$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

The Margate Resort

2 stars
76 Lake Street, 76 Lake Street, Laconia, NH 03246
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
9 reviews
Great Place

Room was clean and very welcoming after a long trip. Staff was courteous and very helpful. View was... See full review

  • Genie G
  • Jun 25, 2013
Adequate facility for the stay we had.

No problems at all. convenient to all the locations we wanted to visit. See full review

  • ddisisto
  • Dec 31, 2013
Come to The Margate and enjoy all the amenities expected of a first class lakefront resort and conference facility less than two hours north of Boston. Whether taking a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools sunning on our 400 foot private sandy beach relaxing in our whirlpoolsauna or dining at our Gazebo Beach Bar for lunch or dinner you are sure to find all the comforts of home. Beautifully decorated and maintained guest rooms onsite event and dining facilities and a skilled staff dedicated to making your stay a wonderful experience make The Margate on Lake Winnipesaukee the place to vacation in the Lakes Region. All guest rooms are fully equipped with stainless steel refrigerators Keurig KCup Coffee Makers and Green Mountain coffee flat screen TVs free wireless internet irons ironing boards and hairdryers. Choose a room in our Lake building for spectacular views of the lake and unparalleled sunsets. For convenience during inclement weather the Lake building is connected to the amenities building by underground tunnel. For a motel style experience choose our West building. West Beach guests enjoy quick access to our sandy beach just steps away from your door. Many West Inland rooms have back doors leading to our West Lawn area. Our Inn building units located across the street from the lake and our main facility are generally larger than the other buildings offer the lowest rates and being located right next to our outdoor pool makes the Inn a great choice by most families during the summer season. Cancellation If cancelling less than 7 days prior to arrival your 1night deposit will be nonrefundable. If 7 or more days advance notice is given prior to arrival a minimum 25 USD cancellation fee will be deducted from your deposit and the remainder of the deposit will be refunded.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Margate Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

The Margate Resort Rooms

Lake View 2 Double Beds Non Smok
Description not provided
1 King Bed Lake View Non Smoking
Description not provided
2 Double Beds Courtyard Non Smok
Description not provided
West Inland 2 Double Beds
Description not provided
Inn Building 2 Double Beds
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for The Margate Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Margate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddisisto
Business
Albany, NY
Dec 31, 2013

Adequate facility for the stay we had.

No problems at all. convenient to all the locations we wanted to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese and sushi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Margate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bcdefghij
Business
Norwalk, CT
Oct 22, 2013

A Beautiful Place

Clean rooms and common areas, friendly staff, beautiful site with it's own beach. The pool is in another building from the rooms. The restaurant is only open for breakfast (an excellent buffet for $7.) Convenient to the town and it's restaurants, grocery stores, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A great candy/souvenir shop in Weirs Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Margate Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Genie G
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 25, 2013

Great Place

Room was clean and very welcoming after a long trip. Staff was courteous and very helpful. View was so beautiful. Had a lake view room. So quiet and peaceful and beautiful. Would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Margate Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grez
Business
Haverhill, MA.
Apr 22, 2013

Fantastic night out

My wife and I stayed at the Margate for just one night after a wedding we attended, and thought it best not to drive back to Massachusetts that night. Our stay there was very enjoyable. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a great view of the beach from our room as well. The staff there were really friendly and helpful. We enjoyed it so much, that we have discussed staying there again in the summer so we can enjoy the beach while we stay there. The location is great as it is very close to weirs beach and a lot of great attractions that Laconia has to offer. Can't wait to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Margate Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wood Bender
Business
Bridgewater, MA
Oct 11, 2012

Good location

Hotel has everything you need though it does need updateing. Views of the lake well worth it but try not to be on the first floor as everyone is right outside your window. Hotel was almost an hour behind in the check allownace time which was a little inconvienent. Beds and room need to be updated. Overall would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Good comedy show in the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Margate Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
breedanyiel
Business
Lunenburg, MA
Aug 21, 2012

Great location from Meadowbrook Pavillion

Staff was friendly but a bit slow with check in and out. Their system seems very old and outdated, aka paper hand written reservation cards etc. They also give you metal room keys, which wasnt an issue but seemed very old fashion. We just stayed there overnight for a place to crash after a concert, so really didnt get to try many of the extras. The indoor and outdoor pools looked nice. Location near the lake was very nice. Rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. Pretty basic ammenities otherwise. Nothing fancy, but all you would need. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Margate Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrey
Business
Melrose, MA
Sep 8, 2011

Very nice!

We stayed at Margate over the Labor Day weekend Sep. 2011. Room was clean and comfy. Swimming pool, sauna, hottub - all very nice. The best thing that I liked was the Gazebo bar which is right next to the boat dock. We kept our boat at the dock for the whole duration of the stay and it was very convenient. The service, food and drinks at the Gazebo were exceptional! The small minus - no Wi-Fi access in the Inn Building where we stayed but all other buildings do have Internet access. This is very minor as I came there to relax and enjoy the mini vacation and not to surf the net :) Very big plus is that shopping plaza is walking distance with big supermarket. Thank you Margate and Orbitz we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Margate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New England
Jun 29, 2011

An Enjoyable Vacation Hote

Excellent from beginning to end. Staff was welcoming, the accommodations were spacious, clean, comfortable and included several nice extras. The price was amazing for the area and location. It as one of the most pleasant stays I have enjoyed in the past several years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Inn is located on a Lake with all sorts of scenic activities very near. Lots of fun for a family

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Margate Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southeastern MA
Mar 20, 2011

Clean and adequate

Things started with the hotel having no record of my reservation. Luckily, they had the room type that I wanted. The room was very clean, but quite dated. The heating unit was very noisy, as was the bathroom fan. The Keurig coffee maker is plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tavern 27 was a great dining experience. Tapas in Laconia? Who would have thought it could be so good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top