$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

MainStay Suites Wilmington

3 stars
5229 Market Street Hwy 132 & US 17, Wilmington, NC 28405
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
32 reviews
First class

Excellent in every way,Front desk very friendly and accomodating. I would definately use this hotel... See full review

  • Keano
  • Jun 28, 2013
Last Minute Family Fun

Since this was a last minute Memorial Weekend trip most hotels were completely booked. I didn't... See full review

  • Super Saving Mom
  • May 25, 2014
All-suite Wilmington hotel near shopping with free breakfast, Internet
MainStay Suites Wilmington is located on bustling Route 17, steps away from a variety of shops and restaurants. Guests come to the MainStay Suites Wilmington for its all-suite kitchenettes with full-sized refrigerators, stoves, pots, utensils and close proximity to the University of North Carolina Wilmington. Guests can look forward to amenities like a seasonal outdoor pool, free high-speed Internet, free daily continental breakfast, a fitness center and a courtyard with a barbecue area, complete with grills.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Seasonal outdoor pool
  • All-suite hotel with kitchenettes
Rooms
MainStay Suites Wilmington suites are decorated in shades of cream and green with a bright bedspread. Suites feature one king or two queen beds, free high-speed Internet, a television, sofas, irons and ironing boards, hair-dryers, desks and alarm clock radios. Kitchenettes include two-burner stoves, microwaves, full-sized refrigerators, dishes, utensils, pots, pans, dishwashers and coffee-makers. Some suites offer two-person recliners and sofabeds.
Features
MainStay Suites Wilmington guests visit students on campus at University of North Carolina Wilmington, less than three miles away from the hotel. Travelers are also close to sunny Wrightsville Beach, USS North Carolina, Riverwalk and the television and movie sets of Screen Gems. When not exploring Wilmington, travelers head to the fitness center for a workout on treadmills and weight machines, and then cool off with a swim in the seasonal outdoor pool. Guests use free high-speed Internet to keep in touch with family and friends, check email, and look up local restaurants and destinations.
Dining
MainStay Suites Wilmington guests begin their mornings with free continental breakfast, including hot and cold cereal, croissant sandwiches, fruit, muffins and more. Guests make use of the courtyard area and picnic tables by cooking burgers, chicken and hot dogs on the grills. Several nearby dining spots include Hieronymus Seafood, Quiznos, Bonefish Grill, Waffle House, Sticky Fingers BBQ and Incredible Pizza.
Transportation
  • Wilmington International Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • UNC Wilmington (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Screen Gems Studio (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Bellamy Mansion (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Wrightsville Beach (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Cape Fear Museum (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Children's Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Wilmington Riverwalk (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Jungle Rapids Family Park (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • USS North Carolina (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Fort Fisher (21.1 mi/34 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Business center with copy, fax and print services
  • Projector, TV and VCR available
Policies and fees
Valid credit card required upon check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.2457 -77.876
Nearby airports
Wilmington Int'l Airport, (ILM), 4.00, MI, W; Raleigh/Durham Int'l Airport, (RDU), 99.00, MI, W; Myrtle Beach Int'l Airport, (MYR), 80.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, I-40 & US 17

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MainStay Suites Wilmington also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for MainStay Suites Wilmington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MainStay Suites Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jtc2001
Business
Ohio
Aug 21, 2014

Nice place

Had a nice stay at this hotel. I would recommend it especially for extended stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MainStay Suites Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mad Man C
Coastal NC
Jun 13, 2014

Wilmington NC Fishing Stay

Nice semi-central location for everything except not as close to beaches as desired. Stay was ok. Recliner was broken and never fixed as promised. Had to go get towels because they didn't bring them all day. Trash was not picked up. Furniture was dated. Beds were comfy. Good breakfast and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good places to eat very close by.

