$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

3 stars
5126 Market Street Bus 17, Wilmington, NC 28405
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
55 reviews
outstanding

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The accommodations were top rate and the breakfast... See full review

  • unforgetable
  • Sep 11, 2014
I would stay again!

The staff was friendly and professional. The room was clean and comfortable. Hotel had everything... See full review

  • Joni K B
  • Jun 5, 2014
Wilmington hotel close to shopping, airport with free breakfast, Wi-Fi
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington is located on Route 17 in Wilmington, N.C., with easy access to Wilmington International Airport, Wilmington Riverwalk, University of North Carolina Wilmington, USS North Carolina, Wrightsville Beach and several corporate offices. Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington is also convenient to the shops and restaurants of New Centre Market, directly across the street. Amenities include an outdoor pool, an indoor whirlpool, free Wi-Fi, a free daily deluxe continental breakfast, airport shuttle service (fees apply) and spacious rooms.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free daily deluxe continental breakfast
  • Outdoor pool, indoor whirlpool
  • Airport shuttle service available (charges apply)
Rooms
The 100 spacious, nonsmoking guest rooms at the Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington feature a king or two double beds with practical amenities like free Wi-Fi, a refrigerator, a microwave, a desk, a television with Internet connectivity, HBO and movies-on-demand, a free weekday USA Today newspaper, and two phones with free local calls. Bathrooms offer toiletries, a hair-dryer, and lots of counter space. Executive suites with whirlpools are available for added relaxation.
Features
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington guests arrive from Wilmington International Airport via the handy airport shuttle service for a small fee. Travelers set out to explore the historic downtown area at Wilmington Riverwalk with more than 200 unique shops, restaurants and attractions. After exploring the city, guests take a leisurely swim in the sparkling outdoor pool, lounge in the indoor whirlpool or get in a quick workout at the fitness center. Travelers check email and connect with family, friends and business associates using free Wi-Fi. The shops and restaurants of New Centre Market are directly across the street.
Dining
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington guests treat themselves to free deluxe continental breakfast daily. Several restaurants are within walking distance, including Hieronymus Seafood, Quiznos, Bonefish Grill, Waffle House, Sticky Fingers BBQ, Incredible Pizza, Olive Garden and Hooters.
Transportation
  • Airport shuttle service available (charges apply)
  • Wilmington International Airport (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
Attractions
  • UNC Wilmington (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Screen Gems Studio (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Bellamy Mansion (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Cape Fear Museum (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Jungle Rapids Family Park (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Children's Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Wilmington Riverwalk (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Wrightsville Beach (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • USS North Carolina (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Fort Fisher (20 mi/32.2 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • A 24-hour business center
  • Free printing, fax, copy service
  • Offers 1,100 square feet of total meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, N.C.
Dec 5, 2010

Disconcerting

I had stayed in this hotel before so I was surprised to see little bugs crawling around the bathroom in the morning. Needless to say that the first thing I thought of was bedbugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Nov 3, 2010

Speeding Ticket, DC love in N.C.

Old TV. Friendly staff. Hot shower was nice. Free beer and wine in the lobby while we were checking was very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hieronymous Seafood was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rozzie357
Business
Greenville SC
Sep 11, 2009

Wingate by Wyndham

We were in Wilmington NC for a family party on Labor Day weekend. The staff were nice and helpful. The rooms were just like any other hotel. There was a mix up in the booking. I asked for a room with two double beds and recieved a room with one king. They were booked up so no chance to change rooms. The walls were so thin you could hear the next room turning on the light switch next to the bed, and we could hear them talking. So we kept our voices down so they wouldn't hear us. This was our first time staying with this chain and I won't search them out the next I am booking a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a nice dinner at the Bone Fish Grill, it was located across the street from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K+D
Business
Burlington, VT
Apr 16, 2010

Mediocre, at best

The hotel itself was nice and very clean. The indoor hot tub is a nice touch. The gym is nothing special, but it gets the job done, and the continental breakfast is definitely not bad. The pool was closed the entire week that we stayed. The listed amenities include an outdoor pool. We were very disappointed that the staff didn't offer anything other than attitude when letting us know (probably because we were the hundredth customer to inquire). The location is good if you have a car. There are a few restaurants and box stores within walking distance, but downtown and the beaches, the real heart of Wilmington, are an hour to an hour and a half long walk, sidewalks sometimes available on Market St. All in all, I'd call my hotel experience mediocre at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy Traveler 16
Business
Ashburn, VA
Sep 9, 2013

Something to consider

The hotel has been recently remodeled and the rooms are clean. The staff is very accommodating too. However, the air in the room was not filtered properly. We were glad to leave after one night since it was affecting our breathing. I hope this gets fixed so we can go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mz Reese
Business
North Carolina
Dec 31, 2013

Decent Business Getaway

The staff were excellent! There was brown grit in the toilet that looked like snuff and the toilet had problems flushing. Otherwise, the amenities were great! Only mishap was the business center only had one computer. Overall, it was a decent place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 13, 2010

[...]

The hotel was a great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bonefish is across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
May 18, 2010

Good place to stay, close to everything

Front desk people were very friendly. Cont brkfst was ok, we've had better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Tennis Lover
Business
Olympia, WA
Apr 25, 2010

Our Stay in Wilmington

Everything met my expectations. Beds were great, complimentary breakfast was varied, and the housekeeping staff was very efficient and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Boca Bay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
F3kflyer
Business
Sugar Grove, NC
Sep 30, 2014

weekend get a way

The staff were all wonderfull and gave great info on local places to eat. The bed and bath were clean and well stocked. The only two faults I have were that the carpet in the room was not real clean and your socks or feet got dirty just walking on it and the spa had mold growing along the edges. We turned the jets on in the spa and it foamed up and had a lot of black crud in the foam. Needless to say we did not get in that. Everything else was really good and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Really good local food in the historic district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top