$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
88 reviews
Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied! See full review

  • Sassenach
  • Jan 5, 2010
Great Value

The Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington is a small one level motor court that is very well... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 29, 2008
Inexpensive Wilmington hotel near airport with free breakfast, Wi-Fi
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is located on busy Market Street in Wilmington, N.C. The hotel features free continental breakfast each day, free high-speed wireless Internet, and clean guest rooms with HBO, microwaves and refrigerators. Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is within easy reach of such popular North Carolina attractions such as Wrightsville Beach, Carolina Beach, USS North Carolina, University of North Carolina Wilmington and Wilmington International Airport, less than four miles away.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Close to popular attractions
Rooms
Clean guest rooms at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington offer one or two double beds with floral bedspreads and neutral furnishings. Rooms also provide refrigerators, microwaves, coffee-makers, cable TV with HBO, hair-dryers, toiletries and free local calls. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Select rooms feature kitchenettes and work desks.
Features
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests chat online, surf the Web and keep up with email on free Wi-Fi. Couples, families and business travelers staying at the hotel often visit television sound stages at nearby Screen Gem Studios. Guests also shop and dine downtown on Wilmington Riverwalk, or relax on white sands at Wrightsville Beach, only minutes away. The University of North Carolina Wilmington, is less than three and a half miles from the hotel.
Dining
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests eat free continental breakfast each morning consisting of pastries, coffee, tea and juice over their free copy of USA Today. From the hotel location on bustling Market Street, guests can walk or drive to nearby restaurants include Goody Goody Omelet House, Lucky Star Chinese, Taco Bell and Hookah Cafe.
Transportation
  • Wilmington International Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Attractions
  • Screen Gems Studio (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Bellamy Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Cape Fear Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Wilmington Riverwalk (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • UNC Wilmington (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Jungle Rapids Family Park (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • USS North Carolina (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Wrightsville Beach (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Carolina Beach (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Copy and fax service
  • Free local calls and USA Today newspapers
  • Select rooms feature work desks
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.2413 -77.8981
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jugman
Virginia
Jul 31, 2009

Dirty,Dirty,Dirty !

The ac worked well. Breakfast is really a joke! Location is good.The motel is very old and heeds to be cleaned really well. My fishing buddy and I do not expect a lot but this place did not live up to the photos or the on line description. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

The ac worked well.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Jul 28, 2009

Substandard rooms

This Howard Johnson was old and in need of some updating. The door to the room looked like it had been kicked in at some point in time. Was glad we only had to spend the one night. There was a musty odor in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Had a great meal at the O'Charlie's Restaurant. Food well prepared and the service was excellent.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middletown, NY
Jul 28, 2011

[...]

The wrong hotel was NOT in a very nice area, I would never had stayed there even if it was the right location. It smelled awful. Horrible stench of cigarette smoke and god knows what else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chic Summer Mom
Wilmington, NC
Jun 16, 2014

Father's day Weekend

The "motel" is very old and ugly, looks cheap. Nothing like the pictures on the website, which were probably taken when the motel was new (a couple of decades ago). The "breakfast" was a disaster. The bed covers were dirty (or stained). The place did not look nor smelled clean. The carpets have not been vacuumed in a while. There was hair on the shower. Paid 2 nights, but only stayed 1 night... Will not recommended...You can find nicer places for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
runnergal
nc
Jul 16, 2013

less than impressed

We were extremely unimpressed. The promised wifi only worked if you were sitting in the lobby, I found a roach crawling across my tv screen the first night. Wallpaper is peeling off the walls. The microwave took 30 minutes to heat a 3 min dinner. The refrigerator buzzed all night and barely kept anything cold. The sheets were clean. That is the only positive thing I have to say. We decided not to stay the last night and they refused to refund our rate for the last night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

flaming amy's burrito barn is a fun, quirky little place with kid friendly games and a unique alternative to the big chain restaurants.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big GMo
So Orange County, California
Mar 25, 2014

Smoke out!

My stay was average to less than avg. Even after requesting Non-smoking room, I checked in to a fairly vacant motel complex, only to be greeted by a cloud of stink/smoke upon opening room. I called front desk, and nite clerk appeared argumentative about being in a "smoking room", as this was a "Non-smoking" room. I could understand that perhaps last guest didn't obey "non-smoking" policy, but to have clerk argue?? At any rate, he did switch us to adjacent room later that eve. (A no brainer, given that there was vacancy galore? I only saw one other room being occupied during stay) Also, Ck In clerk wanted to charge for extra person even though there was no availability to extra cot/bed. (for my military son) until the next day, as "personnel was not avail to get bed..." Really? W/no one but one more room being used, he couldn't have gotten his butt out to get it himself? He appeared to be a self serving bleep. ! The next few nites, the clerk (She) was far more friendly, and receptive to requests (fresh towels, etc) unlike the first one. (Pakistani/Indian male?) The manager also appear to be more receptive, and friendly at checkout. And appeared to be thankful that I'd mentioned the "smoke" debacle? The couple that went around cleaning rooms were nice, but couldn't communicate all that well? Or perhaps playing dumb? Jury still out on that one.... Only reason I'd recommend this Hotel/Motel, is for the central location, and for the fact that the Mgr did convey that there are long term cheaper rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ticked Off Traveler
NC
Jun 7, 2010

So excited... then I walked in the door

My experience was awful. The picture online looked nothing like the room I stayed in. It looked luxurious and clean online. In reality, there were bugs, the toilet was broken and there were stains on the sheets. I will never stay there again. The location was awful. I typed in "Carolina Beach" and this place was 45 minutes from there. Of course, no where on my itinerary did it state the place was that far away. In addition to the cost of the hotel, I had to pay a bucket load of gas money to travel to see my family in Carolina Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
M Couple
Wisconsin
May 23, 2012

1 night stay

We stayed here for one night on our way to Virginia. I am glad it was only one night! It was dingy and not very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moving Kelly
Pennsylvania
May 23, 2012

Just another aging motel

No refridge in room,was put in room next day after prompts to staff. Wi-fi a problem to connect to, had to ask staff for help and finally someone got it done. Language - difficult to understand some staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good eats close by ie. the Goody Goody

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Madam Ruthie
pennsylvania
Aug 18, 2012

quick beach trip

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, gave me more towels upon request and anything I needed. I was really impressed with the service and smiles :) unfortunately my only complaint is that my room smelled really awful. I just bought some deodorizer and made the best. I was really only in the room to sleep and shower anyway. For what I paid it seemed fair. And I can't express enough how friendly the staff was :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Indochine restaurant was fantastic! Great service! Felt like I was at home, great good, wonderful atmosphere, higher end dining at a decent price!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search