$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
View map of 3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
95 reviews
great stay .

Great location , quiet, clean room all made for a fun stay! See full review

  • tom c.
  • May 13, 2015
Pleasant stay

Staff was very friendly. The bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed have the refrigerator and coffee... See full review

  • Phillip J.
  • Dec 31, 2014
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is located on busy Market Street in Wilmington, N.C. The hotel features free continental breakfast each day, free high-speed wireless Internet, and clean guest rooms with HBO, microwaves and refrigerators. Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is within easy reach of such popular North Carolina attractions such as Wrightsville Beach, Carolina Beach, USS North Carolina, University of North Carolina Wilmington and Wilmington International Airport, less than four miles away.
Dining
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests eat free continental breakfast each morning consisting of pastries, coffee, tea and juice over their free copy of USA Today. From the hotel location on bustling Market Street, guests can walk or drive to nearby restaurants include Goody Goody Omelet House, Lucky Star Chinese, Taco Bell and Hookah Cafe.
Rooms
Clean guest rooms at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington offer one or two double beds with floral bedspreads and neutral furnishings. Rooms also provide refrigerators, microwaves, coffee-makers, cable TV with HBO, hair-dryers, toiletries and free local calls. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Select rooms feature kitchenettes and work desks.
Property features
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests chat online, surf the Web and keep up with email on free Wi-Fi. Couples, families and business travelers staying at the hotel often visit television sound stages at nearby Screen Gem Studios. Guests also shop and dine downtown on Wilmington Riverwalk, or relax on white sands at Wrightsville Beach, only minutes away. The University of North Carolina Wilmington, is less than three and a half miles from the hotel.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Close to popular attractions
Nearby attractions
  • Screen Gems Studio (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Bellamy Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Cape Fear Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Wilmington Riverwalk (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • UNC Wilmington (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Jungle Rapids Family Park (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • USS North Carolina (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Wrightsville Beach (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Carolina Beach (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Copy and fax service
  • Free local calls and USA Today newspapers
  • Select rooms feature work desks
Transportation
  • Wilmington International Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Policies
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 95
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 11, 2009

Disappointed

This is the only time I have ever been disappointed with a Howard Johnson. Frankly, I am not sure how this hotel carries the name of Howard Johnson. [...]The room we stayed in did not look like the room in the pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MerryWilmington
Business
Raleigh, NC
May 23, 2010

Dirty Shower

We booked it because we needed a place to stay for a weekend. The room was okay, but the shower was disgusting. It was grimy, had hair from every body part in it, and the shower head was made for a 4" tall person. Also, the floor in the room was "sticky".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
M Couple
Business
Wisconsin
May 23, 2012

1 night stay

We stayed here for one night on our way to Virginia. I am glad it was only one night! It was dingy and not very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike Wilmington
Business
Wilmington, NC
Mar 26, 2013

Average overall

Simple, but comfy. It was all I needed for my one night stay in Wilmington. Good location, and a decent stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wrightsville beach is close and an absolutely great place to spend the day.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
So Sinere
Business
Clemmons, NC
Mar 16, 2011

not the best place

its a ok place to stay if you are gonna barley stay in the room. the beds where uncomfortable, service was below average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Mall is close by and shops. Different restaurants also.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newton Grove, NC
May 11, 2010

"You get what you pay for"

The hotel was inexpensive, so you get what you pay for. The room was extremely small and so was the bathroom. It was very hard for me to get my husband's wheelchair into the room. The breakfast room was very small and small selection of items to choose from. I visited Wrightsville beach. It was not far from the hotel. Many restaurants around to choose from. I also went all the way down on Market Street. I loved that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take that short drive and you will have lots of nice restaurants to choose from.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsboro, NC, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Comfortable for a weekend geaway

rooms are clean, breakfast was low key, Overall was ok for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Close proximity to Shopping, Dining and the Beach

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
RTP, NC
Apr 5, 2009

Wouldn't recommend this motel

We recently spent two nights & 3 days in the Wilmington area. This motel provides a basic place to stay, is competitively priced, and is conveniently located for access to the downtown area, Wrightsville Beach as well as the UNC-Wilmington campus. Nonetheless, I wouldn't really recommend this motel. The check-in desk personnel was not very friendly and the carpeting in our room did not seem particularly clean. One evening, we came back to find out we had a roach as a roommate! There are a lot of other motels in the immediate area; I'd check some of these others out before choosing this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mari Thoner
Business
Lowell
Feb 9, 2015

Ghetto

The room was dirty and extremely muggy. Wouldn't stay there even if it were free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 3, 2009

Disappointed in Wilmington

We arrived at the hotel at about 6 PM on Friday, 31Jul2009. When we went into the room it was very very hot. Apparently, the air conditioning had not been on all day. Luckily, we did not have to stay in the room immediately, so I turned on the A/C and saw a maid and tried to tell her to be sure to leave it on. Unfortunately, the maid was from India and told me only that she spoke no english. I then went to the office to complain and was told that I could speak with the manager the next morning because he worked 7AM to 3PM. Well, the next morning we didn't bother; but we will probably not stay at this hotel again. We had stayed there the previous October and because it was cooler, we probably didn't have the same problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top