$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
87 reviews
Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied! See full review

  • Sassenach
  • Jan 5, 2010
Great Value

The Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington is a small one level motor court that is very well... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 29, 2008
Inexpensive Wilmington hotel near airport with free breakfast, Wi-Fi
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is located on busy Market Street in Wilmington, N.C. The hotel features free continental breakfast each day, free high-speed wireless Internet, and clean guest rooms with HBO, microwaves and refrigerators. Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is within easy reach of such popular North Carolina attractions such as Wrightsville Beach, Carolina Beach, USS North Carolina, University of North Carolina Wilmington and Wilmington International Airport, less than four miles away.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Close to popular attractions
Rooms
Clean guest rooms at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington offer one or two double beds with floral bedspreads and neutral furnishings. Rooms also provide refrigerators, microwaves, coffee-makers, cable TV with HBO, hair-dryers, toiletries and free local calls. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Select rooms feature kitchenettes and work desks.
Features
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests chat online, surf the Web and keep up with email on free Wi-Fi. Couples, families and business travelers staying at the hotel often visit television sound stages at nearby Screen Gem Studios. Guests also shop and dine downtown on Wilmington Riverwalk, or relax on white sands at Wrightsville Beach, only minutes away. The University of North Carolina Wilmington, is less than three and a half miles from the hotel.
Dining
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests eat free continental breakfast each morning consisting of pastries, coffee, tea and juice over their free copy of USA Today. From the hotel location on bustling Market Street, guests can walk or drive to nearby restaurants include Goody Goody Omelet House, Lucky Star Chinese, Taco Bell and Hookah Cafe.
Transportation
  • Wilmington International Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Attractions
  • Screen Gems Studio (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Bellamy Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Cape Fear Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Wilmington Riverwalk (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • UNC Wilmington (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Jungle Rapids Family Park (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • USS North Carolina (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Wrightsville Beach (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Carolina Beach (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Copy and fax service
  • Free local calls and USA Today newspapers
  • Select rooms feature work desks
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
High Point NC
Aug 4, 2011

business trip

Business trip. Working in wilmington nc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I love Wilmington NC. Lots of restaurants near the hotels. Cheap rooms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
RTP, NC
Apr 5, 2009

Wouldn't recommend this motel

We recently spent two nights & 3 days in the Wilmington area. This motel provides a basic place to stay, is competitively priced, and is conveniently located for access to the downtown area, Wrightsville Beach as well as the UNC-Wilmington campus. Nonetheless, I wouldn't really recommend this motel. The check-in desk personnel was not very friendly and the carpeting in our room did not seem particularly clean. One evening, we came back to find out we had a roach as a roommate! There are a lot of other motels in the immediate area; I'd check some of these others out before choosing this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Aug 6, 2010

The Price Isn't Right

Booked the room for a couple days at the beach. I was freaking out when we pulled into the parking lot because the hotel looked really shabby from the outside (not how it looked in the pic. on the website). I was relieved when I opened the door to the room b/c it was ok. Reasonably clean with nice carpet and decent bedding. The price was a bit high b/c it looks so bad on the outside, there isn't a pool and the continental breakfast is PITIFUL!!My husband, inlaws and I joked and joked about that breakfast. The room they serve bfast in is a drab dump. No decoration, dirty blinds & no TV. Just ICKY. Food wise, no waffles, stale cereal, milk and OJ in dirty glass pitchers. Luke warm "hot" water both days so so much for even oatmeal. Then there's this hilarious tall clear plastic cabinet with 2 empty bottom shelves and the top shelf has some plain old Dollar General looking white bread. Lets not forget the napking are stored in a lovely Christmas basket. The best part is the handwritten sign that says "Dine-in Only." Please... I'm sorry but that breakfast just killed me! So don't think you're gonna save a buck on bfast b/c you will be eating out!! I would have felt better if I had paid 20 bucks less for this room. Oh, and don't sit on that rickety old picnic table either. Especially with a cup of coffee in your hand. On the up side, I felt safe, it was a quiet place and the owners smiled a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hieronymous is a seafood restaurant on Market Street that is just awesome. Sit on the back porch, play ping pong and drink a Southern Weekender while you wait on your awesome seafood (blackened scallops are killer). Also, Wrightsville Beach is more flat than Carolina Beach so there isn't a sudden drop off & the waves are just right, especially for kids!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 3, 2009

Disappointed in Wilmington

We arrived at the hotel at about 6 PM on Friday, 31Jul2009. When we went into the room it was very very hot. Apparently, the air conditioning had not been on all day. Luckily, we did not have to stay in the room immediately, so I turned on the A/C and saw a maid and tried to tell her to be sure to leave it on. Unfortunately, the maid was from India and told me only that she spoke no english. I then went to the office to complain and was told that I could speak with the manager the next morning because he worked 7AM to 3PM. Well, the next morning we didn't bother; but we will probably not stay at this hotel again. We had stayed there the previous October and because it was cooler, we probably didn't have the same problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Linds
Business
West Virginia
Aug 25, 2012

college dropoff

Fine for the price. Good location to get to UNCW and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrettS
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 22, 2012

Just as expected!

Nice location and fairly priced. Wish I had known about the train and train whistles that pass right behind the hotel all night long. Bring your earplugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Japanese Fusion/Sushi restaurant a couple blocks west of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just3bells
Business
Goldsboro,NC
Jan 13, 2013

Birthday runaway

It was cool... Just what I needed... I will return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
V.T.X.
Business
San Jose, California
Jan 13, 2013

Good spot a little sketchy

The wifi was slow. HBO WAS NOT ON THE TV AS PROMISED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy beer and hole up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike Wilmington
Business
Wilmington, NC
Mar 17, 2013

Good for what you pay

The people at the front desk were nice and helpful. The room was clean. Only stayed for one night but it was fine for 56 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Wrightsville Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brooksniki
Business
Wilmington, nc
Apr 1, 2013

Good hotel for price.

Good hotel for price. Decent rooms, pretty clean. Located in convientient area of Wilmington that's pretty close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top