$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 12, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
87 reviews
Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied! See full review

  • Sassenach
  • Jan 5, 2010
Great Value

The Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington is a small one level motor court that is very well... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 29, 2008
Inexpensive Wilmington hotel near airport with free breakfast, Wi-Fi
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is located on busy Market Street in Wilmington, N.C. The hotel features free continental breakfast each day, free high-speed wireless Internet, and clean guest rooms with HBO, microwaves and refrigerators. Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is within easy reach of such popular North Carolina attractions such as Wrightsville Beach, Carolina Beach, USS North Carolina, University of North Carolina Wilmington and Wilmington International Airport, less than four miles away.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Close to popular attractions
Rooms
Clean guest rooms at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington offer one or two double beds with floral bedspreads and neutral furnishings. Rooms also provide refrigerators, microwaves, coffee-makers, cable TV with HBO, hair-dryers, toiletries and free local calls. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Select rooms feature kitchenettes and work desks.
Features
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests chat online, surf the Web and keep up with email on free Wi-Fi. Couples, families and business travelers staying at the hotel often visit television sound stages at nearby Screen Gem Studios. Guests also shop and dine downtown on Wilmington Riverwalk, or relax on white sands at Wrightsville Beach, only minutes away. The University of North Carolina Wilmington, is less than three and a half miles from the hotel.
Dining
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests eat free continental breakfast each morning consisting of pastries, coffee, tea and juice over their free copy of USA Today. From the hotel location on bustling Market Street, guests can walk or drive to nearby restaurants include Goody Goody Omelet House, Lucky Star Chinese, Taco Bell and Hookah Cafe.
Transportation
  • Wilmington International Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Attractions
  • Screen Gems Studio (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Bellamy Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Cape Fear Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Wilmington Riverwalk (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • UNC Wilmington (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Jungle Rapids Family Park (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • USS North Carolina (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Wrightsville Beach (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Carolina Beach (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Copy and fax service
  • Free local calls and USA Today newspapers
  • Select rooms feature work desks
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.2413 -77.8981
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 87
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daisy777
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 13, 2013

HOTEL WAS DIRTY AND FRONT DESK STAFF WAS RUDE

The lady at the front desk who checked me in was the rudest I have ever encountered during travelling. She would not even acknowledge my questions and rolled her eyes when I asked about the area and the drive to the airport. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
College shopping trip
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 9, 2009

Not a good experience

From the minute we stepped foot in the door I could tell it wasn't going to be good. The room was not clean and the bathroom smelled awfull. It seemed as though it had not been cleaned well in a long time. The food available in the am was not even worth the time it took to walk to the room. White bread only sugary cereal only. Water for tea was not even hot. Any other food were totally sugar and that was about it. Not a good experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It was a short drive to the old town area of Wilmington and UNCW. So location is on their side.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Jul 28, 2009

Substandard rooms

This Howard Johnson was old and in need of some updating. The door to the room looked like it had been kicked in at some point in time. Was glad we only had to spend the one night. There was a musty odor in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Had a great meal at the O'Charlie's Restaurant. Food well prepared and the service was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middletown, NY
Jul 28, 2011

[...]

The wrong hotel was NOT in a very nice area, I would never had stayed there even if it was the right location. It smelled awful. Horrible stench of cigarette smoke and god knows what else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chic Summer Mom
Business
Wilmington, NC
Jun 16, 2014

Father's day Weekend

The "motel" is very old and ugly, looks cheap. Nothing like the pictures on the website, which were probably taken when the motel was new (a couple of decades ago). The "breakfast" was a disaster. The bed covers were dirty (or stained). The place did not look nor smelled clean. The carpets have not been vacuumed in a while. There was hair on the shower. Paid 2 nights, but only stayed 1 night... Will not recommended...You can find nicer places for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big GMo
Business
So Orange County, California
Mar 25, 2014

Smoke out!

My stay was average to less than avg. Even after requesting Non-smoking room, I checked in to a fairly vacant motel complex, only to be greeted by a cloud of stink/smoke upon opening room. I called front desk, and nite clerk appeared argumentative about being in a "smoking room", as this was a "Non-smoking" room. I could understand that perhaps last guest didn't obey "non-smoking" policy, but to have clerk argue?? At any rate, he did switch us to adjacent room later that eve. (A no brainer, given that there was vacancy galore? I only saw one other room being occupied during stay) Also, Ck In clerk wanted to charge for extra person even though there was no availability to extra cot/bed. (for my military son) until the next day, as "personnel was not avail to get bed..." Really? W/no one but one more room being used, he couldn't have gotten his butt out to get it himself? He appeared to be a self serving bleep. ! The next few nites, the clerk (She) was far more friendly, and receptive to requests (fresh towels, etc) unlike the first one. (Pakistani/Indian male?) The manager also appear to be more receptive, and friendly at checkout. And appeared to be thankful that I'd mentioned the "smoke" debacle? The couple that went around cleaning rooms were nice, but couldn't communicate all that well? Or perhaps playing dumb? Jury still out on that one.... Only reason I'd recommend this Hotel/Motel, is for the central location, and for the fact that the Mgr did convey that there are long term cheaper rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Mom x too
Business
North Carolina, USA
Aug 9, 2013

Not what I expected

I booked this hotel online. The online pictures are not like the actual hotel, which is somewhat deceiving. Overall I was not happy so I left the same day and checked into another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nc
May 10, 2010

quick beach trip

I went to the beach with family that weekend. If the carpet,bathroom was cleaner and they offered a better breakfast I would have liked it more. The bathroom was pretty small, but I guess you get what you pay for. The room did have a smell to it. I have seen worse hotel rooms, it wasnt that bad. I would not stay at the hotel again, but may try other howard johnsons, because not all may be the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Soccer Sue
Business
Kernersville, NC
May 25, 2011

Adequate but not great

We stayed at this hotel because it was the only one available for an unexpected trip. The room was clean and quiet, and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the room had a sort of musty smell that wasn't very welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Aug 6, 2010

The Price Isn't Right

Booked the room for a couple days at the beach. I was freaking out when we pulled into the parking lot because the hotel looked really shabby from the outside (not how it looked in the pic. on the website). I was relieved when I opened the door to the room b/c it was ok. Reasonably clean with nice carpet and decent bedding. The price was a bit high b/c it looks so bad on the outside, there isn't a pool and the continental breakfast is PITIFUL!!My husband, inlaws and I joked and joked about that breakfast. The room they serve bfast in is a drab dump. No decoration, dirty blinds & no TV. Just ICKY. Food wise, no waffles, stale cereal, milk and OJ in dirty glass pitchers. Luke warm "hot" water both days so so much for even oatmeal. Then there's this hilarious tall clear plastic cabinet with 2 empty bottom shelves and the top shelf has some plain old Dollar General looking white bread. Lets not forget the napking are stored in a lovely Christmas basket. The best part is the handwritten sign that says "Dine-in Only." Please... I'm sorry but that breakfast just killed me! So don't think you're gonna save a buck on bfast b/c you will be eating out!! I would have felt better if I had paid 20 bucks less for this room. Oh, and don't sit on that rickety old picnic table either. Especially with a cup of coffee in your hand. On the up side, I felt safe, it was a quiet place and the owners smiled a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hieronymous is a seafood restaurant on Market Street that is just awesome. Sit on the back porch, play ping pong and drink a Southern Weekender while you wait on your awesome seafood (blackened scallops are killer). Also, Wrightsville Beach is more flat than Carolina Beach so there isn't a sudden drop off & the waves are just right, especially for kids!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top