Review of MainStay Suites Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Saving Mom
Fayetteville, NC
May 25, 2014

Last Minute Family Fun

Since this was a last minute Memorial Weekend trip most hotels were completely booked. I didn't want to spend more than $150 for a one night stay. Upon our arrival at the hotel I wasn't sure what to expect…average, I guess. The outside was well kept, and the building looked nice. We were greeted by a woman sitting at her desk; this was where we checked in. For me, the check-in process is usually how I base my judgement of the facility. OMG! I couldn't believe the hospitality we received…probably the best check-in service I have experienced--ever! The woman at the front desk was knowledgeable about the area and was able to recommend places/sights, and even offered directions. She continued to tell me about the hotel amenities, and the hours for the complimentary continental breakfast which I was completely unaware of. The next morning, my family and I were surprised to see that the breakfast was far more than the typical continental breakfast usually consisting of muffins, cold cereal, and maybe a waffle maker. This was the FREE continental breakfast from heaven. They offered so much more: bagels, toast, yogurt, pastries, muffins, hardboiled eggs, fresh fruit, hot oatmeal, grits, fresh fruit, sausage biscuits, apple and orange juice, coffee! And, they kept it coming! On top of all this, the woman who was in charge of the breakfast went to every table and asked if everything was fine, and if there was anything else she could get us. The hospitality and service were impeccable! Now, the only thing that created some disappointment was the room. I booked a nonsmoking room, but we were given a smoking room. The cigarette smell was so bad that all our clothes smelled of smoke the next day. Even running the a/c didn't get enough air flow to clear the odor. Luckily, I carry a can of febreze in my car that I was able to use to mask the odor. Other than the smoking room, everything else inside was nice and clean. It was actually better than I expected. It was the perfect size for my family of 5; complete with a kitchen, and living room area. When we visit the area again it will be for more than one night, and are most likely going to book a room at MainStay Suites. However, this time I will make sure it is a NON-smoking room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to the beach, USS North Carolina, and Downtown Wilmington. If you like to explore new areas, drive around and see what you can find. That's what we did, and we found some pretty great eats: Casey's Buffet and Baba Ghannouj Bistro.

Review of MainStay Suites Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frogoo
Nc
Jan 5, 2014

Wonderfully

Smart front desk lady,clean and comfort room, fantastic family getaway.we will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of MainStay Suites Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DLM1406
Canada
Nov 4, 2013

Wilmington Stay

Impressed, my first Main Stay Suites stay. Very clean, nice hotel, lots on the breakfast menu (which was complimentary), even outside gas grills were available for use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the downtown on Friday or Saturday night.

Review of MainStay Suites Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trosee
Charleston,SC
Nov 4, 2013

Pet Friendly

We like the hotel. It was very nice and friendly people. The only problem we had is that we where not told of a pet fee of $50.00 per dog and a weight limit of 25 lbs. I would stay here again and have friends stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olive Garden is right across the street. So is Jason's deli.

Review of MainStay Suites Wilmington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keano
Davenport, Florida
Jun 28, 2013

First class

Excellent in every way,Front desk very friendly and accomodating. I would definately use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of MainStay Suites Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
king crush
west virginia
May 29, 2013

great hotel

Hotel was easy to find, located close to shopping and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of MainStay Suites Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GK4600
Rocky Mount, NC
Jan 7, 2013

Wonderfully Surprized

My wife and I were very surprised with the room. It was very cozy and we did not feel closed in. The room was very clean and the staff was always willing to respond to any request we may have. We felt that the Hotel was a great value and close to many places to eat and some were walking distance from the hotel. We will stay again when we travel to Wilmingotn. We stayed January 5th and 6th 2013

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olive Garden was a very short walk from the Hotel

Review of MainStay Suites Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fling
Asheville, NC
Dec 31, 2012

Decent room. Unhelpful staff experience.

We were late leaving our room one day. It was never cleaned and when we went down to reception late at night to pick up clean towels, there was no expression of regret or apology from the person on duty. Some customer service training might be helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search