$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
View map of 3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
genealogy buff
Business
FL
Jul 21, 2010

Wilmington Trip

My only complaint was that I had requested a handicapped room which was ignored. Doubt I will stay there again because of that. Otherwise, the stay was okay. More bed pillows would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jun 28, 2010

Good Experience

The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and we slept like babies. I wish it were closer to the coast, but it isn'too far, and the price was unbeatable; especially for peak season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BliteKid
Business
Fuquay, North Carolina
Jun 28, 2010

Great

It was great, the staff was good and the restaurants around the area were close by. Pretty close to downtown as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
Jun 18, 2010

When you just need a clean bed.

I like being able to drive up to my door. Unpacking took seconds. The big room and microwave/fridge shoud be standard in every hotel. Checking in and out was a breeze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Jun 16, 2010

More for your money

We went to Wilmington to take in the culture and of course, the beach. The hotel is in a great location. literally 5 minutes from everything. Historic downtown, fine dining, shopping and of course, the beach. $150 rooms on the beach are nice and all, but I don't mind the 5 minute travel time. Considering the room was only $50 a night, there was an extra $200 to spend on good times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Being as active as we are, we usually weren't ready to eat dinner until around 9pm. that Sunday was no exception. Hungry and tired, we decided to go out to eat. After washing up and getting dressed to go out, it was almost 9:30. Even though restaurants say they seat until 10 (Sweet & Savory), they actually don't. Except for Kefi's. Albeit a bar like atmosphere, they served excellent food (try the Seafood Jambalaya). They had no qualms about seating me at 10pm. If my son wasn't with us, we would have stayed until 2am!!!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sisters-0f-Travel
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 8, 2010

A gigging good time... must be flexible!

-We were in Wilmington on a 5 day vacation. -Although it was in a central location, no attractions were in walking distance. -The room was average, but kept clean. -The staff was very friendly. -One thing we did not like were the many "alley" cats in the back parking lot, and the fact that the room lead directly outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wrightsville Beach only a 10 minute drive away!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ticked Off Traveler
Business
NC
Jun 7, 2010

So excited... then I walked in the door

My experience was awful. The picture online looked nothing like the room I stayed in. It looked luxurious and clean online. In reality, there were bugs, the toilet was broken and there were stains on the sheets. I will never stay there again. The location was awful. I typed in "Carolina Beach" and this place was 45 minutes from there. Of course, no where on my itinerary did it state the place was that far away. In addition to the cost of the hotel, I had to pay a bucket load of gas money to travel to see my family in Carolina Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ticked Off Traveler
Business
NC
Jun 7, 2010

So excited... then I walked in the door

My experience was awful. The picture online looked nothing like the room I stayed in. It looked luxurious and clean online. In reality, there were bugs, the toilet was broken and there were stains on the sheets. I will never stay there again. The location was awful. I typed in "Carolina Beach" and this place was 45 minutes from there. Of course, no where on my itinerary did it state the place was that far away. In addition to the cost of the hotel, I had to pay a bucket load of gas money to travel to see my family in Carolina Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The beach guy
Business
Clayton,NC
May 26, 2010

Good price for a day trip

Well I had decided to go to the beach at the last moment and paying a $100 was a decent amount for the in of May and short notice. Only problem is that the hotel is in the beginning of Wilmington and the beaches are 20 minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Teaching Travler
Business
Washington, NC
May 24, 2010

Clean Inside...little rough outside

I was a little apprehensive when looking at the outside of the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the door of my room. The room was clean and the AC worked very well. The extras (TV, Coffee Maker, Iron) were all in very good condition. I would stay there again for a business trip, but if you are looking for pool, on property restaurant and the luxury items then look for more expensive options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top