$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
144 reviews
Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied! See full review

  • Sassenach
  • Jan 5, 2010
Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied! See full review

  • Sassenach
  • Jan 5, 2010
Inexpensive Wilmington hotel near airport with free breakfast, Wi-Fi
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is located on busy Market Street in Wilmington, N.C. The hotel features free continental breakfast each day, free high-speed wireless Internet, and clean guest rooms with HBO, microwaves and refrigerators. Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is within easy reach of such popular North Carolina attractions such as Wrightsville Beach, Carolina Beach, USS North Carolina, University of North Carolina Wilmington and Wilmington International Airport, less than four miles away.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Close to popular attractions
Rooms
Clean guest rooms at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington offer one or two double beds with floral bedspreads and neutral furnishings. Rooms also provide refrigerators, microwaves, coffee-makers, cable TV with HBO, hair-dryers, toiletries and free local calls. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Select rooms feature kitchenettes and work desks.
Features
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests chat online, surf the Web and keep up with email on free Wi-Fi. Couples, families and business travelers staying at the hotel often visit television sound stages at nearby Screen Gem Studios. Guests also shop and dine downtown on Wilmington Riverwalk, or relax on white sands at Wrightsville Beach, only minutes away. The University of North Carolina Wilmington, is less than three and a half miles from the hotel.
Dining
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests eat free continental breakfast each morning consisting of pastries, coffee, tea and juice over their free copy of USA Today. From the hotel location on bustling Market Street, guests can walk or drive to nearby restaurants include Goody Goody Omelet House, Lucky Star Chinese, Taco Bell and Hookah Cafe.
Transportation
  • Wilmington International Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Attractions
  • Screen Gems Studio (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Bellamy Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Cape Fear Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Wilmington Riverwalk (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • UNC Wilmington (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Jungle Rapids Family Park (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • USS North Carolina (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Wrightsville Beach (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Carolina Beach (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Copy and fax service
  • Free local calls and USA Today newspapers
  • Select rooms feature work desks
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.2413 -77.8981
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KAK
Business
New Bern, NC
Oct 11, 2009

Never Stayed There

Did not stay there. My husband made my reservation for the wrong night. The hotel made no effot to work wih me on resolving this problem. Ended up staying somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
College shopping trip
Wisconsin
Aug 9, 2009

Not a good experience

From the minute we stepped foot in the door I could tell it wasn't going to be good. The room was not clean and the bathroom smelled awfull. It seemed as though it had not been cleaned well in a long time. The food available in the am was not even worth the time it took to walk to the room. White bread only sugary cereal only. Water for tea was not even hot. Any other food were totally sugar and that was about it. Not a good experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It was a short drive to the old town area of Wilmington and UNCW. So location is on their side.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jugman
Virginia
Jul 31, 2009

Dirty,Dirty,Dirty !

The ac worked well. Breakfast is really a joke! Location is good.The motel is very old and heeds to be cleaned really well. My fishing buddy and I do not expect a lot but this place did not live up to the photos or the on line description. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

The ac worked well.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Oct 11, 2009

Disappointed

This is the only time I have ever been disappointed with a Howard Johnson. Frankly, I am not sure how this hotel carries the name of Howard Johnson. [...]The room we stayed in did not look like the room in the pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MerryWilmington
Raleigh, NC
May 23, 2010

Dirty Shower

We booked it because we needed a place to stay for a weekend. The room was okay, but the shower was disgusting. It was grimy, had hair from every body part in it, and the shower head was made for a 4" tall person. Also, the floor in the room was "sticky".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joey Bananas
Greensboro, NC
Mar 26, 2013

Lowest of low

Don't stay here unless you need a place for a couple hours before a Scuba diving trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BiancaC
Memphis TN
Aug 2, 2010

UGH!

Check in guy was great. Beds were broken and lumpy. carpet was wet. we found a thong in the covers. no hot water the second day and they called us liars. THEY SUCK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

USS Carolina

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MerryWilmington
Raleigh, NC
May 23, 2010

Dirty Shower

We booked it because we needed a place to stay for a weekend. The room was okay, but the shower was disgusting. It was grimy, had hair from every body part in it, and the shower head was made for a 4" tall person. Also, the floor in the room was "sticky".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middletown, NY
Jul 28, 2011

[...]

The wrong hotel was NOT in a very nice area, I would never had stayed there even if it was the right location. It smelled awful. Horrible stench of cigarette smoke and god knows what else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KAK
Business
New Bern, NC
Oct 11, 2009

Never Stayed There

Did not stay there. My husband made my reservation for the wrong night. The hotel made no effot to work wih me on resolving this problem. Ended up staying somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top