$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Holiday Inn Express WINSTON-SALEM

3 stars
2520 PETERS CREEK PKWY, WINSTON-SALEM, NC 27127
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
19 reviews
Great place to stay with great staff and service.

We have stayed at this hotel on previous trips to Winston-Salem and have returned because of the... See full review

  • Grad Student's Dad
  • May 22, 2013
A very good value

It was located very conveniently near the highway, but still very quiet. See full review

  • HowardW
  • Oct 14, 2013
Our Winston - Salem Hotel's Location Pleases Guests Since the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Winston - Salem is just a short drive from the downtown area and from nearby corporations, our Winston - Salem hotel's property is perfectly positioned for leisure and business travelers alike. Whenever you're visiting for work, take advantage of the handy Business Center, as well as our comfortable event room. We're also close to the VA Satellite Clinic and the VA Outpatient Clinic. Nearby corporations include the BB&T, Krispy Kreme and Wachovia Headquarters, and we're near the Benton Convention Center, so you can attend area events with ease. Leisure guests should be sure to set aside an afternoon to explore the Reynolda House's beautiful art collection or to take a few hours to explore Bethabara Park. After a lovely day outdoors, head over to the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum for an awesome show, or shopping at Hanes Mall. Our hotel's guests in Winston - Salem, NC also enjoy visiting Old Salem Museum & Gardens, which is a favorite for groups of all ages. Before beginning your day, visit the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar and enjoy a delicious meal of eggs and crisp bacon or sausage. The hotel's guests in Winston - Salem, NC appreciate the free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the facility. An outdoor pool and Fitness Center are available when you want to relax and unwind. We hope to see you soon!

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express WINSTON-SALEM also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.0647 -80.2593
Nearby airports
Piedmont Triad International Airport, (GSO), 24.00, MI, W; Smith Reynolds Airport, (INT), 6.00, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum: 4.4 mi
  • BB&T Field: 4.6 mi
  • Wake Forest University: 5.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express WINSTON-SALEM

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express WINSTON-SALEM

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flyfisher
Raleigh, NC
Feb 9, 2014

Good value

Clean, quiet, good breakfast, friendly staff. Convenient to downtown and Hanes Mall. Microwave, refrigerator, and tv all worked well. All I saw in need of improvement was a loose shower curtain rod, i.e., a minor issue at most. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express WINSTON-SALEM

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
xkas123
Huntsville, AL
Nov 3, 2013

Sucks

As mentioned in other reviews, this property is located next to I-40 and is very loud. I approached the front desk at midnight to ask why I had been put on the loud side if there were rooms on the quiet side and was told there were rarely any complaints about the noise. Now, I could have moved to the quiet side but one member of my group was asleep so I would have had to pay for another room. I do not think much of a hotel that charged me such a high price for such poor accommodations and the employees lie to my face. Clearly, there is a problem with the noise but the staff pretends that is not true. Do not take a room on the even number side unless you want to be awoken by semis all night long. Better yet, find a decent hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express WINSTON-SALEM

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HowardW
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Oct 14, 2013

A very good value

It was located very conveniently near the highway, but still very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express WINSTON-SALEM

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oscar Mom
Business
Midwest
Oct 3, 2013

Noisiest Hotel Room I Have EVER Stayed in!

I drove 10 hours for a business meeting so checked in late. The front desk clerk reeked of cigarette smoke, was sullen and arrogant, completely unhelpful. I had specifically requested the quietest possible room so when I reached my room and heard how loud it was, I immediately requested another room. Even though the parking lot was less than half full, I was told the hotel was full and no other rooms were available. I had less than 2 hours sleep. Add this to the centipedes on the walls and in the closet, the hairs all over the bathroom from a prior guest, the fact that my room phone did not work (I had a cell but wanted the room phone available for emergencies), etc. etc. To top it off, the parking lot was being paved both days I was there, so all of the guests had to move their cars to another lot not owned by the hotel, and carry any packages, luggage, etc. about 1/4 a mile. Breakfast was a greasy (sausage) watery (juice) joke. I bought earplugs for the second night but even with them in I could still hear at least 30 decibel noise in the bathroom even with the door closed. Manager was completely uninterested in any of this. A room here is not worth $39, never mind the ludicrous $119 I was charged. Would give this place zero stars if I could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express WINSTON-SALEM

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob Asheville
NC
Jul 10, 2013

Not a 3 Star Hotel

I do not have any major complains it just this is not a 3 star hotel. Nothing special, small rooms, setting not very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hong Chinese's Restaurant Had very good food.

Review of Holiday Inn Express WINSTON-SALEM

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grad Student's Dad
Canton, Ohio
May 22, 2013

Great place to stay with great staff and service.

We have stayed at this hotel on previous trips to Winston-Salem and have returned because of the comfort, cleanliness, staff and service. The only negative for us was its proximity to Wake Forrest University -- it's a little father away from campus than we would prefer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express WINSTON-SALEM

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Japheth
Durham, NC
Jul 31, 2012

Stopover on return home

I was warmly greeted upon arrival at this hotel. I arrived early and was prepared to read in the lobby until 3:00 pm. The front desk checked with the individual in charge of housekeeping and the room was ready to go (ahead of time). I decided to take a dip in the swimming pool before dinner. Although the water temperature was fine, the surface of the pool had a fair number of leaves and bugs. For dinner, I was hoping to find a restaurant within walking distance but this proves to be challenging. Take your car for safety's sake or better yet pack your own. Breakfast was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Traffic is heavy along Peters Parkway. I advise driving over walking.

Review of Holiday Inn Express WINSTON-SALEM

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DrDantheMan
Hayes, va
Jun 11, 2012

Ok

Typical "just off theinterstate " hotel. My parents were just up the street at HIE West and their beds were nicer. Not impressed with breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Panera bread just up the road

Review of Holiday Inn Express WINSTON-SALEM

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Teaneck, NJ, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Family visit

The location was great ,around different eateries .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express WINSTON-SALEM

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iFixIT
Business
Gulf Coast
Aug 16, 2011

Good Mid-Budget place to stay

Very easy access to local places. Several places to eat on this exit and the next one up. Close to the Mall and other shopping. For Business people the Office Depot is at this exit. Staff is very friendly and the room I had was spacious compared to others in the area. Excellent breakfast. Real food not just bagal and waffle. Sausage or Bacon, buscuit and gravy, eggs. Also noticed the hotel is "kid friendly". rolling beds, pool. Location was docked one because you have to make U turns to get in to hotel and out to the shopping center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

King Buffet on corner has excellent variety of chinese, light seafood, kids selection, salad, and is good price.

Back to menu Return to top