$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
144 reviews
Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied! See full review

  • Sassenach
  • Jan 5, 2010
Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied! See full review

  • Sassenach
  • Jan 5, 2010
Inexpensive Wilmington hotel near airport with free breakfast, Wi-Fi
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is located on busy Market Street in Wilmington, N.C. The hotel features free continental breakfast each day, free high-speed wireless Internet, and clean guest rooms with HBO, microwaves and refrigerators. Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is within easy reach of such popular North Carolina attractions such as Wrightsville Beach, Carolina Beach, USS North Carolina, University of North Carolina Wilmington and Wilmington International Airport, less than four miles away.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Close to popular attractions
Rooms
Clean guest rooms at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington offer one or two double beds with floral bedspreads and neutral furnishings. Rooms also provide refrigerators, microwaves, coffee-makers, cable TV with HBO, hair-dryers, toiletries and free local calls. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Select rooms feature kitchenettes and work desks.
Features
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests chat online, surf the Web and keep up with email on free Wi-Fi. Couples, families and business travelers staying at the hotel often visit television sound stages at nearby Screen Gem Studios. Guests also shop and dine downtown on Wilmington Riverwalk, or relax on white sands at Wrightsville Beach, only minutes away. The University of North Carolina Wilmington, is less than three and a half miles from the hotel.
Dining
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests eat free continental breakfast each morning consisting of pastries, coffee, tea and juice over their free copy of USA Today. From the hotel location on bustling Market Street, guests can walk or drive to nearby restaurants include Goody Goody Omelet House, Lucky Star Chinese, Taco Bell and Hookah Cafe.
Transportation
  • Wilmington International Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Attractions
  • Screen Gems Studio (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Bellamy Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Cape Fear Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Wilmington Riverwalk (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • UNC Wilmington (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Jungle Rapids Family Park (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • USS North Carolina (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Wrightsville Beach (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Carolina Beach (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Copy and fax service
  • Free local calls and USA Today newspapers
  • Select rooms feature work desks
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.2413 -77.8981
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AEC
Business
Columbia, MO
Jun 29, 2011

Would NOT recommend!

Not a good place to stay. Location is central, but that's it. The box spring on my bed had tape on the side of it, there were hairs in the bath tub, no pool, etc. I only put up with it because it was a package deal. It did no make my trip enjoyable. The place needs to be completely redone. The staff that checked me in was nice, but the hotel is horribly out of date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Oct 11, 2009

Disappointed

This is the only time I have ever been disappointed with a Howard Johnson. Frankly, I am not sure how this hotel carries the name of Howard Johnson. [...]The room we stayed in did not look like the room in the pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob397
Tennessee
Mar 25, 2013

Great Staff, but run down and dirty...

First room smelled like urine. 2nd room - no odors, but run down and in need of a good cleaning. Bed was comfortable and bedding was clean, but rest of room's condition and lack of cleanliness made you wary of "what you were going to leave with" when you checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Aug 6, 2010

The Price Isn't Right

Booked the room for a couple days at the beach. I was freaking out when we pulled into the parking lot because the hotel looked really shabby from the outside (not how it looked in the pic. on the website). I was relieved when I opened the door to the room b/c it was ok. Reasonably clean with nice carpet and decent bedding. The price was a bit high b/c it looks so bad on the outside, there isn't a pool and the continental breakfast is PITIFUL!!My husband, inlaws and I joked and joked about that breakfast. The room they serve bfast in is a drab dump. No decoration, dirty blinds & no TV. Just ICKY. Food wise, no waffles, stale cereal, milk and OJ in dirty glass pitchers. Luke warm "hot" water both days so so much for even oatmeal. Then there's this hilarious tall clear plastic cabinet with 2 empty bottom shelves and the top shelf has some plain old Dollar General looking white bread. Lets not forget the napking are stored in a lovely Christmas basket. The best part is the handwritten sign that says "Dine-in Only." Please... I'm sorry but that breakfast just killed me! So don't think you're gonna save a buck on bfast b/c you will be eating out!! I would have felt better if I had paid 20 bucks less for this room. Oh, and don't sit on that rickety old picnic table either. Especially with a cup of coffee in your hand. On the up side, I felt safe, it was a quiet place and the owners smiled a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hieronymous is a seafood restaurant on Market Street that is just awesome. Sit on the back porch, play ping pong and drink a Southern Weekender while you wait on your awesome seafood (blackened scallops are killer). Also, Wrightsville Beach is more flat than Carolina Beach so there isn't a sudden drop off & the waves are just right, especially for kids!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
High Point NC
Aug 4, 2011

business trip

Business trip. Working in wilmington nc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I love Wilmington NC. Lots of restaurants near the hotels. Cheap rooms.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Mom x too
North Carolina, USA
Aug 9, 2013

Not what I expected

I booked this hotel online. The online pictures are not like the actual hotel, which is somewhat deceiving. Overall I was not happy so I left the same day and checked into another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moving Kelly
Pennsylvania
May 23, 2012

Just another aging motel

No refridge in room,was put in room next day after prompts to staff. Wi-fi a problem to connect to, had to ask staff for help and finally someone got it done. Language - difficult to understand some staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good eats close by ie. the Goody Goody

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
supdog
Business
Raleigh
Nov 12, 2012

Howard Johnson

Meet my expectations for the price, remote control didnt work and was awaken each night by a train! Overall, I sept good and would stay again for the money saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many dining loacations to choose from!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsboro, NC, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Comfortable for a weekend geaway

rooms are clean, breakfast was low key, Overall was ok for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Close proximity to Shopping, Dining and the Beach

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ticked Off Traveler
NC
Jun 7, 2010

So excited... then I walked in the door

My experience was awful. The picture online looked nothing like the room I stayed in. It looked luxurious and clean online. In reality, there were bugs, the toilet was broken and there were stains on the sheets. I will never stay there again. The location was awful. I typed in "Carolina Beach" and this place was 45 minutes from there. Of course, no where on my itinerary did it state the place was that far away. In addition to the cost of the hotel, I had to pay a bucket load of gas money to travel to see my family in Carolina Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top