$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 12, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
87 reviews
Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied! See full review

  • Sassenach
  • Jan 5, 2010
Great Value

The Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington is a small one level motor court that is very well... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 29, 2008
Inexpensive Wilmington hotel near airport with free breakfast, Wi-Fi
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is located on busy Market Street in Wilmington, N.C. The hotel features free continental breakfast each day, free high-speed wireless Internet, and clean guest rooms with HBO, microwaves and refrigerators. Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is within easy reach of such popular North Carolina attractions such as Wrightsville Beach, Carolina Beach, USS North Carolina, University of North Carolina Wilmington and Wilmington International Airport, less than four miles away.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Close to popular attractions
Rooms
Clean guest rooms at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington offer one or two double beds with floral bedspreads and neutral furnishings. Rooms also provide refrigerators, microwaves, coffee-makers, cable TV with HBO, hair-dryers, toiletries and free local calls. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Select rooms feature kitchenettes and work desks.
Features
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests chat online, surf the Web and keep up with email on free Wi-Fi. Couples, families and business travelers staying at the hotel often visit television sound stages at nearby Screen Gem Studios. Guests also shop and dine downtown on Wilmington Riverwalk, or relax on white sands at Wrightsville Beach, only minutes away. The University of North Carolina Wilmington, is less than three and a half miles from the hotel.
Dining
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests eat free continental breakfast each morning consisting of pastries, coffee, tea and juice over their free copy of USA Today. From the hotel location on bustling Market Street, guests can walk or drive to nearby restaurants include Goody Goody Omelet House, Lucky Star Chinese, Taco Bell and Hookah Cafe.
Transportation
  • Wilmington International Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Attractions
  • Screen Gems Studio (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Bellamy Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Cape Fear Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Wilmington Riverwalk (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • UNC Wilmington (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Jungle Rapids Family Park (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • USS North Carolina (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Wrightsville Beach (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Carolina Beach (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Copy and fax service
  • Free local calls and USA Today newspapers
  • Select rooms feature work desks
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.2413 -77.8981
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nurse Trudy
Asheboro, NC, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Pretty Good

We went 4 a college visit & didn' t want 2 b 2 far away from anything. We were happy where we were. The staff was very, very pleasent & helpful. We will return 2 them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Always hit the beach first

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
myrtle beach
Sep 27, 2010

Clean room at a great price

The staff was very friendly and the room was clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Helen, FL
Aug 14, 2010

Summer Wilmington Trip

Basically used room as home base as we traveled throughout the city during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Aug 6, 2010

The Price Isn't Right

Booked the room for a couple days at the beach. I was freaking out when we pulled into the parking lot because the hotel looked really shabby from the outside (not how it looked in the pic. on the website). I was relieved when I opened the door to the room b/c it was ok. Reasonably clean with nice carpet and decent bedding. The price was a bit high b/c it looks so bad on the outside, there isn't a pool and the continental breakfast is PITIFUL!!My husband, inlaws and I joked and joked about that breakfast. The room they serve bfast in is a drab dump. No decoration, dirty blinds & no TV. Just ICKY. Food wise, no waffles, stale cereal, milk and OJ in dirty glass pitchers. Luke warm "hot" water both days so so much for even oatmeal. Then there's this hilarious tall clear plastic cabinet with 2 empty bottom shelves and the top shelf has some plain old Dollar General looking white bread. Lets not forget the napking are stored in a lovely Christmas basket. The best part is the handwritten sign that says "Dine-in Only." Please... I'm sorry but that breakfast just killed me! So don't think you're gonna save a buck on bfast b/c you will be eating out!! I would have felt better if I had paid 20 bucks less for this room. Oh, and don't sit on that rickety old picnic table either. Especially with a cup of coffee in your hand. On the up side, I felt safe, it was a quiet place and the owners smiled a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hieronymous is a seafood restaurant on Market Street that is just awesome. Sit on the back porch, play ping pong and drink a Southern Weekender while you wait on your awesome seafood (blackened scallops are killer). Also, Wrightsville Beach is more flat than Carolina Beach so there isn't a sudden drop off & the waves are just right, especially for kids!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BiancaC
Business
Memphis TN
Aug 2, 2010

UGH!

Check in guy was great. Beds were broken and lumpy. carpet was wet. we found a thong in the covers. no hot water the second day and they called us liars. THEY SUCK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

USS Carolina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
Aug 1, 2010

Nice hotel for the price

The hotel wasn't very expensive so we didn't expect much but we were happily suprised! The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, and it was a desent size. We had an infant & a 6 yr. The room was spacious enough for the pack and play & even for her to crawl around (yes we thought place was clean enough for her to crawl around!). The hotel was very quiet and in a good location (there was several places to eat, & a/b 10 mins from Wrightsville beach & 30 mins from Carolina beach). There was aslo a fridge & a micorwave in the room. If you are looking for a desent hotel (that is not real fancy) at a desent price I would defintely recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
genealogy buff
Business
FL
Jul 21, 2010

Wilmington Trip

My only complaint was that I had requested a handicapped room which was ignored. Doubt I will stay there again because of that. Otherwise, the stay was okay. More bed pillows would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jun 28, 2010

Good Experience

The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and we slept like babies. I wish it were closer to the coast, but it isn'too far, and the price was unbeatable; especially for peak season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BliteKid
Business
Fuquay, North Carolina
Jun 28, 2010

Great

It was great, the staff was good and the restaurants around the area were close by. Pretty close to downtown as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
Jun 18, 2010

When you just need a clean bed.

I like being able to drive up to my door. Unpacking took seconds. The big room and microwave/fridge shoud be standard in every hotel. Checking in and out was a breeze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Jun 16, 2010

More for your money

We went to Wilmington to take in the culture and of course, the beach. The hotel is in a great location. literally 5 minutes from everything. Historic downtown, fine dining, shopping and of course, the beach. $150 rooms on the beach are nice and all, but I don't mind the 5 minute travel time. Considering the room was only $50 a night, there was an extra $200 to spend on good times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Being as active as we are, we usually weren't ready to eat dinner until around 9pm. that Sunday was no exception. Hungry and tired, we decided to go out to eat. After washing up and getting dressed to go out, it was almost 9:30. Even though restaurants say they seat until 10 (Sweet & Savory), they actually don't. Except for Kefi's. Albeit a bar like atmosphere, they served excellent food (try the Seafood Jambalaya). They had no qualms about seating me at 10pm. If my son wasn't with us, we would have stayed until 2am!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top