$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Quality Inn University

2 stars
View map of 5719 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
15 reviews
Very friendly

We stayed for a night in town. Had an awesome time. Staff was nice and rooms were clean!! See full review

  • Regina W.
  • Apr 15, 2015
College trip

I stayed at this hotel while my son was touring Wake Forest University. The check in staff was very... See full review

  • Ramona R.
  • Mar 26, 2015
Our hotel is convenient to all areas of Winston-Salem. We are only minutes from Wake Forest University, several business parks, Olde Salem, the Reynolda House and village, and many fine restaurants. There are rooms with microwaves and refrigerators available. The hotel offers a continental breakfast that includes hot Belgain waffles. Let our enthusiastic staff welcome you with open arms! Pet Accommodation: 25.00/stay per pet.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn University also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Wake Forest University: 2.9 mi
  • BB&T Field: 3.4 mi
  • Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn University

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.7

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harmonica
Business
Church Hill, TN, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Upset

I booked only one night, which is customary for me even though I planned to stay several nights. My reasoning is that more than once in my extensive traveling I have ended up in an unsatisfactory room. I went to the lobby at 7 am to let them know I was going to stay over for three more nights. While the clerk was polite there was no assistance to possibly relocate me to another room or hotel. I explained my problem of needing to be at an early meeting to no avail. I was told I would have to vacate the room. Needless to say I missed my appointment because of the move and finding another hotel a few blocks away. I will be taking my business elsewhere in the future which is about 200 nights a year in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Book at Days Inn a few blocks away. I was told that due to their location they seldom fill up. It may save you an eviction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regina W.
Business
N/A
Apr 15, 2015

Very friendly

We stayed for a night in town. Had an awesome time. Staff was nice and rooms were clean!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ramona R.
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

College trip

I stayed at this hotel while my son was touring Wake Forest University. The check in staff was very helpful. She told me I had somehow been switched from my original non smoking room to a smoking room. That was not her fault and she was most helpful in getting me a non smoking room even though it meant upgrading to a king room. The check out staff was not so helpful. In fact I don't think she even got out of her chair to take my room key and when I asked for a receipt she told me I'd have to get it through who ever I booked with. She did not seem at all happy to be at work. In fact, the many checking out ahead of me didn't seem too impressed with her either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
skentie
Business
Northern Virginia
Oct 20, 2014

Not too bad, not too good

The staff member who checked me in greeted me outside the building while smoking a cigarette. This person was polite, but a little unprofessional. The door to my room looked like it had been forced open on more than one occasion. The room was fairly tidy but nothing stood out. In a pinch, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dunnivan
Business
Maryland
Oct 20, 2014

Poor Choice

We were desperate to find a hotel for this particular weekend and stayed at this 2-star establishment. The hotel did not live up to my expectations and the room had a stale odor. I would never stay at a 2 star hotel again if this is what is to be expected. The hotel staff, however, were very polite,.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mom visiting Wake Campus
Business
Winston salem, NC
Nov 22, 2013

Horrible stay

Really bad, room drafty and uncomfortable. Will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bubella
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 1, 2012

NOT a QUALITY Inn

I made a reservation weeks in advance and was told I would have a first floor room. When I got there there was one person at the desk who spent an inordinate amount of time checking in people so I waited about 45 minutes as the third person in line. Then I was informed there was no first floor room available. Since I could not manage two flights of outside stairs and long, dark, creepy hallways to get to the upstairs room and since the upstairs room smelled bad and the bed was worn out and horrible, I rescinded my reservation and left. I am not surprised that one of the other reviewers complained about bugs in the room. I wish I had checked the reviews before I went but in my prior experience Quality Inns have always been fine. I would never stay in this hotel and I would never reccomend it to anyone. The hotel I eventually found a room in was clean and the people working there were pleasant and helpful and it cost $20 less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cherry bomb
Business
Rocky Mount, NC
May 14, 2012

Graduation

I was looking for a hotel close by to the Coliseum for my friend's graduation and the location and distance was perfect. Not too far and almost a straight shot. The room was very clean, and up-to-date. I enjoyed the features such as the microwave and fridge because some hotels don't provide those. I only stayed one night but everything I needed was available. The staff was very helpful and kind when I asked them for assistance. I definitely recommend this hotel to others and I wouldn't mind staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Winston was about a 10 min drive and there was a strip with plenty of bars and night clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harmonica
Business
Church Hill, TN, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Upset

I booked only one night, which is customary for me even though I planned to stay several nights. My reasoning is that more than once in my extensive traveling I have ended up in an unsatisfactory room. I went to the lobby at 7 am to let them know I was going to stay over for three more nights. While the clerk was polite there was no assistance to possibly relocate me to another room or hotel. I explained my problem of needing to be at an early meeting to no avail. I was told I would have to vacate the room. Needless to say I missed my appointment because of the move and finding another hotel a few blocks away. I will be taking my business elsewhere in the future which is about 200 nights a year in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Book at Days Inn a few blocks away. I was told that due to their location they seldom fill up. It may save you an eviction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fall Traveler
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Oct 24, 2011

close to WF campus, but bugs in room

we had a recently remodeled room..but found bugs and heat/ac did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
norfolk, va.
Dec 6, 2010

worst place I ever stayed

room had to be aired out and recleaned. we were on a close time schedule and the room being closed up while we were gone, aprox. 7 hours,a strong unbearable smell of stale smoke was still in the room, even though the room was listed as a non-smoking room). because of the stinck we checked out around 6 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

allow youself time to check room and find other accomidations if necessary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top