$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 24, 2015 Check-out: Jan 26, 2015

Holiday Inn PORTSMOUTH

3 stars
300 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
39 reviews
Everything was great

The only thing is there is no continental breakfast, and for the price I would expect that of a... See full review

  • Momma Caudill
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great hotel amazing location

Perfect location to Portsmouth. Very clean hotel and very close to downtown Portsmouth . See full review

  • Nolanjs55
  • Sep 24, 2014
Find History and Adventure near Hotel's Address Portsmouth, NH is a unique seaside city bustling with culture, wondrous attractions and the Holiday Inn® Portsmouth hotel. Whether you're here for work or play, our hotel's location in Portsmouth, NH serves you well. If you're vacationing in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, our hotel's location is a great launching point. We're near historic sites like Strawbery Banke Museum, USS Albacore Museum and the Portsmouth Harbor Lighthouse. We're also a short drive from the thrilling rides at Water Country. Other nearby attractions include the Kittery Outlets, Prescott Park Arts Festival and the beaches of New Hampshire and Maine. Business travelers in Portsmouth, NH appreciate our hotel's proximity to nearby companies like Liberty Mutual, Lindt, Pease International Tradeport and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. They also enjoy our seven meeting rooms with 3,890 square feet of flexible space; access to our Business Center makes preparing for any event a breeze. While you stay in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, our hotel's amenities will satisfy your needs. Complimentary Wi-Fi access connects you to family and colleagues. Start your day with a workout in the Fitness Center, then cool off in an indoor pool. Swing by Table 21 Restaurant for a bowl of Cioppino, a guest favorite made with local seafood, or sit in the lounge and enjoy a burger and a cold beverage. Relax and join our Portsmouth, NH hotel's guests.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn PORTSMOUTH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Table 21 Restaurant & Bar
Casual American fare served in a comfortable atmosphere.
Table 21 Restaurant & Lounge
Whether you just want to unwind with a glass of wine or work out business details over a few beers, our lounge is the place to be. You can settle back and relax in the comfortable chairs while enjoying your favorite sports on the large flat screen TVs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTSMOUTH

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTSMOUTH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SAlejandro
Business
Spofford, NH
Sep 20, 2009

Worst hotel experience ever

There was a function at the Hotel which left no parking for the registered guests. The HVAC was exteremely noisey and the hall noise was enough to prevent and decent sleep. I will never go to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTSMOUTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chorister97
Business
Albany, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Fine--nothing more.

There wasn't anything particularly wrong with this hotel, but I stayed there a month ago and still came back to write a review. This hotel wasn't very welcoming from the start. One issue is that the (small!) parking lot is set up very strangely--most of the spaces are much farther away from the door than you'd want them to be in the winter when I traveled. The desk clerk was cordial but nothing more. We were given two double beds instead of one king as requested, and the walls were very thin--we could hear our neighbors on both sides. The internet was EXTREMELY slow and unreliable, and it's worth noting that the bathrooms are quite small. We also ran into two problems: our tub drain was broken and wouldn't drain properly the first morning, leaving the second person to take a shower standing in the dirty water from the first, and because of something about our room being on the same circuit as three other rooms so the power drain is more sensitive (??? that's basically how it was explained to me by the desk clerk), the power in our room went out for about 10 minutes one evening. None of these things alone is a particularly big deal, but all of it happening in two nights left us with a bad taste in our mouths. I'm glad that we got a low rate because of the season. I certainly wouldn't recommend staying here in the summer when the nightly rate is much higher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTSMOUTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dnizz
Business
Ma
Apr 4, 2012

It was fine nothing more

Room was small. I ordered a king bed and got a queen. It was fine nothing more nothing less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTSMOUTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Randy Business Traveler
Business
Bangor, Maine
Aug 11, 2012

Business Traveler

Room was very clean and bed comfortable. However, the room only had a very small shower, no bathtub. Didn't know that until I went to the room. Had I known, I wouldn't of stayed at this hotel. Was on the 6 Floor, had elevator only to 5th Floor, then had to take stairs. Again, wasn't told this at checkin. Won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTSMOUTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UNH Family
Business
New York
Jan 20, 2014

Noisy

Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds and pillows were uncomfortable. You could hear everything going on in the hallways. Children were running up and donw the hall and yelling late at night and early in the morning. Even if someone was just talking normally in the hallway, you could hear it in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTSMOUTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
[@], LAWRENCE, MASS.
Aug 4, 2009

8-1-09 stay at Holiday Inn, Portsmouth,

NOWORKING TOILET IN ROOM, A DISASTER NOT TO BE EXPECTED IN A LARGE CHAIN OF HOTELS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTSMOUTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern Mass.
Aug 23, 2009

Good deal!

Clean not too fancy but but just right for the price. Short drive to downtown Portsmouth but ~$100/night cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Friendlytoast or Colby's for breakfast. Flatbread Pizza for dinner. Park in downtown garage $.75/hour great deal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTSMOUTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joeandsal
Business
westchester, ny
Apr 9, 2012

Not bad, not great....

The room was clean and mostly renovated...but the bathroon was very small and the tub/shower needed to be updated. The location was great very close to town and the price was fair at 99.00 a night. So overall, pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Theportsmouth brew pub was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTSMOUTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wkend Away
Business
Milford, MA
Aug 9, 2012

Average Hotel

Clean, convenient to highway, actually right on the rotary. Easy to get to. No view, no outdoor pool, has a small indoor pool next to the parking lot. Short drive to downtown area. Would be fine for the busy guest that doesn't spend time at the hotel. Nothing for the children to do at this site, except for the indoor pool,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Portsmouth, Strawberry Banke area, Harbor Cruises, outdoor restaurants and bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTSMOUTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kleckel
Business
Wilmington, DE
Aug 30, 2012

Convenient/Off the Road/Fairly comfortable for the price

Location is right off the road and easy to access. About a mile from the main things you would want to visit in Portsmouth, most likely would have to drive wherever you want to visit. I booked on a third party website but apparently should have waited because my deal was for $165 and there was a coupon in a travel book for $79. The front desk was very apologetic and said they could do it for $99 until they realized I went through third party and couldn't change anything. Moral of this story, call the hotel first! Room was comfortable and mostly clean. Bathroom./Shower was a bit cramped and dated; but definitely still worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top