$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
View map of 3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LorraineMarie427
Single
Pennsylvania
Jun 24, 2013

Not great

This hotel is a little worn and old. It's not horrible, but I would not stay there again. I really didn't like the location except that it was close to the Wilmington airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nanita
Friends
Charlotte
Jul 30, 2013

You can do better

forget about the continental breakfast or wi-fi. Cell phone reception is horrible there are no amenities Hotel is fairly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Mom x too
Family
North Carolina, USA
Aug 9, 2013

Not what I expected

I booked this hotel online. The online pictures are not like the actual hotel, which is somewhat deceiving. Overall I was not happy so I left the same day and checked into another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
So Sinere
Couples
Clemmons, NC
Mar 16, 2011

not the best place

its a ok place to stay if you are gonna barley stay in the room. the beds where uncomfortable, service was below average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Mall is close by and shops. Different restaurants also.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Newton Grove, NC
May 11, 2010

"You get what you pay for"

The hotel was inexpensive, so you get what you pay for. The room was extremely small and so was the bathroom. It was very hard for me to get my husband's wheelchair into the room. The breakfast room was very small and small selection of items to choose from. I visited Wrightsville beach. It was not far from the hotel. Many restaurants around to choose from. I also went all the way down on Market Street. I loved that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take that short drive and you will have lots of nice restaurants to choose from.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
nc
May 10, 2010

quick beach trip

I went to the beach with family that weekend. If the carpet,bathroom was cleaner and they offered a better breakfast I would have liked it more. The bathroom was pretty small, but I guess you get what you pay for. The room did have a smell to it. I have seen worse hotel rooms, it wasnt that bad. I would not stay at the hotel again, but may try other howard johnsons, because not all may be the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
california
Apr 22, 2009

HJ Wimington, NC a disapointment

Down scale motel. I expected more for the price and more from Howard Johnsons.Might as well have stayed at Motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Soccer Sue
Family
Kernersville, NC
May 25, 2011

Adequate but not great

We stayed at this hotel because it was the only one available for an unexpected trip. The room was clean and quiet, and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the room had a sort of musty smell that wasn't very welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pittsboro, NC, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Comfortable for a weekend geaway

rooms are clean, breakfast was low key, Overall was ok for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Close proximity to Shopping, Dining and the Beach

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
High Point NC
Aug 4, 2011

business trip

Business trip. Working in wilmington nc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I love Wilmington NC. Lots of restaurants near the hotels. Cheap rooms.

Back to menu Return to top