$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
87 reviews
Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied! See full review

  • Sassenach
  • Jan 5, 2010
Great Value

The Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington is a small one level motor court that is very well... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 29, 2008
Inexpensive Wilmington hotel near airport with free breakfast, Wi-Fi
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is located on busy Market Street in Wilmington, N.C. The hotel features free continental breakfast each day, free high-speed wireless Internet, and clean guest rooms with HBO, microwaves and refrigerators. Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is within easy reach of such popular North Carolina attractions such as Wrightsville Beach, Carolina Beach, USS North Carolina, University of North Carolina Wilmington and Wilmington International Airport, less than four miles away.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Close to popular attractions
Rooms
Clean guest rooms at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington offer one or two double beds with floral bedspreads and neutral furnishings. Rooms also provide refrigerators, microwaves, coffee-makers, cable TV with HBO, hair-dryers, toiletries and free local calls. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Select rooms feature kitchenettes and work desks.
Features
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests chat online, surf the Web and keep up with email on free Wi-Fi. Couples, families and business travelers staying at the hotel often visit television sound stages at nearby Screen Gem Studios. Guests also shop and dine downtown on Wilmington Riverwalk, or relax on white sands at Wrightsville Beach, only minutes away. The University of North Carolina Wilmington, is less than three and a half miles from the hotel.
Dining
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests eat free continental breakfast each morning consisting of pastries, coffee, tea and juice over their free copy of USA Today. From the hotel location on bustling Market Street, guests can walk or drive to nearby restaurants include Goody Goody Omelet House, Lucky Star Chinese, Taco Bell and Hookah Cafe.
Transportation
  • Wilmington International Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Attractions
  • Screen Gems Studio (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Bellamy Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Cape Fear Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Wilmington Riverwalk (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • UNC Wilmington (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Jungle Rapids Family Park (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • USS North Carolina (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Wrightsville Beach (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Carolina Beach (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Copy and fax service
  • Free local calls and USA Today newspapers
  • Select rooms feature work desks
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.2413 -77.8981
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sisters-0f-Travel
St. Louis, MO
Jun 8, 2010

A gigging good time... must be flexible!

-We were in Wilmington on a 5 day vacation. -Although it was in a central location, no attractions were in walking distance. -The room was average, but kept clean. -The staff was very friendly. -One thing we did not like were the many "alley" cats in the back parking lot, and the fact that the room lead directly outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wrightsville Beach only a 10 minute drive away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ticked Off Traveler
NC
Jun 7, 2010

So excited... then I walked in the door

My experience was awful. The picture online looked nothing like the room I stayed in. It looked luxurious and clean online. In reality, there were bugs, the toilet was broken and there were stains on the sheets. I will never stay there again. The location was awful. I typed in "Carolina Beach" and this place was 45 minutes from there. Of course, no where on my itinerary did it state the place was that far away. In addition to the cost of the hotel, I had to pay a bucket load of gas money to travel to see my family in Carolina Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The beach guy
Clayton,NC
May 26, 2010

Good price for a day trip

Well I had decided to go to the beach at the last moment and paying a $100 was a decent amount for the in of May and short notice. Only problem is that the hotel is in the beginning of Wilmington and the beaches are 20 minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Teaching Travler
Business
Washington, NC
May 24, 2010

Clean Inside...little rough outside

I was a little apprehensive when looking at the outside of the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the door of my room. The room was clean and the AC worked very well. The extras (TV, Coffee Maker, Iron) were all in very good condition. I would stay there again for a business trip, but if you are looking for pool, on property restaurant and the luxury items then look for more expensive options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MerryWilmington
Raleigh, NC
May 23, 2010

Dirty Shower

We booked it because we needed a place to stay for a weekend. The room was okay, but the shower was disgusting. It was grimy, had hair from every body part in it, and the shower head was made for a 4" tall person. Also, the floor in the room was "sticky".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newton Grove, NC
May 11, 2010

"You get what you pay for"

The hotel was inexpensive, so you get what you pay for. The room was extremely small and so was the bathroom. It was very hard for me to get my husband's wheelchair into the room. The breakfast room was very small and small selection of items to choose from. I visited Wrightsville beach. It was not far from the hotel. Many restaurants around to choose from. I also went all the way down on Market Street. I loved that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take that short drive and you will have lots of nice restaurants to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
nc
May 10, 2010

quick beach trip

I went to the beach with family that weekend. If the carpet,bathroom was cleaner and they offered a better breakfast I would have liked it more. The bathroom was pretty small, but I guess you get what you pay for. The room did have a smell to it. I have seen worse hotel rooms, it wasnt that bad. I would not stay at the hotel again, but may try other howard johnsons, because not all may be the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Helen, FL
Jan 22, 2010

Great location and comfort for the price

Went up to Wilmington, NC for the show "One Tree Hill". My daughter is a huge fan and we spent most of the time at shoot locations. Great hotel for the amount of time we spent there. Conveniently located between downtown and the beaches. Good hotel to use as base while traveling throughout the day. Staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sassenach
Boston
Jan 5, 2010

Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
in town for fishing
Durham, NC
Nov 28, 2009

clean, nice.

Recently remodled with granite composite sink/counter and stone tile bathroom floor. New tub/shower inclosure and curtin. Great deal for the price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search