$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

2 stars
View map of 1339 Pacific Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7204

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redditor
West Deptford, NJ, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Great for a cheap night in AC

I had tickets for me and my friends to see a concert at the house of blues. The show was late so rather than drive home at 2 in the morning, we looked for a hotel. I jokingly searched for one room for 6 people. And to my surprise, I found this place at about a fraction of the price than some of the other places. Because it was so cheap, I wasn't expecting to get anything fancy or that nice really. But upon walking into the room, I was greeted by 2 bedrooms, a full bathroom and a decent view of the casino lights. The beds are more comfortable than my own bed. And the location is within walking distance of Resorts, Taj Mahal, and The Showboat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk straight to the boardwalk first. AC has some shifty areas and it's best to go to a familiar populated area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vis39
Business
New ork
Nov 28, 2011

Birthday

Place was very affordable. In addition, the location was close all the casinos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Danandlyss
Business
Manalapan, NJ, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Bad bad area

The hotel itself isn't that bad. It is clean and outdated and it's in a horrible area. Bums and a not so good people are all over the place outside the hotel. If you're ok with that, the hotel's fine. It's a Howard johnsons, it's not the Hilton. It's ok for the price in AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Resorts is the best casino around and is about 3 short blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tenn Jed
Business
CT
Nov 15, 2011

Just what we needed.

Conveniently close to bars and restaurants and just minutes walk to the Boardwalk Hall Areana. The place was clean and staff courteous. No problems why not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Boardwalk Hall Areana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WinBig
Business
Greene, NY 13778, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Average Weekender

Second time staying here. Great location to stay at if you want to be close to the action but not spend a lot of money on a room at one of the casinos. Nothing really special about this place but will stay again on the next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Resorts is about two blocks away as well as the boardwalk. Also some adult entertainment nearby to make your trip to "Little Vegas" complete.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CraziieeCAR
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Good value for your dollars

The hotel was next to mini market , deli, chinese restaurant, pizza shop, etc.not far from the boardwalk and casinos overall not bad ,but the king size bed sucks had to many spring popping me all over my body when it was time to rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Perry not bad for breakfast dont eat early on Sunday realluy busy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
walbob63
Business
PA
Sep 12, 2011

Affordable option

Nothing special but had what you needed, staff was nice and they have a decent pool. Not to far from the beach and casinos so that was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great chinese food on the corner across the street. Also the in house cafe provides room serivce.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hempstead ny
Sep 4, 2011

Vacation

Trip was wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joohopark
Business
fort lee, nj
Jun 25, 2011

great place!

Stayed during a two night trip to Atlantic city. We were looking for a cheap place but also decently nice. We pretty much got a bargain when we booked through orbit. When we got to the hotel we were surprised to how not NOT shady the place actually was. The room was clean and nothing was wrong except for a light that seemed to be out. We called the front desk and they had the light working while we took a walk to the beach. The staff was very nice and respected the guest and did a good job cleaning and taking care of us. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colonia, NJ
May 30, 2011

good for the price

hotel was clean and staff very nice and friendly. area hotel is in is not that great, but if you're from the city no big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CATROD
Business
UNION CITY, NJ
May 29, 2011

GOOD LOCATION, BAD AREA

IT WAS A NICE HOTEL. CLEAN AND HELPFUL STAFF. THE AREA WAS NOT NICE, HOWEVER, AND ALTHOUGH LOCATED NEXT TO A CHURCH, THERE WAS A REHAB CENTER ON THE OTHER SIDE. THE FIRST NIGHT THERE WE WERE TOLD NOT TO WALK AROUND LATE AT NIGHT, THAT THERE ARE "A LOT OF CRAZIES" AND WE SAW PROSTITUTES AT THE DOOR OF OUR HOTEL. IT WAS A VERY CLOSE DISTANCE TO THE BOARDWALK AND FOR THE PRICE DEF COULDNT BEAT THAT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

TRY OUT THE HARRAHS BUFFFET AND PACKAGE DEAL. THE BUFFET WAS AMAZING AND THE SHOW FANTASTIC. TOOK THE JITNEY BUS RIGHT OUTSIDE THE HOTEL AND DROPPED US OFF RIGHT IN FRONT. THE JITNEY PASSES 24/7

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top