$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 16, 2014

Red Roof Inn Wilmington NC

2 stars
5107 Market St, I-40 at US Business Rte 17, Wilmington, NC 28405
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
46 reviews
great location

The Red Roof Inn in Wilmington was very comforatble and clean. I like the fact that the admitting... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 29, 2008
Sixteenth Wedding Anniversary

The location of the hotel was great: very close to the and excellant restaurants. The pool and room... See full review

  • Lucy Retired
  • Jun 9, 2012
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Wilmington in North Carolina! This hotel is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. The Red Roof Wilmington is conveniently located near the University of North Carolina Wilmington – UNCW, Coastlines Convention Center, Cape Fear Community College and New Hanover Hospital. While visiting Wilmington you can also enjoy the Jungle Rapids Water Park, the Wilmington Railroad Museum, Fort Fisher Aquarium and the Battleship North Carolina.

Hotel Map

34.2445 -77.8801
Nearby airports
New Hanover Intl Airport, (ILM), 2.40, MI, NW;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Wilmington NC also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Wilmington NC Rooms

Deluxe
All inclusive King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds, work desk, 2 chairs & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Cracker Barrel
1 mile
Carrabba s (Italian)
1 mile
Ruby Tuesday
1 mile
Applebee s
1 mile
Chick-fil-a
Adjacent
Waffle House
Walking Distance

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Wilmington NC

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.8

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Wilmington NC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elle B
Wilmington, nc
Mar 9, 2014

Bathroom completely unsanitary

I stayed in a nonsmoking room that had cigarette burns all over the comforter and bathtub. The bottom of the bathtub was chipping away and brown from discoloration. There was no hot water and a used bar of soap sitting on the side of the tub when I first arrived. There was also a black hair on the wall in the shower. None of the outlets in the bathroom worked so I sat on the side of the bed to blow dry my hair with no mirror. Awful rooms, but nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Red Roof Inn Wilmington NC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UNCW father
Asheville, NC
Aug 20, 2012

Terrible Experience

We reserved two nights but had to check out after the first night it was so bad. The room had a terrible roach problem. I was awakened by a 2" cockroach crawling up my arm. It was hard to go back to sleep after that. Other roaches even larger were seen on the ceiling and walls, making us very nervous and unable to relax. The carpet was sticky, the remote did not work for the TV. There were three of us in the room but only two smaller than normal, thin, worn out bath towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn Wilmington NC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ex. Cop
Raleigh NC.
Aug 26, 2012

Worst hotel I ever stayed at!

Wouldn't stay there again even if you paid me! Switched rooms three times, every room had issues such as a broken air conditioner or carpet soaked because of leaking sink ect. My wife fell in the shower bc there r no bath mats or stickers on the slick tub floor. We had a domestic disturbance at 4 am right next to our door. Our two male neighbors were yelling and threatening to shoot each other. The parking lot smelled like marijuana one evening when we arrived back frm diner and there was a stack of dirty mattreses stored in the back corner of the parking lot. Don't even waste your money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The seafood restaurant two buildings over, within walking distance, had some of the best seafood we ever had. Would highly recomend Hieronymus seafood restaurant and oyster bar.

Review of Red Roof Inn Wilmington NC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wejmaj
Paoli, PA
Jan 14, 2013

Thoroughly disgusted

I have never stayed in a more disgusting motel! I'm not a picky person - I just wanted a clean room. The lobby smelled, the front desk guy was rude, and the room was filthy. The bathroom was as bad as a public restroom on a highway. After showering in the morning, when we left the hotel, I wanted another shower to get clean from the room filth. I don't recommend even driving near this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn Wilmington NC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A. Nastasi
White Plains, N.Y.
Mar 1, 2013

Shabby.

The rooms were shabby and dirty. The first room's door lock was broken. The door was unlocked when I first got to the room and would not lock when I left. The desk clerk was pleasant and apologized and quickly gave me an equivalent room with a door lock that worked. The quality of the room was unfortunately the same. The desk clerks I dealt with were polite, though and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn Wilmington NC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lOSTRAMBLER88
SOUTH BOSTON, VA
May 27, 2013

3 star NO WAY!

We arrived a bit early and drove around the parking area. It was littered with piles of furniture. The building needed painting and overall appearance was run down. The room was ready at check in. We first noticed the holes in the furniture and the old paint on the vanity. The light over the vanity was flickering and needed to be replaced which was promptly taken care of. My wife would not use the shower and bath, for fear of germs. The wall paint was chipped near the corners from the bed hitting the wall during obvious activity. The shower handle fell off when I turned it. The room was poorly lit and the light near the bed had a switch that needed attention. Overall, the workers were great, polite, and did the best they could given the circumstances. This is not a 3 star hotel, our daughter found a similar room at the 1 star HOTEL for half the price. They knew enough not to claim 3 star status. Rbits will not be at the top of my list for future bookings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn Wilmington NC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Relaxing Vacationer
wilmington, nc
Jul 31, 2013

Would not recommend....

I would not recommend this hotel! When we checked in the bathroom was not cleaned. When I booked the hotel, it stated it was a 3.5 star not a 2 star. The rooms are small. It's basically like a motel. This was not a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn Wilmington NC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 22, 2007

Roach Motel

The Red Roof Inn needs to have a health inspection. We checked-in and checked-out the same night. I saw some dead roach bugs in the bathroom when we checked-in, but did not request another room. What a big mistake. As we were resting in bed before going to sleep, a live mid-size roach was crawling across the sheets. We would recommend the Red Roof Inn, Roach Motel, to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Red Roof Inn Wilmington NC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 19, 2008

Would Not Recommend

Several reasons for not recommending: * Heating/cooling system needed repair. * Had issues with high speed internet that were server related - could not resolve. * Bed linens were very old and when I turned down the covers, I found a cigarette butt in the covers. Not only was this room nonsmoking, but I just did not have a comfort level that the linens were clean. * The breakfast buffet was not up to par. * In general, the hotel seemed dirty and in disrepair. Too bad, since the location is perfect and I visit frequently. My daughter is at UNC Wilmington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn Wilmington NC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Morehead, Ky
Jul 25, 2011

Red Roof Inn

The location was great. The front desk staff were wonderful, but the room just didn't feel clean. The pool was just outside our door, which I thought was going to be great for the kids. I also thought the pool would close about 10 pm, but not quite. It was open ALL night long and less considerate guests took advantage of this and acted like it was the middle of the day-loud, vulgar language.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach was close and the water park was relatively close

Back to menu Return to top

Change search