the other places. Because it was so cheap, I wasn't expecting to get anything fancy or that nice really. But upon walking into the room, I was greeted by 2 bedrooms, a full bathroom and a decent view of the casino lights. The beds are more comfortable than my own bed. And the location is within walking distance of Resorts, Taj Mahal, and The Showboat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk straight to the boardwalk first. AC has some shifty areas and it's best to go to a familiar populated area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 6, 2010

Very good

We liked everything - reasonable price, location(1 block from the beach), service, they allowed us to check in 3 hours earlier. There are a lot of restaurants around, 3 liquor stores, cvs, rite aide, 7/11, outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Melaka, Popa Pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not going back ever
Business
Pittsburgh,PA
Aug 26, 2010

Scary part of town

We are glad we were parked under a camera. We will never go back to that part of town. In Atlantic City you can only stay oceanfront. We did not feel safe walking anywhere, the best thing about the hotel was the front desk. The restaurant in the lobby closes @ 4:00pm. The Casinos do not start until well after dark. We did not feel safe walking two blocks to the beach,because of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Open from 7-4 food was really good, not expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny ny
Aug 12, 2010

very nice stay

had some rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chatham NY (Albany)
Aug 10, 2010

Good price and location for a week end.

If you just need a place to rest your head and don't care about extra frills and want to be near the boardwalk then I recommend to stay here. Front desk staff were nice and helpful with directions. Neighborhood was quiet. The room was average and clean. Would of been nice to have a frig. Used a cooler. The price for a weekend stay was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Surrounded by restaurants and convenient stores. Just a block to boardwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
annapolis, maryland
Aug 3, 2010

howard johnson

It sucks never will stay there in this lifetime I rather stay in car then spent one night at howard johnson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lenny, the travel bug
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 27, 2010

Location, location, location

The price is right for this old but well maintained establishment. It is family oriented and perfect for small kids in tow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A good walking distance to major casinos and outlet mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jul 25, 2010

"The good, the bad, and the ugly"

The AC is a night M

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia
Jun 29, 2010

The family gataway

room was small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DAIRYDAD
Business
MANHATTAN,NY
Jun 14, 2010

FANTASTIC FOR THE PRICE

Staff very freindly & helpful,EXELLENT location,centrally loctated next to everything,TRY THE MALASIAN REST ACROSS THE STREET,THE HOTEL ROOM WAS FIRST CLASS FULL AMENITIES,10TOWELS,3BAR SOAP 2BOX tissue ,SHAMPOO,HBO TV,PHONE,RADIO,ICE MACHINE,REFRIGERATOR,AIR con FREE PARKING! THIS WILL BE FAVORITE HOTEL IN ATLANTIC CITY, one block from the beach,POOL OPEN SUMMER,HAD AGREAT TIME! ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

40 BLACK HORSE PIKE HAMILTON MALL ALSO SMITHVILLE ON RT9 & OCEAN CITY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AC Star
Business
HBG
Jun 8, 2010

Respectful, Helpful and Accountable Serv

Top Notch Service, and Location and Value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top