$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
View map of 3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
95 reviews
great stay .

Great location , quiet, clean room all made for a fun stay! See full review

  • tom c.
  • May 13, 2015
Pleasant stay

Staff was very friendly. The bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed have the refrigerator and coffee... See full review

  • Phillip J.
  • Dec 31, 2014
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is located on busy Market Street in Wilmington, N.C. The hotel features free continental breakfast each day, free high-speed wireless Internet, and clean guest rooms with HBO, microwaves and refrigerators. Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is within easy reach of such popular North Carolina attractions such as Wrightsville Beach, Carolina Beach, USS North Carolina, University of North Carolina Wilmington and Wilmington International Airport, less than four miles away.
Dining
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests eat free continental breakfast each morning consisting of pastries, coffee, tea and juice over their free copy of USA Today. From the hotel location on bustling Market Street, guests can walk or drive to nearby restaurants include Goody Goody Omelet House, Lucky Star Chinese, Taco Bell and Hookah Cafe.
Rooms
Clean guest rooms at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington offer one or two double beds with floral bedspreads and neutral furnishings. Rooms also provide refrigerators, microwaves, coffee-makers, cable TV with HBO, hair-dryers, toiletries and free local calls. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Select rooms feature kitchenettes and work desks.
Property features
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests chat online, surf the Web and keep up with email on free Wi-Fi. Couples, families and business travelers staying at the hotel often visit television sound stages at nearby Screen Gem Studios. Guests also shop and dine downtown on Wilmington Riverwalk, or relax on white sands at Wrightsville Beach, only minutes away. The University of North Carolina Wilmington, is less than three and a half miles from the hotel.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Close to popular attractions

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 95
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.8

31% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tom c.
Business
N/A
May 13, 2015

great stay .

Great location , quiet, clean room all made for a fun stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
m
Business
Southport
Feb 17, 2015

one cold night

I got this room in February so it was cold. The heater wad comfortable. I was dissapointed with the WiFi. Weak signal. Took forever. This was not worth the 50 dollars I spent but was cheapest in town. 5 years ago this would be a 30 dollar motel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jon13
Business
Pittsburgh pa
Jun 2, 2014

visiting family

Very unkept. The hotel staff were very rude and unhelpful while checking in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LorraineMarie427
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 24, 2013

Not great

This hotel is a little worn and old. It's not horrible, but I would not stay there again. I really didn't like the location except that it was close to the Wilmington airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joey Bananas
Business
Greensboro, NC
Mar 26, 2013

Lowest of low

Don't stay here unless you need a place for a couple hours before a Scuba diving trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob397
Business
Tennessee
Mar 25, 2013

Great Staff, but run down and dirty...

First room smelled like urine. 2nd room - no odors, but run down and in need of a good cleaning. Bed was comfortable and bedding was clean, but rest of room's condition and lack of cleanliness made you wary of "what you were going to leave with" when you checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just3bells
Business
Goldsboro,NC
Jan 13, 2013

Birthday runaway

It was cool... Just what I needed... I will return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Madam Ruthie
Business
pennsylvania
Aug 18, 2012

quick beach trip

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, gave me more towels upon request and anything I needed. I was really impressed with the service and smiles :) unfortunately my only complaint is that my room smelled really awful. I just bought some deodorizer and made the best. I was really only in the room to sleep and shower anyway. For what I paid it seemed fair. And I can't express enough how friendly the staff was :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Indochine restaurant was fantastic! Great service! Felt like I was at home, great good, wonderful atmosphere, higher end dining at a decent price!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JGW
Business
CH, NC
Feb 22, 2011

Great Price!

A quiet place to stay if you need to get away for one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BliteKid
Business
Fuquay, North Carolina
Jun 28, 2010

Great

It was great, the staff was good and the restaurants around the area were close by. Pretty close to downtown as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top