$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

2 stars
1339 Pacific Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
68 reviews
Road trip!!!

The staff was great. I felt they gave the best customer service ever . I really enjoy my stay. And... See full review

  • Nicole 1010
  • Jul 13, 2014
birthday getaway

It was fantastic. I arrived early and they still let me check in. The staff are great. Its close to... See full review

  • kepopoz509
  • Jun 20, 2014
Near the Boardwalk casinos with free Wi-Fi and outdoor pool

One block from the beach and famous Atlantic City Boardwalk, the Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City makes it quick and easy for guests to reach the big-name casinos. Walk to Bally's, Resorts, Trump Taj Mahal and Showboat or catch the hotel jitney bus and hop off at any of the casino stops along the route. Unlike many hotels in town, this Hojo does not tack on extra fees for parking or in-room Internet access. Get some fresh Boardwalk air on your way to the beach, designer stores, dining spots or the carnival atmosphere of Central Pier.

Highlights
  • One block from the beach, with a jitney bus to all casinos for a small fee
  • Free parking and Free Wi-Fi
  • Seasonal outdoor pool
  • On-site restaurant delivers room service
Rooms

For budget accommodations, the basic rooms at Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City do well to make guests happy. Each includes complimentary Internet access, a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and free HBO on the TV. Some also offer a refrigerator and microwave.

Features

Perry's Cafe serves breakfast all day and delivers room service at this budget Ho-Jo. Many other restaurants, plus retail shops, outlets, and local attractions are within comfortable walking distance. In the vast Howard Johnson chain, this property is AAA approved and has earned the Howard Johnson Gold Medal Award for outstanding product quality and guest experience.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (12 mi/ 19 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
  • Jitney bus to all casinos (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Atlantic City Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Aquarium (1.8 mi/ 2.7 km)
Business
  • Business center

Hotel Map

39.3608 -74.4267
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Legends in Concert: 0.4 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 0.8 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 1.1 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Immer
Upstate, NY
Apr 20, 2011

Average

Traveled for an event at another location and chose the HoJo's for it's location to the Resort's. Price is on par for the accommodations. Parking is horrendous. Call me crazy but I am not going to hand over the keys to my car so they can put cars three deep under the hotel overhang. There was a small parking lot next door which is part of the hotel but guess what...yup...it's always full. Overall was worth it though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dont go here!
DC
Apr 11, 2011

Dont bother

Was more like a cement prison the Hotel. Beds were so hard my back is still hurting. Worryed about getting mugged every time we walked outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 28, 2011

Great stay!!

It was actually surprising! Walked in the main lobby, and wasn't expecting it to be all nice. Room was great and inexpensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Boston, Ma
Mar 25, 2011

near boardwalk

I went to Atlantic City with family members. Howard Johnsons was clean and nice rooms. People that work there nice and helpful. Restaurant next door Perry's has great food. We took bus Jitney to all the casinos (bought bus tickets) for 2.25 per ride. Great deal. We used cabs at nights

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Trenton, NJ
Jan 17, 2011

A good place to spend the night

I had gone to AC for a convention. The location was good for what I needed. The bed was hard and there weren't enough pillows. The staff was courteous. The room was clean. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
ct
Jan 2, 2011

good time for the price

If your looking for a decent price in a good location this is a place to go..not the greatest of areas ..but received no problems from the locals

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 5, 2010

Not after dark

The hotel was alright and good with asking who was coming in. But after walking back from the casinos at night is not recommended. I saw two i believe to be hookers across the street and several other people that made us feel unsafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
York, PA
Nov 29, 2010

DO NOT EVER STAY HERE! EVER!

Our first night, someone attempted to break into our room. The two males who were attempting to break the door open also had to walk through the lobby and then continue to our room which for some reason you have to go outside to get to. The hotel staff never once checked with us about the entire situation. We did not feel comfortable AT ALL staying in this hotel/motel. The non-smoking rooms reeked of cigarette smoke, when our bathroom wasn't supplied with shampoo, conditioner, or soap, we notified the front desk, and keep in mind this is after we had to deal with the police 3am the night before, and they insisted that we had to come get it ourselves if we wanted it. Barely any of the hotel staff spoke fluent English. I will never, ever stay in this hotel again, even if they paid me to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Never walk the streets at night.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan & Patti
Traverse City, Michigan
Nov 16, 2010

Great Value

The Hotel was very clean. It was a little run down, but still well maintained. It's location made up for everything, we walked to casino's, boardwalk, shopping, restaurants, etc. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay on well travelled streets.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
timatfuji
Elmhurst, New York
Sep 24, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Walked barefooted on the beach. Listen to the soothing water untangle the stress in my body. Met interesting people who shared ideas and life styles. Played 7 card stud poker with other seniors citizens. Relaxed and enjoyed eating outdoor restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search