$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Quality Inn University

2 stars
5719 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
17 reviews
Very family friendly

The hotel was very nice and atiquit. It was nice to be able to fix coffee in the room. We also... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 30, 2008
Very family friendly

The hotel was very nice and atiquit. It was nice to be able to fix coffee in the room. We also... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 30, 2008
Our hotel is convenient to all areas of Winston-Salem. We are only minutes from Wake Forest University, several business parks, Olde Salem, the Reynolda House and village, and many fine restaurants. There are rooms with microwaves and refrigerators available. The hotel offers a continental breakfast that includes hot Belgain waffles. Let our enthusiastic staff welcome you with open arms! Pet Accommodation: 25.00/stay per pet.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn University also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.1773 -80.2744
Nearby airports
Piedmont Triad Int'l. Arpt., (GSO), 30.00, MI, E; Douglas International Arpt, (CLT), 90.00, MI, SW; Raleigh/Durham Int'l Airport, (RDU), 120.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, Wake Forest Univ

Nearby points of interest

  • Wake Forest University: 2.9 mi
  • BB&T Field: 3.4 mi
  • Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn University

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.4

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harmonica
Business
Church Hill, TN, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Upset

I booked only one night, which is customary for me even though I planned to stay several nights. My reasoning is that more than once in my extensive traveling I have ended up in an unsatisfactory room. I went to the lobby at 7 am to let them know I was going to stay over for three more nights. While the clerk was polite there was no assistance to possibly relocate me to another room or hotel. I explained my problem of needing to be at an early meeting to no avail. I was told I would have to vacate the room. Needless to say I missed my appointment because of the move and finding another hotel a few blocks away. I will be taking my business elsewhere in the future which is about 200 nights a year in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Book at Days Inn a few blocks away. I was told that due to their location they seldom fill up. It may save you an eviction.

Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mom visiting Wake Campus
Winston salem, NC
Nov 22, 2013

Horrible stay

Really bad, room drafty and uncomfortable. Will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bubella
Asheville, NC
Oct 1, 2012

NOT a QUALITY Inn

I made a reservation weeks in advance and was told I would have a first floor room. When I got there there was one person at the desk who spent an inordinate amount of time checking in people so I waited about 45 minutes as the third person in line. Then I was informed there was no first floor room available. Since I could not manage two flights of outside stairs and long, dark, creepy hallways to get to the upstairs room and since the upstairs room smelled bad and the bed was worn out and horrible, I rescinded my reservation and left. I am not surprised that one of the other reviewers complained about bugs in the room. I wish I had checked the reviews before I went but in my prior experience Quality Inns have always been fine. I would never stay in this hotel and I would never reccomend it to anyone. The hotel I eventually found a room in was clean and the people working there were pleasant and helpful and it cost $20 less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cherry bomb
Rocky Mount, NC
May 14, 2012

Graduation

I was looking for a hotel close by to the Coliseum for my friend's graduation and the location and distance was perfect. Not too far and almost a straight shot. The room was very clean, and up-to-date. I enjoyed the features such as the microwave and fridge because some hotels don't provide those. I only stayed one night but everything I needed was available. The staff was very helpful and kind when I asked them for assistance. I definitely recommend this hotel to others and I wouldn't mind staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Winston was about a 10 min drive and there was a strip with plenty of bars and night clubs.

Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harmonica
Business
Church Hill, TN, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Upset

I booked only one night, which is customary for me even though I planned to stay several nights. My reasoning is that more than once in my extensive traveling I have ended up in an unsatisfactory room. I went to the lobby at 7 am to let them know I was going to stay over for three more nights. While the clerk was polite there was no assistance to possibly relocate me to another room or hotel. I explained my problem of needing to be at an early meeting to no avail. I was told I would have to vacate the room. Needless to say I missed my appointment because of the move and finding another hotel a few blocks away. I will be taking my business elsewhere in the future which is about 200 nights a year in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Book at Days Inn a few blocks away. I was told that due to their location they seldom fill up. It may save you an eviction.

Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fall Traveler
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Oct 24, 2011

close to WF campus, but bugs in room

we had a recently remodeled room..but found bugs and heat/ac did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
norfolk, va.
Dec 6, 2010

worst place I ever stayed

room had to be aired out and recleaned. we were on a close time schedule and the room being closed up while we were gone, aprox. 7 hours,a strong unbearable smell of stale smoke was still in the room, even though the room was listed as a non-smoking room). because of the stinck we checked out around 6 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

allow youself time to check room and find other accomidations if necessary.

Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
norfolk, va.
Dec 6, 2010

worst place I ever stayed

room had to be aired out and recleaned. we were on a close time schedule and the room being closed up while we were gone, aprox. 7 hours,a strong unbearable smell of stale smoke was still in the room, even though the room was listed as a non-smoking room). because of the stinck we checked out around 6 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

allow youself time to check room and find other accomidations if necessary.

Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilmington, NC
Nov 3, 2010

Avoid this hotel like the plague.

When my wife and I went to check in mid-October, 2010 at this Quality Inn on University Parkway in Winston-Salem, the front desk clerk spent an inordinate amount of time discussing sports teams and other social matters with the individual in front of us before paying us any attention. Upon completing the check in process I informed the clerk that I was going to write a letter of complaint about the poor service. He then stated he would have us evicted if we went to our room. Not believing this incredible comment, my wife went to the second floor room while I started to unpack the car in the parking lot below. During that process one of the hotel's workers confronted my wife in the room's doorway and stated – in an exchange that frightened her – that the front desk clerk, who claimed to be the hotel owner – was evicting us. I subsequently wrote a registered-mail letter to the President of Choice Hotels International in Silver Springs, MD complaining about this outrageous event. After not hearing anything for two weeks, I managed to get somebody from corporate headquarters on the phone who acknowledged receiving my letter. Two days later I received an email from the Quality Inn front desk clerk – whose business card had read VP Operations but now claimed to be the General Manager – apologizing for the incident but stating the hotel had the right to refuse service to any person for any reason. We were able to get our expenses reimbursed but the collective attitude – from the bland corporate phone discussion to the lame email apology that followed – smacked of indifference. My family and I shall never again patronize any of the hotel names under the Choice Hotels International affiliation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilmington, NC
Nov 3, 2010

Avoid this hotel like the plague.

When my wife and I went to check in mid-October, 2010 at this Quality Inn on University Parkway in Winston-Salem, the front desk clerk spent an inordinate amount of time discussing sports teams and other social matters with the individual in front of us before paying us any attention. Upon completing the check in process I informed the clerk that I was going to write a letter of complaint about the poor service. He then stated he would have us evicted if we went to our room. Not believing this incredible comment, my wife went to the second floor room while I started to unpack the car in the parking lot below. During that process one of the hotel's workers confronted my wife in the room's doorway and stated – in an exchange that frightened her – that the front desk clerk, who claimed to be the hotel owner – was evicting us. I subsequently wrote a registered-mail letter to the President of Choice Hotels International in Silver Springs, MD complaining about this outrageous event. After not hearing anything for two weeks, I managed to get somebody from corporate headquarters on the phone who acknowledged receiving my letter. Two days later I received an email from the Quality Inn front desk clerk – whose business card had read VP Operations but now claimed to be the General Manager – apologizing for the incident but stating the hotel had the right to refuse service to any person for any reason. We were able to get our expenses reimbursed but the collective attitude – from the bland corporate phone discussion to the lame email apology that followed – smacked of indifference. My family and I shall never again patronize any of the hotel names under the Choice Hotels International affiliation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Linda De
Washington, WV
Apr 4, 2010

"Price was really good"

It was a typical hotel. It was not the best I have stayed in, however it was by far not the worse. It was quiet, easy to find, and clean. No problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Chinese food, there was a Chinese buffet just steps away from the lobby. The food was good and the price was excellent.

Back to menu Return to top