$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
144 reviews
Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied! See full review

  • Sassenach
  • Jan 5, 2010
Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied! See full review

  • Sassenach
  • Jan 5, 2010
Inexpensive Wilmington hotel near airport with free breakfast, Wi-Fi
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is located on busy Market Street in Wilmington, N.C. The hotel features free continental breakfast each day, free high-speed wireless Internet, and clean guest rooms with HBO, microwaves and refrigerators. Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is within easy reach of such popular North Carolina attractions such as Wrightsville Beach, Carolina Beach, USS North Carolina, University of North Carolina Wilmington and Wilmington International Airport, less than four miles away.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Close to popular attractions
Rooms
Clean guest rooms at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington offer one or two double beds with floral bedspreads and neutral furnishings. Rooms also provide refrigerators, microwaves, coffee-makers, cable TV with HBO, hair-dryers, toiletries and free local calls. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Select rooms feature kitchenettes and work desks.
Features
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests chat online, surf the Web and keep up with email on free Wi-Fi. Couples, families and business travelers staying at the hotel often visit television sound stages at nearby Screen Gem Studios. Guests also shop and dine downtown on Wilmington Riverwalk, or relax on white sands at Wrightsville Beach, only minutes away. The University of North Carolina Wilmington, is less than three and a half miles from the hotel.
Dining
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests eat free continental breakfast each morning consisting of pastries, coffee, tea and juice over their free copy of USA Today. From the hotel location on bustling Market Street, guests can walk or drive to nearby restaurants include Goody Goody Omelet House, Lucky Star Chinese, Taco Bell and Hookah Cafe.
Transportation
  • Wilmington International Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Attractions
  • Screen Gems Studio (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Bellamy Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Cape Fear Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Wilmington Riverwalk (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • UNC Wilmington (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Jungle Rapids Family Park (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • USS North Carolina (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Wrightsville Beach (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Carolina Beach (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Copy and fax service
  • Free local calls and USA Today newspapers
  • Select rooms feature work desks
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.2413 -77.8981
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nanita
Charlotte
Jul 30, 2013

You can do better

forget about the continental breakfast or wi-fi. Cell phone reception is horrible there are no amenities Hotel is fairly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newton Grove, NC
May 11, 2010

"You get what you pay for"

The hotel was inexpensive, so you get what you pay for. The room was extremely small and so was the bathroom. It was very hard for me to get my husband's wheelchair into the room. The breakfast room was very small and small selection of items to choose from. I visited Wrightsville beach. It was not far from the hotel. Many restaurants around to choose from. I also went all the way down on Market Street. I loved that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take that short drive and you will have lots of nice restaurants to choose from.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
nc
May 10, 2010

quick beach trip

I went to the beach with family that weekend. If the carpet,bathroom was cleaner and they offered a better breakfast I would have liked it more. The bathroom was pretty small, but I guess you get what you pay for. The room did have a smell to it. I have seen worse hotel rooms, it wasnt that bad. I would not stay at the hotel again, but may try other howard johnsons, because not all may be the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LorraineMarie427
Pennsylvania
Jun 24, 2013

Not great

This hotel is a little worn and old. It's not horrible, but I would not stay there again. I really didn't like the location except that it was close to the Wilmington airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
california
Apr 22, 2009

HJ Wimington, NC a disapointment

Down scale motel. I expected more for the price and more from Howard Johnsons.Might as well have stayed at Motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
california
Apr 22, 2009

HJ Wimington, NC a disapointment

Down scale motel. I expected more for the price and more from Howard Johnsons.Might as well have stayed at Motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
M Couple
Wisconsin
May 23, 2012

1 night stay

We stayed here for one night on our way to Virginia. I am glad it was only one night! It was dingy and not very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
So Sinere
Clemmons, NC
Mar 16, 2011

not the best place

its a ok place to stay if you are gonna barley stay in the room. the beds where uncomfortable, service was below average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Mall is close by and shops. Different restaurants also.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsboro, NC, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Comfortable for a weekend geaway

rooms are clean, breakfast was low key, Overall was ok for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Close proximity to Shopping, Dining and the Beach

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Soccer Sue
Kernersville, NC
May 25, 2011

Adequate but not great

We stayed at this hotel because it was the only one available for an unexpected trip. The room was clean and quiet, and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the room had a sort of musty smell that wasn't very welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top