$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
View map of 3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
RTP, NC
Apr 5, 2009

Wouldn't recommend this motel

We recently spent two nights & 3 days in the Wilmington area. This motel provides a basic place to stay, is competitively priced, and is conveniently located for access to the downtown area, Wrightsville Beach as well as the UNC-Wilmington campus. Nonetheless, I wouldn't really recommend this motel. The check-in desk personnel was not very friendly and the carpeting in our room did not seem particularly clean. One evening, we came back to find out we had a roach as a roommate! There are a lot of other motels in the immediate area; I'd check some of these others out before choosing this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Aug 6, 2010

The Price Isn't Right

Booked the room for a couple days at the beach. I was freaking out when we pulled into the parking lot because the hotel looked really shabby from the outside (not how it looked in the pic. on the website). I was relieved when I opened the door to the room b/c it was ok. Reasonably clean with nice carpet and decent bedding. The price was a bit high b/c it looks so bad on the outside, there isn't a pool and the continental breakfast is PITIFUL!!My husband, inlaws and I joked and joked about that breakfast. The room they serve bfast in is a drab dump. No decoration, dirty blinds & no TV. Just ICKY. Food wise, no waffles, stale cereal, milk and OJ in dirty glass pitchers. Luke warm "hot" water both days so so much for even oatmeal. Then there's this hilarious tall clear plastic cabinet with 2 empty bottom shelves and the top shelf has some plain old Dollar General looking white bread. Lets not forget the napking are stored in a lovely Christmas basket. The best part is the handwritten sign that says "Dine-in Only." Please... I'm sorry but that breakfast just killed me! So don't think you're gonna save a buck on bfast b/c you will be eating out!! I would have felt better if I had paid 20 bucks less for this room. Oh, and don't sit on that rickety old picnic table either. Especially with a cup of coffee in your hand. On the up side, I felt safe, it was a quiet place and the owners smiled a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hieronymous is a seafood restaurant on Market Street that is just awesome. Sit on the back porch, play ping pong and drink a Southern Weekender while you wait on your awesome seafood (blackened scallops are killer). Also, Wrightsville Beach is more flat than Carolina Beach so there isn't a sudden drop off & the waves are just right, especially for kids!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mari Thoner
Business
Lowell
Feb 9, 2015

Ghetto

The room was dirty and extremely muggy. Wouldn't stay there even if it were free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
m
Business
Southport
Feb 17, 2015

one cold night

I got this room in February so it was cold. The heater wad comfortable. I was dissapointed with the WiFi. Weak signal. Took forever. This was not worth the 50 dollars I spent but was cheapest in town. 5 years ago this would be a 30 dollar motel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Linds
Business
West Virginia
Aug 25, 2012

college dropoff

Fine for the price. Good location to get to UNCW and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrettS
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 22, 2012

Just as expected!

Nice location and fairly priced. Wish I had known about the train and train whistles that pass right behind the hotel all night long. Bring your earplugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Japanese Fusion/Sushi restaurant a couple blocks west of the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just3bells
Business
Goldsboro,NC
Jan 13, 2013

Birthday runaway

It was cool... Just what I needed... I will return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
V.T.X.
Business
San Jose, California
Jan 13, 2013

Good spot a little sketchy

The wifi was slow. HBO WAS NOT ON THE TV AS PROMISED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy beer and hole up.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike Wilmington
Business
Wilmington, NC
Mar 17, 2013

Good for what you pay

The people at the front desk were nice and helpful. The room was clean. Only stayed for one night but it was fine for 56 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Wrightsville Beach

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brooksniki
Business
Wilmington, nc
Apr 1, 2013

Good hotel for price.

Good hotel for price. Decent rooms, pretty clean. Located in convientient area of Wilmington that's pretty close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top